Wednesday, August 13, 2014

MLB Ejection 151: Fieldin Culbreth (5; Robin Ventura)

3B Umpire Fieldin Culbreth ejected White Sox Manager Robin Ventura for arguing a Replay Review decision that overturned HP Umpire Chris Segal's Rule 7.13 violation-no call (out) in the bottom of the 7th inning of the White Sox-Giants game. With one out and two on, Giants batter Joe Panik hit a 1-1 fastball from White Sox pitcher Jose Quintana on the ground to first baseman Jose Abreu, who threw to catcher Tyler Flowers as Giants baserunner R3 Gregor Blanco slid towards home plate. Upon Replay Review as the result of a request by Giants Manager Bruce Bochy and initiation by Crew Chief Culbreth, Segal's ruling was reversed and Blanco declared safe for a Giants run, the ensuing argument producing Ventura's ejection, the call was correct. At the time of the review, the White Sox were leading, 1-0. At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 1-1. The Giants ultimately won the contest, 7-1.

This is Fieldin Culbreth (25)'s fifth ejection of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Fieldin Culbreth now has 15 points in the UEFL Standings (11 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 15).
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has 12 points in Crew Division (11 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 12).

This is the 151st ejection of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is the 71st Manager ejection of 2014.
This is the White Sox's 4th ejection of 2014, T-2nd in the AL Central (KC 5; CWS, DET, MIN 4; CLE 1).
This is Robin Ventura's first ejection since June 4, 2014 (Kerwin Danley; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Fieldin Culbreth's first ejection since April 20, 2014 (Brewers-Pirates x3; QOC = U [Fighting]).

Wrap: Chicago White Sox vs. San Francisco Giants, 8/13/14
Video: Sox-Giants experience a 10-minute delay on Rule 7.13 review, overturn, ejection & argument (SF)
Video: Ventura bolts from the dugout and is promptly tossed, kicks dirt on home plate (CWS)

Quote from Ken "Hawk" Harrelson, WGN Sports (CWS):
This is something that's going to have to be changed. It's too ambiguous. It's going to leave it up to where it's a decision made by a crew in New York, so to speak. But it's not definitive enough, the rule is just not definitive enough. First of all, it's a bad rule, that's number one... So we'll see how long this takes... After the game last night, I got a couple of texts about comments made about catchers getting hit. Well, it's part of the game, it always has been and in my opinion, it's a bad rule. You had a couple of guys, Buster Posey being one and Yadier Molina, got hit real hard a couple of times, but there have been a lot of ball games won by knocking the ball out of the catcher's hand. People forget about the runner. The runner, most of hte time, is going to take more of a hit than the catcher. The catcher is going to bury you. Scioscia, Tennis, they're going to bury you. I would say probably over the course of my career, more runners were hurt than catchers. In my opinion, if Buster Posey had not taken that hit, we would have not had this rule. That's just my opinion... It's just not definitive enough, it's going to be an umpire crew in New York's discretion. And now, Robin is going to come out and absolutely... Boy, I tell you, this is what I'm talking about right here. This rule is BS, pure simple BS. They cannot have a crew of umpires in New York making this decision even with the video they have. It's just a bad rule, it's a bad rule, it's just that simple. I tell you, that's just - it's not baseball, it's just not baseball. Just like they're trying to do things in football. What're they going to make that, a little girls' game? He's got the line just like Posey had last night... This rule is going to cause so many problems, it's ridiculous. Absolutely ridiculous. It's a terrible rule, it's just that simple... Unbelievable really, it's not baseball. Boy I tell you what, this is one of those times I wish I could cuss. Unbelievable. They're going to have to get four impartial people in New York, not umpires, to make those decisions... One out, two on and a one-one tie - because of that ridiculous rule. Next thing you know, we're going to have catchers wearing skirts out there... Quintana who pitched terrific, a recipient of a ridiculous call. He departs and we'll be back.


Post a Comment