Wednesday, April 2, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Review 012: Dale Scott (01)

Instant Replay Review overturned 2B Umpire Dale Scott's out call in the top of the 4th inning of the Twins-White Sox game. With none out and one on, Twins batter Oswaldo Arcia hit a 1-2 change up from White Sox pitcher Daniel Webb in the air to center fielder Adam Eaton, who attempted to catch the ball as it entered his glove. Upon Instant Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Twins Manager Ron Gardenhire, Scott's ruling that Eaton possessed the ball and its release to the ground was voluntary and intentional was reversed, the call was incorrect. At the time of the review, the Twins were leading, 5-3. The White Sox ultimately won the contest, 7-6, in 11 innings.

This is Dale Scott (5)'s first instant replay challenge/review of 2014.
Dale Scott is now 0/1 (.000 Accuracy) in Instant Replay Reviews during 2014.
Crew Chief Dale Scott's crew is now 0/1 (1.000 Accuracy) in Replay Reviews during 2014.
Listed Replay Official Crew Chiefs: Larry Vanover, Jeff Kellogg.

This is the 12th instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Twins Manager Ron Gardenhire is now 1/1 (1.000 Success) in Instant Replay Challenges/Requests in 2014.
Umpires are now 6/12 (.500 Accuracy) in Instant Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: Minnesota Twins vs. Chicago White Sox, 4/2/14
Video: Play overturned; Gardy challenges the initial catch ruling, drawing a reversal and error (MIN)


Gil Imber said...

This is what I was afraid of. The fans see it in the stadium and either 1) they see it go off the wall and the fielder catches it, and they don't know the rules, or 2) they think it went off the glove. Either way, they think the umpires got it wrong and they will go home saying it was wrong. I'm not usually one who thinks the broadcasters did a good job, but I find they did in this case because they commented to the crowd.

Also about the runner placement. I think they went with that because the call on the field was a no catch and the replay affirmed it. If the cal on the field was a catch, then they would have had to place the runners.

Post a Comment