Friday, June 14, 2024

MLB Ejection 078 - Vic Carapazza (5; Bruce Bochy)

HP Umpire Vic Carapazza ejected Rangers manager Bruce Bochy (runner's lane interference no-call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 4th inning of the #Rangers-#Mariners game. With one out and one on, Mariners batter Victor Robles bunted a first-pitch changeup from Rangers pitcher Andrew Heaney back to the pitcher, whose throw to first base failed to retire Robles, resulting a bunt single. Replays indicate Robles failed to run within the expanded runner's lane (traditional lane + extension of the dirt in fair territory), but in doing so did not interfere with the fielder taking the throw at first base (1B Nathaniel Lowe), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Mariners were leading, 3-2. The Mariners ultimately won the contest, 3-2.

This is Vic Carapazza (19)'s 5th ejection of 2024.
Official Baseball Rule 5.09(a)(11): "A batter is out when in running the last half of the distance from home base to first base, while the ball is being fielded to first base, they run outside (to the right of) the three-foot line, or inside (to the left of) the foul line and on the infield grass, and in the umpire’s judgment in so doing interfere with the fielder taking the throw at first base, in which case the ball is dead."
^Baseball Rules Difference: NCAA & NFHS both would have RLI here if the umpire deems that the runner's illegal position interfered with the fielder making the throw (OBR only relates to the fielder taking the throw).

This is the 78th ejection of the 2024 MLB regular season.
This is the 37th manager ejection of 2024. Ejection Tally: 37 Managers, 12 Coaches, 29 Players.
This is Texas' 4th ejection of 2024, T-1st in the AL West (OAK, TEX 4; HOU, SEA 3; LAA 1).
This is Bruce Bochy's 3rd ejection of 2024, 1st since May 25 (Laz Diaz; QOC = N-c [Fair/Foul]).
This is Vic Carapazza's 5th ejection of 2024, 1st since June 5 (Nico Hoerner; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).


Post a Comment