Monday, April 22, 2013

Solution for Case Play 2013-02: Broadcasters (Base Awards)

The weekend's Case Play (Battle of Broadcasters/Base Awards) is now final. Answers appear below.

A brief refresher: With R1, B1 hit a ball to F6, who threw wildly into DBT. This Case Play asked for base
The original video for this Case Play: click the pic.
awards. a) requested a transcript of a proper broadcaster's description of such a play, b) added that F6 bobbled instead of cleanly fields the ball and faked R1 back to second base before throwing into DBT ahead of B1's arrival at first base and c) added that both R1 and B1 had advanced to their next bases prior to F6's throw.

Answer, Case Play 2013-02:
a) Neither broadcaster is entirely correct. Although Schroeder's pronouncement of a two base award is correct, his description fails to take into account the allotment granted by OBR 7.05(g) concerning the first play by an infielder. While Miller's pronouncement of the time-of-pitch [first play by an infielder] condition is correct, his description fails to specify and or/confuses the award, which is two, and not one "extra," bases.

A proper transcript may have read: "When a thrown ball goes into the stands or a bench, the ball is dead and runners shall advance two bases without liability to be put out. Because this play involved the first play by an infielder, the umpire's award shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time of the pitch. Had this been a second or subsequent play by any fielder, the position of the runners at the time of the throw would govern."

Result: R1 is awarded third base and B1 is awarded second base. One out.

b) A play or attempted play is officially interpreted as a legitimate effort by a defensive player who has possession of the ball to actually retire a runner. A fake or feint is not a legitimate effort to retire a runner. A player who bobbles the ball while trying to field it is not in possession. Therefore, it is not a play or attempted play; therefore, F6's wild throw is still a result of the first play by an infielder. MLB Umpire Manual #37 confirms this interpretation (formerly MLBUM 5.1).

Result: R1 is awarded third base and B1 is awarded second base. One out. (Same as a).

c) Because both R1 and B1 arrived at their respective next bases at the time of the throw, the award is two bases from the time of the throw. Rule 7.05(g) Approved Ruling confirms this unique case.

Result: R1 is awarded home plate and B1 is awarded third base. The game is over (R1 the winning run).

Awarding of UEFL Points: Each scenario (a-b-c) was worth one point. Here's how points were distributed:
+3 points: Boredcravens, clawdad, cyclone14, Drjjulius, gregoryakoch, gkiewitt, kickersrule, JeremyJ, RadioPearl, RichMSN, toss 'em, Ump_24, vatech08, Joe G.umpire87.
+2 points: BT_Blue, hbk314, josh7377, majessa, NorthStarUmpire#2, pamarlowe, SJR, Turducken, TXWrangler, Umpteen.
+1 point: Bob Abouy, FinfanJr, Kevin Nichols, rhodeyump, BB, bwburke94, Mema, Mike.

Congratulations to all who participated, as every participant produced at least one correct response. And an off-the-record (e.g., no additional points :(...) shout-out to the eagle ears of SJR in identifying the opening musical refrain used in the Case Play video (Inspector Gadget).

Italicized = Guests and/or no drafted umpires.


Post a Comment