Sunday, September 8, 2013

MLB Ejection 162: Tom Hallion (6; Kirk Gibson)

1B Umpire Tom Hallion ejected Diamondbacks Manager Kirk Gibson for arguing an out (reversed) call in the top of the 10th inning of the Diamondbacks-Giants game. With two out and two on, Diamondbacks
Hallion tosses Gibby as Guccione & Kulpa look on.
batter Aaron Hill hit a 1-1 slider from Giants pitcher George Kontos to first baseman Buster Posey, who threw to Kontos, covering first. Initially ruled safe and reversed to an out upon umpire crew conference, replays indicate Kontos' foot contacted the top of the first base bag prior to Hill's arrival, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the contest was tied, 2-2. The Giants ultimately won the contest, 3-2, in 11 innings.

This is Tom Hallion (20)'s sixth ejection of 2013.
Tom Hallion now has 8 points in the UEFL (4 + 2 + 2 Y =8).
Crew Chief Tom Hallion now has 6 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (5 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 6).

This is the 162nd ejection of the 2013 MLB season.
This is the 79th Manger ejection of 2013.
This is the Diamondbacks' 9th ejection of 2013, 2nd in the NL West (LAD 12; ARI 9; SF 4; COL, SD 3).
This is Kirk Gibson's 4th ejection of 2013 and first since September 5 (Tom Hallion; QOC = Incorrect).
This is Tom Hallion's first ejection since Thursday, September 5, 2013 (Kirk Gibson; QOC = Incorrect).

Wrap: Arizona Diamondbacks vs. San Francisco Giants, 9/8/13
Video: Giants receive an out after umpires confer and properly change course on key call (SF)
Video: Gibson rejects Hallion's "getting it right" approach and is ejected defending the point (ARI)

25 comments :

Gil Imber said...

So the announcers admit they get the call right but they are still not happy. This is going to happen a lot next year with replay so everyone better get used to it.

Gil Imber said...

Looks like Hallion and Gibson are developing a 'relationship'.....


Any chance Gibson brought Thursday up?

Gil Imber said...

Whatever Gibson said really pissed off Hallion.

Gil Imber said...

I had to eject a manager a few weeks ago on a similar situation where my partner kicked one and asked me for help. I had to tell him that he kicked it so he reversed the call and the manager went cray cray on us both. So...is it better philosophy to stay out of their pond altogether and let them live and die with it, or should we be stewards of the game and get it right for the participants?

Gil Imber said...

I thought the exact same thing. Hallion admits to making the wrong call, changes it to the correct call after conferring (which was probably more of "I fucked this up, I don't need you to tell me."), and the announcers are still mad at him for it.

Gil Imber said...

Get it right!!! My philosophy will get some people riled up, I know, but we're there to get the game right, to the best of our collective crew ability. If you're not 100%, then don't go fishing, but if you have definite information, go to your partner. Coaches can deal.

Gil Imber said...

Always get it right whenever possible. That's what you're out there for.

Gil Imber said...

I find it funny the announcers say that we're seeing what Hallion saw, when clearly the camera's angle was nowhere near Hallion's. It looks like Hallion turned his attention to the base and then jerked his vision to the ball, making him think, perhaps, that the first baseman had pulled his foot, as he was not focused on the whole play. It happens.

Gil Imber said...

I don't think the announcers know what "understandably" means.

Gil Imber said...

Probably upset because he blew the call big time. I would guess that if he had gotten th call right the first time, nobody would have said a word.

Gil Imber said...

Probably something along the lines of, "Why didn't you f******* as for f******** help Thursday??"

Gil Imber said...

the umpire was watching the ball the time he saw the foot was coming off the bag so to the umpire it look like he miss it. he got togather and made the right call. these announcers are just complete jerks.

Gil Imber said...

ralph you say what you say saw you don't say he "kick" the call. I ask for help in districts as i didn't have a great view at third. Manager went to ask Home plate than Home Plate umpire directed him to me. The Manager ask nicely so i ask my partner for help and he said she was out. So i change my call and i got more props for that than keeping my call.

Gil Imber said...

Really? Always get it right whenever possible. Clearly all umpire would love to be able to call a perfect game. We are Humans its not going to happen.

Gil Imber said...

I'll say what I've said before: The whole "Just get the call right" crap from the media and fans is BS. They want the call to go their way. They couldn't care less about getting anything right.

Gil Imber said...

Unlike the rest of the human race, umpires are the only ones who aren't perfect, so it happens. They got it right, isn't that what you guys want?

Gil Imber said...

I'm guessing neither will be receiving a Christmas card from the other...

Gil Imber said...

A technical question....It looks to me like Matheny is telling HP who is replacing Axford. Since he's also ejected by rule, should he be designating a replacement??

Gil Imber said...

Although we would all like to "get it right", its really tough to justify in a two man system asking for help, especially if it is simply a matter of timing and judgment... Your partner makes a call, you think he got it wrong... so, which one of you is right? If both of you have the same information (i.e. no one missed a pulled foot or a dropped ball), then there is nothing to change. What happens if you go out there tell him he kicked it and its really you who messed it up? You may go out there trying to "do the right thing" and be a steward of the game, and you might turn it in the wrong direction.
When being asked by our partners for "help" on a call it should only be to give them new information such as, "his foot definitely stepped on the base after he caught the ball" (like what happened in this play) or "the ball came out during the tag and he picked it back up after you signaled out". It should never just be "he beat the throw" or "he tagged him in time" or "I had it the other way". If you can give your partner new information about the play that s/he could not see and they change their call based on that new information, that's good help. If you simply say you have it different based purely on the judgment of timing and they change their call on that alone, then there is no point to them being on the field. Their judgment, their view, their opinion no longer matters. Coaches at all levels would ask on every play for help. I know I would.
There are times when you get together, there are times when you "get it right", and there are calls where if your partner can't give you new information, stand by it cause you saw it and your opinion needs to matter. Otherwise you will never be able to do your job.

Gil Imber said...

At the end of the day, they got it right, which is what we want. Gibson is just being a jerk - it's clearly the correct reversal and he's out there to argue just for the sake of arguing. I don't believe any team has won a game this year when their skip has been tossed in extra innings.

Gil Imber said...

I think Hallion scared Gibson a bit. After Gibby gets tossed - he just turns around and walks away lol.

Gil Imber said...

That is funny. I don't think I've ever seen a skipper just walk away immediately after getting the thumb.

Gil Imber said...

That's why I said "whenever possible".

Gil Imber said...

Brian Gorman ejected Miguel Cabrera and Jim Leyland in the first inning of the tigers-white sox game over a strike call

Gil Imber said...

Gorman just tossed Miggy and Leyland. I have lost of a lot of respect for the Fox Sport Detroit crew because of their reaction. Pitch hit Cabrera in the foot, but Brian ruled that he swung, which he did. He continued to gripe, and Gorman tossed him. Just watch the video and you will understand.

Post a Comment