Tuesday, February 7, 2023

Runner's Lane Interference - A Mechanics Review

HP Umpire Nathan Hall did not hesitate to call runner's lane interference after deeming that a batter veered out of the running lane on a play to first base, a definitive decision from the very beginning that features in our Play Breakdown, sponsored by Umpire Placement Course (umpcourse.com), gateway to job placement across several professional leagues, including the Northwoods League, where this play took place.

With two out and two on (R1, R2) in the top of the 8th inning of the Wausau Woodchucks vs Traverse City Pit Splitters, a ground ball back to the pitcher's mound turned into an eventful few seconds for HP Umpire Hall as he first cleared the catcher to signal the batted ball fair before setting up along the foul line between home plate and first base.

Having observed that the Woodchucks batter-runner appeared to run inside (to the left of) the runner's lane (sidebar: both "inside" and "outside" the lane are illegal; within the lane is legal), Hall called "Time" to indicate runner's lane interference, ruling that the runner's illegal positioning constituted interference when the Pit Splitters pitcher's throw to first base hit the runner's helmet before bouncing into right field.

Hall then discusses the play with Wausau's manager before the game resumes.

Video as follows:

Alternate Link: Umpire Mech Review & Analysis of RLI Play with Ump Nate Hall (CCS)


Post a Comment