Tuesday, May 9, 2017

MLB Ejection 032 - Laz Diaz (1; Daniel Murphy)

HP Umpire Laz Diaz ejected Nationals 2B Daniel Murphy (strike three call) in the bottom of the 9th inning of the Nationals-Orioles game.* With none out and one on (R2), Murphy took a 3-2 fastball from Orioles pitcher Mychal Givens for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and thigh-high (px -1.049, pz 1.870 [sz_bot 1.565]), the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the Nationals were leading, 4-2. The Orioles ultimately won the contest, 5-4, in 12 innings.

This is Laz Diaz (63)'s first ejection of the 2017 MLB regular season.
Laz Diaz now has -3 points in the UEFL Standings (-1 Previous + 2 MLB - 4 Incorrect Call = -3).
Crew Chief Jeff Nelson now has -1 points in Crew Division (-1 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = -1).
*Murphy struck out in the top of the 9th, but was not ejected until after the bottom half of the inning.
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.

This is the 32nd ejection report of 2017.
This is the 12th player ejection of 2017. Prior to ejection, Murphy was 1-3 (SO) in the contest.
This is Washington's 1st ejection of 2017, T-2nd in the NL East (MIA 4; PHI, WAS 1; ATL, NYM 0).
This is Daniel Murphy's 1st ejection since April 27, 2014 (Seth Buckminster; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Laz Diaz's first ejection since May 9, 2016 (Jeff Banister; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Washington Nationals vs. Baltimore Orioles, 5/9/17 | Video via "Read More"

Alternate Link: Murphy strikes out looking on a full count fastball; gets tossed a frame later (WAS)


Post a Comment