Saturday, June 25, 2011

Ejections: Marvin Hudson (3)

HP Umpire Marvin Hudson ejected Cardinals left fielder Matt Holliday for arguing a strike call in the bottom of the 8th inning of the Blue Jays-Cardinals game. With none out and two on, Holliday took a 1-2 fastball from Blue Jays pitcher Jon Rauch for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located thigh high and several inches off the inner edge of home plate, the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the Blue Jays were leading, 5-2. The Blue Jays ultimately won the contest, 6-3.

This is Marvin Hudson (51)'s third ejection of 2011.
Marvin Hudson now has 6 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (8 Previous + 2 MLB + -4 Incorrect Call = 6)
Marvin Hudson is owned as a Secondary Umpire by mtn335, who is now in 10th place in the UEFL with 9 points.

This is the 87th ejection of 2011.
This is the 38th player ejection of 2011.
Prior to his ejection, Holliday was 0-4 in the contest.

Wrap: TOR @ STL 6/25/11 Wrap
Video: Holliday is ejected by Hudson after being called out on strikes

Pitch f/x courtesy Brooks Baseball


Jon Terry said...

video is up

Anonymous said...

Your gonna say this was an incorrect call when the ball is maybe a inch or two off the plate.. that is a strike. Good Call Marvin

Anonymous said...

Wow that's a big miss

Dan said...

When you look at the replay, that bsll sppears to be a lot closer to the plate than the chart indicates. I give Hudson the benefit of the doubt on that one.

Anonymous said...

"You're going to say that the guy who got under the tag was safe, but the ball beat him so he's out" - That's the equivalent of what you just said.

thexfactor264 said...

@9:55 Anonymous

I agree that the pitch was close, but not close enough to be called a strike. By using the chart, I figured the pitch to be approximately 1.84 inches inside, as compared to the working strike zone established on this site. Do I fault Hudson for the call? No, but I don't think it is a good idea to admit the pitch is inside and then say he got it correct.

Cricket said...

The absolute value of px on this pitch was 1.346. This implies that the ball was 1.346 feet, or 16.152 inches, away from the center of home plate.

Previous posts have established that the outer edge/inner edge of the working strike zone is 0.953 feet, or 11.440 inches, away from the center of the plate.

Therefore, (and Gil or J can check this) if my math is correct, this pitch was more than 4 inches off the inside corner. Incorrect call, and I cannot blame Holliday for being upset.

I wish posters would stop trying to defend umpires when the call is clearly incorrect, as it is in this situation (as verified by the p/x chart and raw data, not to mention the naked eye). I am an umpire, and always give the umpire the benefit of the doubt in close plays/calls. But reasonableness is necessary on calls like this.

Tom2123456 said...

This call was obviously wrong and came at a crucial time, and was in favor of Toronto. In the 3rd inning, the first base umpire called a Toronto runner safe who was out. That would have been the 3rd out, and the next batter hit a 3 run home run. Obviously, this umpiring crew had an agenda other than calling a fair game. It's a shame that MLB has become the same as the WWF. The league knows who it wants to win, and they make it happen. The umpires have a good gig, so they go along with it, and call the games accordingly. I used to get mad, now I just accept it for what it is: A TV show, with a plot and characters...and a script.

Anonymous said...

Controversial call to end the Angels/Dodgers game today: Play at the plate that should have ended the game that it looks like Tom Hallion blew. Hate to see it cause Tom is a really good umpire, but that should have ended the game with an Angels win, but the next batter won it for the Dodgers.

Gordan never got to the plate, and the heal of Mathis's glove hits Gordan in the back. Gordan knew he never made it to the plate and tried to reach around Mathis to hit the plate.

Discussion point could be Hallion's positioning. He seemed to be perfect position to see he never made it to the plate, but simply blew the call.

Anonymous said...

I think Marvin Hudson just flat out missed the call. Even with that margin of error, as Cricket said, even 3 inches (minimum, 5 inches maximum) off the plate is significant when you're working with a 17" wide dish + 2.75 some odd diameter of a baseball (plate width + 2 * ball diameter = 0.953 feet). So actually, the ball would therefore be centered somewhere between 4.5 and 6.5 inches off the plate. That's significant.

Eric said...

in response to the Hallion call, looked like he was in horrible position to see the play. He started off way behind the left handed batters box and I think just assumed that the runner would be safe because he was already signaling safe before the play was even over. Horrific effort and call on his part.

Post a Comment