Monday, May 23, 2011

Case Plays: Anonymous Protests

This Case Play has been completed. Congratulations to UEFL League Members TonyTheRed, RichMSN, kickersrule, ump_24, and mtn335 for correctly answering both parts of the posted play. yawetag answered (a) correctly, but did not attempt (b). The correct response is:

(a) R1 is out on appeal, Rule 7.10(d) does not restrict this second appeal. R2 and R3 have preceded R1 and have legally crossed home plate prior to the execution of the appeal; the runs shall score. The score is 5-4.
(b) R3 is out on appeal. R1 and R2 may not score under Rule 7.12. This exact play is dealt with in OBR, Rule 4.09 Comment.

3 Points Added to:
ump_24 is now tied for 3rd place in the UEFL with 11 points.

2 Points Added to:
mtn335 is now in 2nd place in the UEFL with 12 points.
kickersrule is now in 10th place in the UEFL with 7 points.
RichMSN is now tied for 11th place in the UEFL with 6 points.
TonyTheRed is now tied for 14th place in the UEFL with 5 points.

1 Point Added to:
yawetag is now in 1st place in the UEFL with 18 points.

Thank you for participating in this Case Play and congratulations to all participants, who responded with at least partial correctness. Stay tuned for further Case Plays. The original Case Play post has been reproduced below.

Pursuant to UEFL Rule 4.f., this Case Play is open for 48 hours from the time of this post (5/21/11 at 1:00AM). During this time, all Case Play responses will remain in moderation (screened or invisible) until the 48 hour submission period is closed. To receive full point(s) credit, you must answer the following scenario correctly, including any relevant MLB Rule(s) and all relevant results of the play after applying said rule(s).

Related Entry: Umpire Odds & Ends: I Protest

This case play comes directly from Umpire Odds & Ends: I Protest. Note that as a result, the "I Protest" Odds & Ends will be closed off to new comments until this Case Play is complete. You may reference the current version of "I protest" to assist you with this Case Play. In "I Protest," Anonymous wrote to us that the conclusions reached in that post may be wrong. This case play is therefore a points-attributing furtherance of that discussion. Using the rules - both those identified in the "I Protest" post and those found elsewhere in the OBR, please answer the following scenario.

In the bottom of the 5th inning, there is one out and the bases are loaded. The score is 4-3, with the current defensive team in the lead. B1 hits a line drive to F8, who catches the ball on the fly for the second out, and subsequently falls down. R1 (from first base), R2 (from second base), and R3 (from third base) each attempt to tag up and advance; all three runners cross home plate without a throw. The defensive team appeals that (a) R2 left early. R2 is ruled "safe." The defensive team then appeals that R1 left early. R1 did in fact leave early, but should the umpire honor this second appeal? What will the score be when play continues (did any runs score/not score?), and how will play continue? b) R3 left early. R3 is ruled "out," as he did leave from third base too early. What will the score be when play continues (did any runs score/not score?), and how will play continue? For parts (a) and (b) of the scenario, determine the correct result of the play, how play will resume, and the basis on which you reached that decision (cite your rule[s]). (1pt for [a], 1 pt for [b], 1pt for providing an OBR source that deals with the exact play referenced in [b])

Consult the UEFL Rulebook for further information regarding Rule 4.f and Case Plays.


Tony Hendrix said...

A) 2 runs score. Rule 7.10(d) states a subsequent appeal on SAME runner at SAME base shall not be allowed. It does not stipulate 1 appeal only. 7.12 allows preceding runners to score as there was no force. 3rd out. end of inning.

B) No runs shall score as per 7.12

Anonymous said...

From RichMSN:

A. Yes, the umpire should allow the second appeal. There is no provision in professional rules to disallow a second appeal, except in 7.10 to disallow a second appeal on the same runner at the same base -- the defense may appeal each runner at each base. (Note: Only the NCAA has a provision that if an appeal is made on the wrong runner at a base, no further appeals are allowed *at that base* (NCAA 8-6b-6).) By 7.12, preceding runners to R1 score, provided they have scored by the time the successful appeal is executed (leaving early appeals are all time plays). Inning over, 2 runs score.

B. By 7.12, following runners (those following the successfully appealed runner) cannot score when there are 2 outs. The caught fly ball was the second out. No runs score, inning over.

kickersrule said...

In A) Yes the umpire should allow the apeal R1 is out on apeal. However R2 and R3 should still score making the new score 5-4 ending the bottom of the 5th inning and starting the top of the 6th inning.

In B) R3 is out on apeal no runs should score ending the bottom of the 5th inning with the score still 4-3 to start the top of the 6th inning.

Im not sure what you mean by OBR source but I think you are refering to a play that happened earlier this year with umpire Paul Nauert.

ump_24 said...

A) Honour the second appeal on R1 - different runner, different base - all good. Call him out for leaving early and remove his run from the board. Leave the runs that R2 and R3 represent on the board. Inning over, 5-4 score.

B) Classic 7.12. Rule R3 out on appeal and remove his run and the runs scored by R1 and R2 from the board. Inning over, 4-3 score.

C) 4.09a and 7.12

Nathan said...

This post should apply to UEFL team member mtn335 (that's my other username)

OBR 2.00 (FORCE PLAY) Comment: "Example: Not a force out. One out. Runner on first and third. Batter flies out. Two out. Runner on third tags up and scores. Runner on first tries to retouch before throw from fielder reaches first baseman, but does not get back in time and is out. Three outs. If, in umpire’s judgment, the runner from third touched home before the ball was held at first base, the run counts."

OBR 7.10: "Any appeal under this rule must be made before the next pitch, or any play or attempted play. If the violation occurs during a play which ends a half-inning, the appeal must be made before the defensive team leaves the field. An appeal is not to be interpreted as a play or an attempted play."

OBR 7.12: "Unless two are out, the status of a following runner is not affected by a preceding runner’s failure to touch or retouch a base. If, upon appeal, the preceding runner is the third out, no runners following him shall score. If such third out is the result of a force play, neither preceding nor following runners shall score."

In (a), the second appeal is permitted. 7.10 specifies that an appeal is not a "play," and so one appeal wouldn't disqualify another. 7.10 separately disallows a second appeal on the same runner at the same base; however, this does not apply. Therefore, the second appeal is honored and R1 is retired for the third out. 7.12 states that (as long as there is not a force play, and this is not per 2.00 definition), any following runners are out; however, R2 and R3 (as preceding runners) score. The game will resume with the score 5-4 in favor of the team whose at-bat just ended.

In (b), 7.12 is very clear that "If, upon appeal, the preceding runner is the third out, no runners following him shall score." Since R3 becomes the third out, following runners may not score. Therefore no runs score and the next half-inning begins with the score unchanged (4-3 in favor of the team now coming to bat).

Anonymous said...


7.12: If, upon appeal, the preceding runner is the third out, no runners following him shall score...this rule is a basic rule that all umpires, ESPECIALLY ones that have been trained professionally and passed on to PBUC, should know. They missed it, and even when given the opportunity to fix it, they still missed it.

kickersrule said...

Ok so what does OBR source mean?

Lindsay said...

OBR = Official Baseball Rules, the ML Rules Book.

Post a Comment