Friday, September 13, 2013

Group Case Play 2013-08: Wolf's Two Strike Strikeout

Yankees batter Chris Stewart struck after seeing just two strikes Thursday night, a foul ball and swinging strike from the arm of Orioles pitcher Bruce Chen. In this week's Ask the UEFL feature, we examine Stewart's two-K strikeout on just two thrown pitches for strikes and open the floor to a group Case Play.

Wolf gestures strike two as Stewart walks away.
As we have previously discussed, a baserunner who retreats to the dugout before being legally put out can be ruled out for abandoning his effort to touch the next base under Rule 7.08(a)(2). Previous Case Plays have delved into similar territory, finding in 2012 that the instance of a runner retreating from home to third base and continuing up the left field foul line may be declared out for abandonment as he is no longer attempting to touch a base.

Yet the present Stewart scenario concerns not the runner as in Rule 7.00 but the batter as in Rule 6.00 as Stewart saw three pitches—ball, foul and swinging strike. Q: Does batter abandonment (1) appear within the rules and (2) govern this situation, does the batter here become a runner and become subject to Rule 7.08(a)(2) or does another rule apply? Do umpires, as Yankees broadcaster Michael Kay suggests, have an obligation to call the batter back to home plate if he mistakenly retreats to the dugout on a strike two pitch?

Video: After three pitches—one ball and two strikes—Stewart walks away for an out (NYY)

23 comments :

Gil Imber said...

I think 6.02(d)(1)(i) and (d)(1) comment would be the proper citation. The batter is allowed to leave the batter's box after swinging but not the dirt circle. Once he walks out of the dirt circle, a strike (strike three in this case) can be awarded and the ball becomes dead. The umpire has the 'discretion' to warn the batter if the umpire feels the batter walked away by mistake, but he is in no way obligated to warn him.

Gil Imber said...

(1) 6.02(d)(1)(i) applies. 6.02(c) does, as well. Not formally declared as "batter abandonment," but pretty darn close.



(2) 6.02(c) -- he abandoned. The umpire must provide "reasonable opportunity;" Stewart abandoned his "reasonable" opportunity by walking directly towards the dugout. By no means does the umpire have to warn the batter. 7.08(a)(2) does not apply as Stewart never reached first base.

Gil Imber said...

The batter should be aware of the count, but I don't like how alot of umpires seem to rely on scoreboards and other things to keep track of balls and strikes. I saw Joe West make a mistake in a count last year, and that was not the only one. Now, this one is not just on Stewart. When an umpire punches you out, your instinct should be to walk away. We usually commend batters for doing that as opposed to arguing. Should he have asked Wolf about the mistake? Yes, but this is another situation I think umpires should not escape culpability on. Wolf FUCKED up just as much as Steward did.

Gil Imber said...

Actually, after seeing this again, Wolf clearly indicates STRIKE 2 not STRIKE 3, so this one is on Stewart. ...

Gil Imber said...

Another question. Isn't abandonment usually scored as a putout by the closest player? Why is this a strikeout and not a U2?

Gil Imber said...

Please enlighten me on how Wolf FUCKED up.

Gil Imber said...

This isn't actually a case of abandonment it's not considered a putout..when the batter leaves the home plate area before his at-bat is finished, it is ruled a strike...in this case it was strike 3 therefore a strikeout. Had it only been strike 2 then Wolf would have been required to give the batter a reasonable opportunity to return before calling strike 3.

Gil Imber said...

I think 6.02(c) and 6.01(d)(i) could apply here, but were they? The video doesn't show Wolf awarding the penalty strike. He would be justified in giving the it, but I don't know if he ever did.

Gil Imber said...

It's time for joe west to leave this game. He can't stay forever. His annoying little notorious hand waves after throwing someone out is embarresing to the umpire profession. Be a man and just walk away. Throwing someone out is one thing, but throwing someone out and embarrassing him is a shame. As hawk would say, "joe west needs a rest!, that's all he needs."

Gil Imber said...

Nothing under rule 6.02(d) applies to MLB. That rule specifically states it is for National Association Leagues only.

Gil Imber said...

Ok so we know you're a Rat Lovin' Retard!!!

How in the Hell is it Wolf that screwed up? He didn't punch Stewart out like you claim. In fact he's doing the same Strike "Two" mechanic he's always done.

What is Wolf suppose to hold his hand all the way through the at bat?

Hell, Stewart makes millions if he can't count to three, I guess it must be Bush's fault too!!!

Gil Imber said...

The game will definitely be better when him and the other old school umpires are gone...most of us are counting the days

Gil Imber said...

I don't see the word 'only' or 'specifically' in the rule.



It's my understanding that the statement is used to alleviate confusion from the previous rule which specifies some sections that belong to the minor leagues and some to the major leagues..and 6.02(d) is in effect for both the major and minor leagues.


I could be wrong; I'm sure Gil will clear it up when he posts the results.

Gil Imber said...

Actually, a putout *is* credited to the catcher on a strikeout, as long as the 3rd strike is caught. 10.09(b)(1). Statistically this winds up being no different. Interestingly, in the long list of ways a catcher is credited with a putout, batter abandonment is not one of them. ;-) There's a hint right there for you.

Can someone shed some light what the following from 6.02(d) means? "The following rule shall be in effect for all National Association Leagues:" None of the rules in 6.02(d) seem to be enforced in MLB leading me to believe that this is a rule which enforced in MiLB, not MLB.

Gil Imber said...

Well then you better hurry and get joe west's autograph, if your such a big fan? Joe should and will leave soon his days are numbered!!! Btumpire and joe west sitting in a tree, K I S S I N G. First comes love, then comes marrriage, then comes the baby in the baby carriage
Suckin' his thumb, wettin' his pants
doin' the naked baby dance

Gil Imber said...

Quick question - will you also retire from posting when Joe is shown the door? We would all appreciate getting rid of your type all at one time....

Gil Imber said...

Apply rule 6.02 (d) (1)(i).Award the strike three when the batter leaves the dirt circle. Next batter. Thanks for the quick out.

Gil Imber said...

MiLB is what "National Association Leagues" means.

Gil Imber said...

What does Joe West have to do with the case play?

Gil Imber said...

Steward walking away = not being in legal position as defined in 6.03, 6.02(c)

Gil Imber said...

9.01(c). he abandoned his at bat. get the out.

Gil Imber said...

Apply rule 6.02 (d) (1)(i).Award the strike three when the batter leaves the dirt circle. Next batter.

Gil Imber said...

"Either it was a silent count on the first pitch, or he struck out on a 1-1 pitch."


Clearly Michael Kay is not paying attention to the replay right in front of him....considering Wolf CLEARLY signals strike two. This isn't on Wolf. Abandonment, and out. NEXT.

Post a Comment