Sunday, April 27, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Review 168: Paul Emmel (02)

Instant Replay Review overturned HP Umpire Paul Emmel's HBP no-call (ball) in the top of the 9th inning of Athletics-Astros game. With two out and none on, Athletics batter Brandon Moss took a 0-0 curveball from Astros pitcher Collin McHugh in the dirt. Upon Instant Replay Review as the result of a challenge by A's Manager Bob Melvin, Emmel's ruling that the pitched ball did not contact Moss was reversed, the call was incorrect. At the time of the review, the Astros were leading, 5-0. The Astros ultimately won the contest, 5-1.

This is Paul Emmel (50)'s second Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Paul Emmel is now 0/2 (.000 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews in 2014.
Chief Jerry Meals' crew is now 5/10 (.500 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews in 2014.

This is the 168th Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
A's Manager Bob Melvin is now 4/14 (.286 Success) in Replay Reviews in 2014.
Umpires are now 96/168 (.571 Affirmation Rate) in Instant Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Video: Play overturned; After bouncing in the dirt, ball hits Moss's leg for a 9th inning hit-by-pitch (OAK)

7 comments :

Gil Imber said...

Replay review did not get this call correct.

Gil Imber said...

I'm really hoping what the Reds' announcers said was correct. And that the umpires in NY had access to a different angle that he may have been safe. Is there any way we can see the Braves' feed of this play?

Gil Imber said...

Based on the video provided, lead UEFL challenger BillUnit plans on challenging the QOC of this call. If the board overturns the previous call that I have challenged, I submit that I can not only wager a point challenge, but also overturn this.

Gil Imber said...

I also think that the ejector of Bailey was Gibson- clearly Miller was engaged in the discussion with Price when Gibson was over at the dugout.

Gil Imber said...

I am challenging this, too.
BillUnit

Gil Imber said...

As I have stated before, correct/incorrect and confirmed/upheld/overturned are two different things. I am challenging the correctness of this call, as I believe there was indisputable evidence that Upton was tagged while off his base.

Gil Imber said...

At present, Miller is listed in the box score and clear and convincing evidence does not yet exist to prove this information is erroneous, as in UEFL Rule 7-2. We will continue to gather evidence in the coming days to verify the accuracy of this information.

Post a Comment