Monday, November 7, 2016

2016 UEFL Award for Worst Umpire - Vic Carapazza

The Umpire Ejection Fantasy League announces its postseason awards schedule, beginning with the Worst Umpire of the Year, below, and continuing with Most Improved Umpire, Fill-In, Crew Chief, Honorable, Noteworthy, Ejection(s) of the Year and concluding with Umpire of the Year. 171 total ballots were cast during this year's nominations process.

Pursuant to UEFL Rule 4-4, the postseason Awards distribution now begins with Worst Umpire of the Year.

2016 UEFL Awards: Worst Umpire of the Year: Vic Carapzza (19) [2015 Winner: John Hirschbeck]
Voting Results (Top 3): Vic Carapazza (12%), Dan Iassogna (9%), Joe West (8%).

Vic Carapazza receives the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League's 2016 Worst Umpire of the Year Award. In his sixth Major League Baseball umpiring season, Carapazza concluded the year with five ejections, all for arguing strike calls; he ejected five times in 2015 and seven in 2014. During his ejection of three Blue Jays on July 1, commenters alleged he "baited" Toronto catcher Russell Martin, calling the action and ejection "unnecessary" while characterizing an earlier ejection as "simply an attempt by an insecure young ump to establish himself." Carapazza officiated the 2016 American League Division Series.

Vic Carapazza now has 5 points in the UEFL Standings (8 Previous - 3 Award = 5).
The next postseason award, Most Improved Umpire of the Year, will be released later this afternoon.


Post a Comment