Friday, September 7, 2012

Ejection 154: Gary Darling (8)

HP Umpire Gary Darling ejected Pirates Manager Clint Hurdle for arguing a safe call in the top of the 6th inning of the Cubs-Pirates game. With none out and one on, Cubs batter Darwin Barney hit a 1-2 knuckle curve from Pirates pitcher A.J. Burnett to shortstop Josh Harrison, who threw to third baseman Pedro Alvarez in an attempt to retire baserunner R2 Brett Jackson, who was attempting to advance on the play. Replays indicate Alvarez's glove tagged Jackson on the right side of his body prior to Jackson's right hand touching third base, the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Cubs were leading, 4-0. The Cubs ultimately won the contest, 12-2.

This is Gary Darling (37)'s MLB-leading eighth ejection of 2012.
Gary Darling now has 18 points in the UEFL (20 Previous + 2 MLB + -4 Incorrect Call = 18).
Crew Chief Gary Darling now has 10 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (10 Previous + 0 = 10).
*Quality of Correctness has been affirmed by the UEFL Appeals Board (3-1).

UEFL Standings Update

This is the 154th ejection of 2012.
This is the 73rd Manager ejection of 2012.
This is the third consecutive Cubs game with at least one ejection.
This is the Pirates' 5th ejection of 2012, T-3rd in the NL Central (CHC 8; MIL 6; HOU, PIT 5; STL 4; CIN 3).
This is Clint Hurdle's first ejection since August 4 (Brian Gorman; QOC = Irrecusable).
This is Gary Darling's first ejection since August 29 (Asdrubal Cabrera; QOC = Correct).

Wrap: Cubs at Pirates, 9/7/12
Video: Darling rules Jackson "safe" at third on close play, Hurdle ejected after prolongued argument (PIT)


Anonymous said...

This is probably the most obvious ejection of " Ok, Gary please toss me my team is playing like s***" Gary usually does't have a quick trigger and certainly didn't here- he has really racked up all the heave ho's this season

Anonymous said...

Aviles is very close to getting tossed by nelson before it went to commercial- personally i don't see why everyone thinks nelson is under-rated is really has had some inconsistent zones this year

Double Down for Donuts said...

I challenge this ruling, actually. Looks like the tag was applied just before the hand touched the bag.

Anonymous said...


The play was ruled incorrect so why would you challenge it if you think it is incorrect?

I like how the video shows the entire arguement and then shows the replys. I dont know which feed this was but thats how every ejection video should be.

wwjd said...

Wouldn't Darling be the 3B umpire tonight as he had the plate in Atlanta yesterday

Anonymous said...

Just curious. What's the record for most games in a row with an ejection? This is the sixth ejection in three games for the cubs...

JeremyJ said...

@wwjd, that's exactly right. Which is why he was working third base tonight...

I think there's no question on this one. He's clearly tagged, and from Darling's angle, I don't think he could see any mysterious daylight that none of the camera angles could see. Sometimes you just kick a call

Anonymous said...

I agree. UEFL got it right by saying the call was wrong, no need to challenge, it was quite obvious

Anonymous said...

Very close call, but a missed one nonetheless. Darling might have gotten it right if his body (and eyes) hadn't been in motion when the tag was being applied. This play developed very quickly, so it may have been impossible for him to get completely set in time.

Anonymous said...

What a horsemanure game. 7 errors by 1 team. Pitiful. Good thing Hurdle did not have to watch any more.

Anonymous said...

Speaking of Brett Jackson, scary incident involving him during that same game.

Unknown said...

Hey, folks... been following the UEFL for two years now, because I'm a HS umpire and love the instruction/videos. I know I don't have standing, but I think Darling got this one right. A great slide by the runner. The right hand hit the base before the tag got the runner. Safe was the correct call, and incorrect QOC was a bad ruling. JMHO.

UmpAtty said...

I challenge this ruling too. Even the announcers back off Darling after seeing the replay

tmac said...

welcome aboard lee.... and it doesn't matter what level you umpire we're glad to have ya... More thoughful commenters the merrier!!

Double Down for Donuts said...

"I challenge this ruling, actually. Looks like the tag was applied just before the hand touched the bag. "

Sorry, too much beer imbibication before typing the above. Meant to challenge because the tag was applied AFTER his hand touched the bag. Hence the desire to challenge. Luckily someone beat me to the punch!

Me fail English? That's unpossible! (RALPH WIGGUM)

Anonymous said...

Hand in there SAFEEEE!!!

Anonymous said...

This is a pro play by SS; pro play by 3B, and a pro slide by runner.

Also, pro play by U3 to get toward position and make a call.

Way too bang-bang for the naked eye to dispute and I agree with the recent posts, I don't think you can decidedly state incorrect call here for two reasons: 1) I think he may actually be safe; 2) even if out, you can't see (and Darling can't see) the part of the bag the hand could touch first because it's facing 2B; so inconclusive goes to the original call.

Lindsay said...

After review, the Original Ruling has been affirmed in a 3-1 decision by the UEFL Appeals Board. Two Appeals Board members elected to confirm Quality of Correctness while one voted to uphold it and one voted to overturn it.

Per Curiam Opinion:
After review of this play, multiple replays suggest the runner's arm was legally tagged prior to arrival at third base; therefore, the Original Ruling is affirmed.

Concurring Opinion, RichMSN:
While it's darned close, SportsCenter did a stop frame view that shows Darling got it wrong. Confirm.

Therefore, the Original Ruling has been affirmed.

Confirm: RichMSN, yawetag
Uphold: tmac
Overturn: Albertaumpire
Defer: None
Abstain: Gil (Posted Original QOC), Jeremy (Vacation), BillMueller (Owns Darling)

Post a Comment