Monday, April 18, 2022

Ask UEFL - Bona Fide Slide DP Ends Rockies-Rangers

 fields your Ask the UEFL questions regarding a bona fide slide rule interference play that wound up ending last week's Rockies-Rangers game in Texas, with HP Umpire Bill Miller signaling the Replay Review-decided double play much to the chagrin of Rangers manager Chris Woodward, whose team just lost to Colorado.

Play: With one out and one on (R1), Rangers batter Adolis Garcia hit a ground ball from Rockies pitcher Ashton Goudeau on the ground to third baseman Ryan McMahon, who threw to second baseman Brendan Rodgers as Rangers baserunner R1 Mitch Garver slid into second base, before Rodgers then threw wildly to first baseman CJ Cron.

Original Ruling
: 2B Umpire Brian Knight initially ruled Garver out on the force play, but did not make an on-field slide rule interference call.

Challenge & Review: Instead, Rockies manager Bud Black elected to file a manager's challenge for slide rule interference, alleging that Garver, in sliding into and making contact with middle infielder Rodgers, failed to engage in a bona fide slide and thus should be called for interference (rendering the batter-runner Garcia out as well).

Rule: Official Baseball Rule 6.01(j) describes bona fide slide criteria, specifying four main requirements:
1) Runner begins his slide and makes contact with the ground before reaching the base;
2) He is able and attempts to reach the base with his hand or foot;
3) He is able and attempts to remain on the base (except home) after completing the slide; and
4) He slides within reach without changing his path for the purpose of initiating contact with a fielder.
Related Label: Bona Fide Slide

If the runner fails to satisfy even one of those four requirements, and in doing so impedes the defense from completing a potential play, the umpire shall declare the ball dead and rule interference for an illegal (non-bona fide) slide.

Result: Because Colorado was unable to complete its attempted double play as a result of R1 Garver's illegal slide, the Replay Official ruled BR Garcia out for the interfering actions of his teammate, resulting in a game-ending double play.


Post a Comment