Thursday, May 3, 2012

Case Plays: Bat Meets Ball Twice

This Case Play has been completed. Congratulations to UEFL League Members BrooklynUmp, nwsquid, hitit2me, RadioPearl, Turducken, RichMSN, kickersrule, Three-Ballin & Penwhale and fans Adam, js1metsfan, Nate, Unclean & omgahokie for correctly answering both parts of the posted scenario. The correct response is:

(a) The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If, in the umpire's judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the batted ball, the play shall be ruled a foul ball (OBR 6.05(h)).

(b) The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If, in the umpire's judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the batted ball, the play shall be ruled a foul ball (OBR 6.05(g)). If the umpire has ruled an intention to interfere, the batter shall be ruled out and the runner returned to first base.

Thank you for participating in this Case Play and congratulations to all participants, who responded with at least partial correctness. Stay tuned for further Case Plays. The original Case Play post has been reproduced below.

Pursuant to UEFL Rule 4.f., this Case Play is open for 48 hours from the time of this post (5/3/12 at 12:00PM). During this time, all Case Play responses will remain in moderation (screened or invisible) until the 48 hour submission period is closed. To receive full point(s) credit, you must answer the following scenario correctly, including any relevant MLB Rule(s) and all relevant results of the play after applying said rule(s).

Video:  http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=20695123&c_id=mlb

In the bottom of the first inning, with two out and a runner on first base, B1 hits a ball off home plate. The ball bounds up and into fair territory and F6 continues to field the ball and throws to F3 to put out B1. The home plate umpire determined that immediately after B1 hit the ball off home plate that (a) with B1 still in the batter's box the ball hit B1's bat or (b) with B1 still in the batter's box the ball hit B1's hand. For each part of this scenario, determine the correct result of the play, how play will resume, and the basis on which you reached that decision (cite your rule[s]). (1pt for [a], 1 pt for [b]).

Consult the UEFL Rulebook for further information regarding Rule 4.f and Case Plays.

18 comments :

BrooklynUmp said...

The answer for (a) and (b) is that this is considered a foul ball. Play will resume with the same batter still at bat. Rule 6.05 (h) "If
the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s box, see Rule 6.03, and, in the
umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a
batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball;"

nwsquid said...

Both scenarios are answered by 6.05g:
"... If the batter is in a legal position
in the batter’s box, see Rule 6.03, and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no
intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter
or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball;"


Since the batter is still in legal position in the batters box in both scenarios, and no intent to interfere is noted or shown in the video, it matters not whether the ball hits him or his bat. In either case it is a foul ball. Add a strike to the count (if there is less than two) send all runners back to their base at the time of pitch.

hitit2me said...

Both (a) and (b) are foul balls, case (a) from 6.05(g) and 6.05(h) and case (b) from 6.05(g).

Adam said...

In both a and b the correct ruling is foul ball as long as there is deemed to be done accidentally (without intent. Play resumes with the batter assuming a strike and a runner still on first base. Rule 6.05 (g) and (h)

df9af2ea-2194-11e1-8603-000bcdcb2996 said...

RadioPearl
In both a) and b), since the batter was still in the box and as long as the umpire determines there was no intent to interfere, a foul ball is ruled and the runner returns to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. Relevant rules are: 6.05g&h,

omgahokie said...

I am going to assume that the umpire did not judge the play to be intentional for both scenarios; (a)& (b) the ball becomes dead the moment it touches the bat or batter, within the batter's box, again and a foul ball is called, no runners can advance. OBR 6.05(g).

Turducken said...

Tulo would be ruled out, no runners would be able to advance, and I based this decision on MLB Rule 6.05(H): "After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance"

RichMSN said...

It's a foul ball in both cases (whether it hits his hand or the bat). 6.05(g).

Bring the batter back to the plate, return R1 to first, record a strike (unless there's already two), and continue the game.

Unclean said...

Pursuant to rule 6.05(g) (2012 MLB Official Rulebook), "If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s box...and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball". Therefore, the ball is dead, the runner returns to first, a strike is registered on B1, and the at-bat continues.

kickersrule said...

A) foul ball
B) foul ball

Do I have to cite rules for 1 point or cite rules to get points for a and b? I dont have time to look up rules. all that matters is I know them.

js1metsfan said...

Getting hit with the ball while in the box (or having the ball hit the bat a second time while in the box), is considered a foul boul per 6.05

Therefore, for both a and b, I'll say it's a foul ball, return the runner to first base and resume the at bat.

Tiznownes said...

a. OBR 6.05 (H)- The ball is dead and no runners may advance. Also, if in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball

b. OBR 6.05 (G)- If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s box, see Rule 6.03, and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball;

Both OBR 6.05 (G&H) mention and cover the issue of a batted ball striking the batter and striking the batter's bat while legally in the batter's box. In both cases the runner is returned to first base and the batter continues his at bat.

-Three Ballin'

Nate said...

Foul in a & b. obr 6.05g-h

Penwhale said...

For both (a) and (b), HP may determine that the battle is in a legal position (via Rule 6.03) and elect to call a foul ball. Else:
part (a): Batter out via 6.05(h), causing the inning to end.
Part (b): Batter out via 6.05(g), causing the inning to end.

Gil Imber said...

@kickersrule re: citing rules. As long as you get the call right, you don't need to cite rules. However, if any part of your answer is incorrect and no rules are cited, you will not have the opportunity to receive partial credit.

Adam said...

sorry my post should have been under youthministeradam. When I log in it goes straight to Adam. If it's easier to keep up with then you can change my screenname to Adam

Gil Imber said...

Got it.

RichMSN said...

Funny, I had a sacrifice bunt attempt in a college game that bounced up and hit the bat a second time. Funny that we just cover this here and then it happens in my game four days later.

Post a Comment