Thursday, November 3, 2011

Awards: 2011 Crew Chief of the Year: Gerry Davis

2011 UEFL Awards: Crew Chief Umpire of the Year: Gerry Davis (12)

Gerry Davis is the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League's 2011 crew chief of the year. In his 28th Major League Baseball umpiring season and 13th as a crew chief, Davis finished 2011 with two ejections, including an April 30 ejection of Milton Bradley.

Mariners batter Miguel Olivo had been incorrectly called out at first base by 1B Umpire Todd Tichenor, who entertained an argument from Manager Eric Wedge without ejecting Wedge. Meanwhile, Bradley, who was the Seattle's base-runner at second base, began arguing with 2B Umpire Davis and Tichenor before getting the heave-ho from Davis.

Davis also ejected Red Sox batter Kevin Youkillis for arguing a check swing call on August 2. Davis had correctly ruled "swing" and Youkillis was thrown out after running down the first base line while yelling in protest (the count was 3-2; Youkillis was heading for first base in anticipation of a ball four call).

UEFL'er tmac called Davis' Aug 2 ejection the "best handled ejection of the year," while other UEFL'ers praised Davis for, among other things, "getting Angel [Hernandez] from one of the most noticed to one of the least noticed in less than 1/2 season"

Davis officiated the 2011 ALDS, extending his consecutive postseasons streak to 14 straight years with a DS, CS and/or WS assignment.

Gerry Davis now has 7 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (6 Previous + 1 Award = 7).
The next postseason award, Honorable Umpire(s) of the Year, will be released tomorrow.


Anonymous said...

Good for Gerry. You know, Davis is one of the quieter crew chiefs in major league baseball. He's a good umpire, he calls a consistent zone day in and day out, really manages his underlings well, he takes care of business.

He deserves this award. And he deserves the excellent crew chief award year after year... HOW many consecutive postseasons? FOURTEEN? I think in that year he last didn't go to the postseason (1997), he had the All-Star game. He's just that good of an umpire.

He is a lock to go to the postseason every year.

Anonymous said...

Was this award for the crew chief of the year or the umpire with the smallest strike zone of the year? If it is the latter....great choice!!

Anonymous said...

Nah, I think McClelland would win that award every year.

Anonymous said...

I stand corrected. I agree big Mac then Davis.....

Post a Comment