Monday, March 31, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Review 005: Mike Winters (01)

Instant Replay Review confirmed HP Umpire Mike Winters' out call in the top of the 6th inning of the Indians-Athletics game. With one out and two on, Indians batter Asdrubal Cabrera hit a 0-0 slider from Athletics pitcher Sonny Gray back to Gray who threw to catcher John Jaso as Indians baserunner R3 Michael Brantley arrived at home plate. Upon instant replay review as the result of a request by Indians Manager Terry Francona and initiation by Crew Chief Winters, Winters' ruling that Jaso legally provided Brantley with a path to home plate until such time at which Jaso caught the ball and tag Brantley pursuant to Rule 7.13 (home-plate collision) was affirmed, the call was correct. At the time of the review, the contest was tied, 0-0. The Indians ultimately won the contest, 2-0.

This is Mike Winters (33)'s first instant replay challenge/review of 2014.
Mike Winters (33) is now 1/1 (1.000 Accuracy) in Instant Replay Reviews during 2014.
Crew Chief Mike Winters' crew is now 1/1 (1.000 Accuracy) in Replay Reviews during 2014.
Listed Replay Official Crew Chief: Jeff Kellogg.

This is the 5th instant replay review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Indians Manager Terry Francona is now 0/1 (.000 Success) in Instant Replay Challenges/Requests in 2014.
Umpires are now 3/5 (.600 Accuracy) in Instant Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: Cleveland Indians vs. Oakland Athletics (MLB Opening Day 2014), 3/31/14
Video: Play stands; Out call is affirmed as umpires rule Jaso did not violate anti-collision rule (OAK)
Video: Definitive Angle: Replay Official confirmed the call / Zoomed High Home Angle (MLBAM)

12 comments :

Gil Imber said...

Let's discuss the anti-collision/anti blocking the plate rule. Jaso could have very easily broke his leg on that play the way it was twisted.... Never gave the runner any path. While I don't like the new rule..... This seems to be textbook. Does anyone have any constructive insight as to why this is allowed.

Gil Imber said...

Because at the time of the collision the catcher had the ball and is allowed to block the runners path.

Gil Imber said...

This just seems like the textbook (legal) play at the plate we see in our non-MLB games. I'm having a hard time seeing why Francona even came out on this.

Gil Imber said...

He probably came out for the same reason that youth level coaches argue a play like this, he doesn't know any better.

Remember, the pro coaches have been dealing with "if you want to stand there, your going to get plowed" mentality for a very long time.
Now they read a rule that is written like "Unless the catcher is in possession of the ball, the catcher cannot block the pathway of the runner as he is attempting to score." Most coaches when they first read something like this, interpret it to mean that they cannot stand there without the ball period. We know this is not the case, but those going through it the first time tend to misinterpret it.

Gil Imber said...

I agree with this whole statement. I was preparing a similar response with included pics, but you said it very well. Here are the screen shots I had put together.
Image 1 is Jaso's position before receiving the ball. Even though he is partially in the path between the runner an the plate, their is not violation of the rule yet as the runner has not yet been impeded.
Image 2 is Jaso right after he catches the ball. Since he has not yet made contact or impeded the runner, his position with possession of the ball is now legal.
Image 3 is the tag. Jaso was able to apply the tag prior to any other contact, showing clear possession of the baseball before contact.
All this makes, in my opinion, confirms the play as legal

Gil Imber said...

So can the manager challenge a call after the 6th inning or not? I thought you could these announcers once again said you can not???? I'm getting sick of hearing so many different answers. Gil I know you already told me that you can but I figured ESPN would of been informed properly.

Gil Imber said...

From what I've read, from the 7th inning on, replay can be initiated only by the crew chief. I know what you're talking about in regards to the Pittsburgh game - I saw the graphic that said Clint Hurdle still had a challenge left. I'm like you in regards to being skeptical of announcers when they're talking about rules, but being the first day, I think we have to give them a break.

Gil Imber said...

Wasn't Hurdle's challenge on Balkin' Bob in the 10th inning yesterday??
Methinks there's going to be ALOT of hullabaloo when a crew chief decides NOT to review a call after the 7th.... or does it change in extra innings?

Gil Imber said...

I agree with you. In fact, I think the first ejection will be because of balls & strikes OR that a crew chief denies a manager's request for replay from the 7th inning on.

Gil Imber said...

I guess only time will tell.

Gil Imber said...

Yes, Regulations go so far as to prohibit Crew Chief Review for a reviewable play not ordinarily reserved to the Umpires (e.g., any reviewable play except HR Boundary, Home Plate Collision and Recordkeeping) in the 7th inning or later if the team has a Manager's Challenge remaining. Only if a team has exhausted its Manager's Challenge(s) can an umpire initiate Crew Chief Review.

Gil Imber said...

Great work. This is the definitive angle the Replay Official sent back to Oakland.

http://m.mlb.com/video/?content_id=31739043

Post a Comment