Tuesday, November 6, 2018

2018 UEFL Award for Top Crew Chief - Ted Barrett

Ted Barrett wins the UEFL's 2018 Crew Chief of the Year Award [2017 Winner: Ted Barrett].
Voting Results (Top 3): Ted Barrett (48.3%), Jeff Nelson (14.0%), Tom Hallion (12.6%).

Award Winner: Ted Barrett (65).
Ted Barrett is the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League's 2018 Crew Chief of the Year, which marks his fourth time Barrett has won the Crew Chief of the Year Award, and third consecutive season receiving an award (second consecutive Crew Chief of the Year selection). In his 22nd MLB season, Barrett experienced zero ejections.

Earlier this summer, Barrett and runner-up Nelson were inducted into the Arizona Fall League Hall of Fame, the first two umpires ever selected to enter the AFL's Hall. Barrett officiated the AFL from 1993 through 1995 prior to his American League debut in 1994. Barrett joined the MLB staff in 1999 and became a full-time crew chief prior to the 2013 season.
Related PostTed Barrett, Jeff Nelson Named to AFL Hall of Fame (7/8/18).

As was the case in 2017, all four members of Barrett's regular season crew—Barrett, Kerwin Danley, Lance Barksdale, and Will Little—officiated during the postseason, including Danley's second selection to the World Series, and Barrett's first time chiefing the Fall Classic.

With his own Division and World Series selections this fall, Barrett has officiated the postseason for 14 consecutive years (2005-18). He finished 16th amongst 88 tracked umpires with a .619 Replay Affirmation Percentage, having been overturned eight times in 21 reviews, including the postseason.

UEFL Awards History, Ted Barrett
Umpire of the Year: 2014.
Honorable Umpire of the Year: 2012, 2013, 2014.
Crew Chief of the Year: 2014, 2016, 2017.

Ted Barrett now has 14 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (13 Previous + 1 Award = 14).
The next postseason award, Honorable Umpire of the Year, will be released tomorrow.


Post a Comment