Friday, September 6, 2013

MLB Ejection 155: Tom Hallion (5; Kirk Gibson)

HP Umpire Tom Hallion ejected Diamondbacks Manager Kirk Gibson for arguing a safe call in the bottom of the 4th inning of the Diamondbacks-Giants game. With none out and one on, Giants batter Hector Sanchez hit a 1-1 sinker from Diamondbacks pitcher Trevor Cahill to Giants right fielder Gerardo Parra, who fielded the fly ball and threw home as Giants baserunner R3 Pablo Sandoval attempted to score from third base. Replays indicate Diamondbacks catcher Miguel Montero's glove and baseball touched Sandoval's right oblique before Sandoval's hand contacted home plate, the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the Giants were leading, 2-0. The Diamondbacks ultimately won the contest, 4-2.

This is Tom Hallion (20)'s fifth ejection of 2013.
Tom Hallion now has 4 points in the UEFL (6 Previous + 2 MLB + -4 Incorrect Call = 4).
Crew Chief Tom Hallion now has 5 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (5 + 0 Incorrect Call = 5).

This is the 155th ejection of the 2013 MLB season.
This is the 76th Manager ejection of 2013.
This is the Diamondbacks' 8th ejection of 2013, 2nd in the NL West (LAD 11; ARI 8; SF 4; COL, SD 3).
This is Kirk Gibson's 3rd ejection of 2013 and first since June 12, 2013 (Clint Fagan; QOC = Irrecusable).
This is Tom Hallion's first ejection since August 18, 2013 (James Russell; QOC = Incorrect [Crewmate]).

Wrap: Arizona Diamondbacks vs. San Francisco Giants, 9/5/13
Video: Sandoval collides with Montero at home plate, scoring the run on a sacrifice fly (ARI)


Gil Imber said...

My nominee for worst call of the year - he missed it twice!

Can he be credited for two incorrect calls?

Gil Imber said...

Inconclusive or correct call. It seems to me Hallion called him safe on the initial play. As the announcers pointed out, there was a safe call before Sandoval dove back, and the subsequent point appears to indicate Hallion thinks Sandoval touched the first base corner of the plate on the initial collision. From the one angle posted here, I don't see indisputable evidence Sandoval did not touch the plate.

Gil Imber said...

Tony Randazzo just ejected Mike Matheny and John Axford for hitting a Pirates batter after warnings. It certainly looked intentional to me but the Cardinals announcers of course didn't think so.

Gil Imber said...

That could not be further from the truth. That was not intentional. It was a pitch that just slipped away. By the way I am not a Pirates or Cardinals fans but as a baseball fan I know that it was not intentional.

Gil Imber said...

I don't think the Pirates pitch inside to Molina that caused Randazzo to issue warnings but Axford's looked intentional to me. I'm not a fan of either team either FWIW. I guess we will have to agree to disagree.

Gil Imber said...

I agree that he rules him safe on the initial play, though I think it is pretty clear that he is wrong. The contact happens before Sandoval reaches the plate (where he may or more likely may not have touched the 1B corner of HP) and it is during that contact that he is first tagged.
It is really unusual for a collision to happen at the plate when the catcher is in possession of the ball (and doesn't lose the ball) and the runner to be called safe. I can't recall any other examples.

Post a Comment