Monday, November 6, 2017

2017 UEFL Award for Worst Umpire - CB Bucknor

The Umpire Ejection Fantasy League announces its postseason awards schedule, beginning with the Worst Umpire of the Year, below, and continuing with Most Declining, Most Improved, Fill-In, Crew Chief, Honorable, Promising, Ejection(s) of the Year and concluding with Umpire of the Year. 127 total ballots were cast during this year's nominations process.

UEFL Rule 4-4 governs postseason awards distribution, which begins with the Worst Umpire of the Year.

2017 UEFL Awards: Worst Umpire of the Year: CB Bucknor (54) [2016 Winner: Vic Carapazza].
Voting Results (Top 3): CB Bucknor (12.7%), Angel Hernandez (11.8%), Carlos Torres (11.8%).

Award Winner: CB Bucknor (54).
CB Bucknor receives the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League's 2017 Worst Umpire of the Year Award. In his 22nd Major League Baseball umpiring season, Bucknor concluded the year with one ejection; he ejected once in 2016 and three in 2015. In a rare instance of an award apparently determined during the season's first month, Bucknor ejected Mariners Manager Scott Servais on April 16 (MLB Ejection 006 - CB Bucknor (1; Scott Servais)), with commenters acknowledging the correctness of the call, but decrying Bucknor's mechanics—first signaling "Time" before indicating "out" upon an apparent request by an opposing player—as contributing to the ejection.

Unfortunately, just days later, Bucknor was again involved in a controversial sequence, this time in Atlanta. On April 18, Bucknor called the Nationals and Braves back to the field after reversing an initial strikeout call to that of "foul ball." When the game concluded shortly thereafter, Nationals outfielder Jayson Werth confronted Bucknor, airing further grievances through the media thereafter.
Related PostBucknor's False Strikeout, Non-Ejection (Jayson Werth) (4/18/17).

UEFL Awards History, CB Bucknor
Most Improved Umpire of the Year (2013, 2014).

CB Bucknor now has 4 points in the UEFL Standings (7 Previous - 3 Award = 4).
The next postseason award, Most Declining Umpire of the Year, will be released later this afternoon.


Post a Comment