Thursday, July 3, 2025

Marlins Lose Run on Umpire Interference as Ball Hits U2

Miami lost its tying run, then the game, vs Minnesota when Kyle Stowers' single hit 2B Umpire Emil Jimenez, positioned inside with Marlins baserunner R2 Jesús Sánchez at second. Although appearing to score on the outfield base hit, an umpire interference call returned runner Sánchez to second base, prompting a brief discussion between Marlins manager Clayton McCullough and Crew Chief James Hoye at home plate.

Official Baseball Rule 6.01(f) defines umpire interference: "Umpire’s interference occurs (1) when a plate umpire hinders, impedes or prevents a catcher’s throw attempting to prevent a stolen base or retire a runner on a pick-off play; or (2) when a fair ball touches an umpire on fair territory before passing a fielder."

It's important to note that the final word of this citation—"fielder"—does not include the pitcher for the purposes of this provision. However, if the pitcher (or any fielder) first touches the fair ball, then it is not umpire's interference even if the ball subsequently strikes an umpire working inside, as U2 Jimenez did here.

OBR 5.06(c)(6) proscribes the penalty for umpire interference: "The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out when a fair ball touches a runner or an umpire on fair territory before it touches an infielder including the pitcher, or touches an umpire before it has passed an infielder other than the pitcher; runners advance, if forced."

This means that all returns return to their base as a result of umpire interference, unless forced to advance by virtue of the batter becoming a runner and assuming occupation of first base (e.g., if there's only a runner on second, that runner returns, but if there were runners at first and second at the start of the play, both runners would advance to accommodate the batter-runner's placement at first base).

0 comments :

Post a Comment