Monday, August 24, 2020

MLB Ejection 34 - Rob Drake (1; Torey Lovullo)

1B Umpire Rob Drake ejected Diamondbacks Manager Torey Lovullo (interference call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 5th inning of the #Rockies-#Dbacks game. With one out and one on (R1), Diamondbacks batter Ketel Marte hit a first-pitch sinker from Rockies pitcher Ryan Castellani to left fielder Raimel Tapia for a fly out as Diamondbacks baserunner R1 Kole Calhoun attempted to advance on the catch, ultimately declared out for interference during a rundown between first and second base. Replays indicate during Rockies catcher Tony Wolters's throw toward second base, Calhoun turned into the throw, having looked at the throw as it arrived adjacent to his helmet, such as to appear he intentionally placed his head in the path of the ball and, in doing so, interfered with the throw, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Rockies were leading, 3-2. The Rockies ultimately won the contest, 3-2.

This is Rob Drake (30)'s first ejection of 2020.
Rob Drake now has 4 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Crew Chief Bill Miller now has -1 points in Crew Division (-2 Previous + 1 Correct Call = -1).
*OBR 6.01(a)(10): "It is interference by a batter or runner when—He fails to avoid a fielder who is attempting to field a batted ball, or intentionally interferes with a thrown ball."
*OBR Definition: "Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play."

This is the 34th ejection report of the 2020 MLB regular season.
This is the 13th Manager ejection of 2020.
This is Arizona's 2nd ejection of 2020, 2nd in the NL West (LAD 3; ARI 2; SD 1; COL, SF 0).
This is Torey Lovullo's 2nd ejection of 2020, 1st since July 26 (Mark Ripperger; QOC = Y [HBP/Ball]).
This is Rob Drake's 1st ejection since July 4, 2019 (Mike Shildt; QOC = Y [Time Out]).

Wrap: Colorado Rockies vs. Arizona Diamondbacks, 8/24/20 | Video as follows:

Alternate Link: Drake dumps Diamondback due to deliberate determination (ARI)


Post a Comment