Tuesday, November 8, 2016

2016 UEFL Award for Best Crew Chief - Ted Barrett

Ted Barrett wins the UEFL's 2016 Crew Chief of the Year Award [2015 Winner: Gary Cederstrom].
Voting Results (Top 3): Ted Barrett (23%), Joe West (13%), Tom Hallion (12%).

Ted Barrett is the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League's 2016 Crew Chief of the Year, which marks his second time winning the Crew Chief of the Year Award; he also won in 2014, and is the first umpire to win this award two times. In his 20th MLB season, Barrett experienced one ejection, that of Blue Jays Manager John Gibbons as the result of a foul ball call by crewmate Gabe Morales. Barrett finished fourth amongst 84 tracked umpires in Replay Review performance, with a .714 Review Affirmation Percentage.

All four members of Barrett's regular season crew—Barrett, Angel Hernandez, Lance Barksdale, and Will Little—officiated during the postseason, while Barrett himself drew particular praise for his leadership in regards to crewmate Hernandez, who himself earned the UEFL's 2016 Most Improved Umpire of the Year Award.

With his LCS selection this fall, Barrett has officiated the postseason for 12 consecutive years (2005-16).

Ted Barrett now has 17 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (16 Previous + 1 Award = 17).
The next postseason award, Honorable Umpire of the Year, will be released tomorrow.


Post a Comment