Saturday, July 5, 2025

Runner Prevents Double Play by Fielding Ground Ball - Is That Legal?

Have you ever seen a baserunner field a ground ball? During July 1's La Crosse Loggers vs Duluth Huskies game in the Northwoods League, runner R2 Ethan Surowiec sought to prevent a double play on a bases loaded ground ball, opting to field the batted ball in front of La Crosse's waiting shortstop, resulting in a dead ball, with umpires ruling R2 Surowiec out and awarding batter-runner Reagan Reeder first base (the official scoring put this as a fielder's choice, but by rule this application would be credited as a single for the batter).

But was this the correct call?

This precise scenario is covered by Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(6): "If, in the judgment of the umpire, a base runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead. The umpire shall call the runner out for interference and also call out the batter-runner because of the action of their teammate. In no event may bases be run or runs scored because of such action by a runner."

College's rule is even stricter, not requiring "obvious intent" but simply intentional interference: "If a double play is likely, and the runner intentionally interferes with the fielder who is attempting to field or throw the ball, both the runner and batter-runner shall be declared out" (NCAA 8-5-d).

High school returns to OBR's "obvious" standard: "The batter-runner is out when any runner or retired runner interferes (2-21-1, 2-30-3) in a way which obviously hinders an obvious double play" (NFHS 8-4-1h).

In sum, this very likely should have been ruled a double play. | Video as follows:
Alternate Link: A runner fielded a live ball to break up a double play: is that legal?

0 comments :

Post a Comment