Friday, May 18, 2012

Ejection 038: Gary Darling (5)

1B Umpire Gary Darling ejected Red Sox Manager Bobby Valentine for arguing an out call in the top of the 9th inning of the Red Sox-Phillies game. With one on and one out, Red Sox batter Marton Byrd hit a 0-1 fastball from Phillies pitcher Jonathan Papelbon to shortstop Jimmy Rollins, who threw to first baseman Ty Wiggington as Byrd arrived at first base. Replays indicate Wiggington caught the ball prior to Byrd touching first base, the call was correct.* At the time if the ejection the Phillies were leading, 6-4. The Phillies ultimately won the contest, 6-4.

This is Gary Darling (37)'s fifth ejection of 2012.
Gary Darling now has 12 points in the UEFL (8 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 12).
Crew Chief Gary Darling now has 5 points in the UEFL's Crew division (4 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 5).
*After review, Quality of Correctness has been affirmed in a 6-0 decision by the UEFL Appeals Board.

UEFL Standings Update

This is the 38th ejection of 2012.
This is the 23rd Manager ejection of 2012.
This is Bobby Valentine's first ejection of 2012 and first as Red Sox Manager.
This is the second ejection for the Red Sox in 2012.
This is Gary Darling's first ejection for a non-fighting, non-throwing at incident.

Wrap: Red Sox at Phillies 5/18/12
Video: Bobby V is shown the door by Gary Darling for arguing an out call in the 9th

24 comments :

Anonymous said...

The best part was when Darling lost his gum while jawing with Valentine. It bounced off Bonby's chest and DRling caught it mid-air and started chewing it again. They both cracked a smile and had to stop arguing.

Penwhale said...

Challenge - a few replays (I was watching on NESN) brought up the point that 1B's feet may have left the bag prior to the ball being caught.

UmpsRule said...

Check out this video: http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=21542767&c_id=mlb

As if we need further evidence that broadcasters don't understand the rules.

UmpsRule said...

And the Valentine video: http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=21554287&c_id=mlb

Anonymous said...

The mlb.com replay is from NESN and it appears to show the foot was in contact at the time the ball was caught. Good call by Darling.

The question is will Darling face a suspension for "situation handling"? I'm sure there must be some standards about not spitting your gum onto the arguing manager! ;)

Pete said...

That was quite a large wad of gum...

Anonymous said...

Mattingly has been ejected by Tom Hallion

Anonymous said...

Check Swing, don't think that was the right call by Fairchild, but Hallion threw Mattingly out anyway, these umps got rabbit ears, 39 ejections so far this ear how many we getin? 200?

Anonymous said...

HAHA I meant to say Year instead of ear my bad.

Anonymous said...

Gary Darling was trying not to laugh the hole time.

Anonymous said...

The NESN reply clearly shows his foot came off the bag. Valentine said it was a quick hook, he never swore, just asked about the call twice.

UmpsRule said...

We had 199 last year, so 200 wouldn't be a shocker.

Anonymous said...

whats the record for most in a year?

MaestroBen said...

I'm still looking for this NESN replay that "clearly shows" the first baseman's foot coming off the bag before he has possession of the ball.

Sure, it's a banger. But, to me Darling nailed it. His foot was starting to move when he caught the ball, but it was still in contact with the base.

Also, what was Bobby V doing jumping up and down like an idiot? He looked like he wanted to get tossed.

Anonymous said...

Easy to see at 41 with screen blown up. Ball in glove, foot touching base and then he comes off after ball pops the glove and beats the runner. He doesn't have to stay on the bag for more than just the instant the ball hits the glove.

Jeremy Dircks said...

This ruling has been challenged and is under review by the Appeals Board.

JPINFV said...

Can I challenge the challenge to nullify it?

1:42 on the video in the link clearly shows that F3 has the ball, the foot is still on the bag (albeit about to come off, but it's there), and the BR hasn't touched 1st base yet. The call is correct.

Anonymous said...

Of course Bobby wanted to get tossed. That's not the issue.

Darling should be reprimanded (privately) for the gum incident. As an umpire, I would not hesitate to toss someone if his gum flew in my face, and he is entitled to avoid my spittle, as well.

This was an entertaining ejection, all around, though.

Bobby: (jumps around)
Gary: Bullshi- (spits gum at Bobby)

You can't make this stuff up.

Jeremy Dircks said...

In 2007, we had 229 ejections.

UmpsRule said...

Darling did not "spit" at Valentine. If Valentine felt that he had, he'd have gone ballistic.

mnhopper1s said...

Molina didn't "spit" at the umpire last year, but still got 5 games for it...

jim said...

No... Molina bumped the umpire... that's why he got suspended, even with the Cardinals broadcasters going on about Rob Drake's "acting job".

Anonymous said...

Another frivolous challenge.

Gil Imber said...

After review, the original Quality of Correctness of "Correct" has been affirmed in a 6-0 decision by the UEFL Appeals Board. Four Appeals Board members elected to Confirm the Original Ruling, two elected to Confirm and zero elected to Overturn it.

In reviewing this ruling, the Board considered whether the fielder broke contact with first base in attempting a put out.

In upholding the Original Ruling, RichMSN delivered the opinion of the Board:
The Darling ejection is the play that I see many times a year as an umpire. Everyone sees the play, then they look down and see the fielder's feet a few feet away from the base. He *must've* pulled his foot! Except the umpire is looking at the foot first. From all the replays I've seen, there's nothing that shows me conclusively that the foot came off the base. Even the NESN announcers had to talk themselves into thinking that the Phillies' F3 came off the bag. Except he didn't.

tmac offered a concurring opinion:
This is what we call the optical illusion play. This is when the 1st baseman on a force play moves his fott either to the side or lunges up in order to receive a throw. The umpire is standing there and sees the foot on the bag, but everybody in the dugout sees the foot move and the body move and these assume he's off the bag... This is a textbook example.

Therefore, the Board affirms the Original Ruling.

Confirmed: Jeremy, AlbertaUmpire, RichMSN, yawetag
Upheld: tmac, BillMueller
Overturned: None
Deferred: None
Abstained: Gil (Posted Original QOC)

Quality of Correctness has been affirmed, 6-0.

Post a Comment