Thursday, November 9, 2017

2017 Promising Umpires - Cory Blaser & Chad Fairchild

Cory Blaser & Chad Fairchild are 2017's Promising Umpires of the Year [2016: Holbrook & Porter].
Voting (Top 5): Blaser (12.9%), Fairchild (11.6%), Quinn Wolcott/John Tumpane (8.9%), Adam Hamari (7%).

Cory Blaser & Chad Fairchild are the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League's 2017 Promising Umpires of the Year.

Award Winner: Cory Blaser.
Blaser's season started early, with a trip to the World Baseball Classic in Japan, where Replay Review affirmed a fan interference call at the Tokyo Dome. He finished the regular season with zero ejections and a .591 Review Affirmation Percentage, 27th best in the league, earning a trip to the postseason where he plated Game 1 of the Cubs-Nationals NL Division Series, calling a neutral 96.7% game, eventually going three-for-three on reviews during the series. In complimenting Blaser, one commenter called him "a quality young ump who had a very good season & was excellent in the postseason."
Related PostDiscussion of 2017 AL and NL Division Series (10/5/17).

Award Winner: Chad Fairchild.
Fairchild's three ejections in 2017 accounted for his first dismissals since the 2015 season, when he ejected Terry Collins. Meanwhile, his two overturned calls in 13 total replays (.846 RAP) was fourth-best in baseball, leading to praise of a "terrific season" and "good situation handling" concerning his ejection of Jose Bautista in September. Fairchild earned his first League Championship Series assignment with a visit to the 2017 ALCS, working the plate for Game 1 and putting up the highest plate score of the 12 total LCS games at a 97.4% clip, along with two challenged and confirmed calls via replay in Games 1 and 2.
Related PostDiscussion of 2017 AL & NL League Championship Series (10/13/17).

UEFL Awards History, Cory Blaser & Chad Fairchild

Cory Blaser now has 9 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (6 Prev + 3 Award = 9).
Chad Fairchild now has 21 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (18 Previous + 3 Award = 21).
The next postseason award, Ejection of the Year, will be released tonight.


Post a Comment