Saturday, August 13, 2022

MLB Ejection 127 - Paul Emmel (3; Bob Melvin)

HP Umpire Paul Emmel ejected Padres manager Bob Melvin (Replay Review decision that overturned Emmel's out call to that of a home plate collision violation [safe, run scored]; QOCY) in the bottom of the 7th inning of the #Padres-#Nationals game. With two out and one on (R2), Nationals batter Victor Robles hit a first-pitch sinker from Padres pitcher Luis Garcia on a ground ball to right fielder Juan Soto, who threw to catcher Austin Nola as Nationals baserunner R2 Cesar Hernandez arrived at home plate, ruled out by HP Umpire Emmel. Upon Replay Review as the result of a manager's challenge by Nationals manager Dave Martinez, the call was overturned to a home plate collision/blocking violation by Nola, the penalty for which awarded Nationals runner Hernandez home plate and a run scored. Replays indicate that Padres catcher Nola failed to provide runner Hernandez with a pathway to home plate by moving into Hernandez's path well in advance of the ball's arrival; the throw did not take Nola into the runner's path, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Nationals were leading, 4-3. The Nationals ultimately won the contest, 4-3.

This is Paul Emmel (50)'s 3rd ejection of 2022.
Paul Emmel now has 12 points in the UEFL Standings (8 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 12).
Crew Chief Paul Emmel now has 5 points in Crew Division (4 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 5).
Official Baseball Rule 6.01(i)(2): "Unless the catcher is in possession of the ball, the catcher cannot block the pathway of the runner as they are attempting to score. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the catcher without possession of the ball blocks the pathway of the runner, the umpire shall call or signal the runner safe. Not withstanding the above, it shall not be considered a violation of this Rule 6.01(i)(2) if the catcher blocks the pathway of the runner in a legitimate attempt to field the throw (e.g., in reaction to the direction, trajectory or the hop of the incoming throw, or in reaction to a throw that originates from a pitcher or drawn-in infielder)."

This is the 127th ejection report of the 2022 MLB regular season.
This is the 70th manager ejection of 2022.
This is San Diego's 5th ejection of 2022, 1st in the NL West (SD 5; SF 4; ARI 3; COL 2; LAD 1).
This is Bob Melvin's 4th ejection of 2022, 1st since July 31 (Jerry Layne; QOC = Y [Replay Review]).


Post a Comment