Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Ejection 097: Tim Tschida (4)

1B Umpire Tim Tschida ejected Rangers 2B Ian Kinsler for arguing an out call in the bottom of the 1st inning of the Red Sox-Rangers game. With none out and one on, baserunner R1 Ian Kinsler was picked off by Red Sox pitcher Clay Buchholz. Replays indicate the tag by first baseman Adrian Gonzalez was applied on Kinsler's right arm before his right hand contacted the first base bag, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the contest was tied, 0-0. The Red Sox ultimately won the contest, 2-1.

This is Tim Tschida (4)'s fourth ejection of 2012.
Tim Tschida now has 10 points in the UEFL (6 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 10).
Crew Chief Tim Tschida now has 5 points in the UEFL's Crew division (4 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 5).
*After review, Quality of Correctness has been confirmed by the UEFL Appeals Board (6-0).

UEFL Standings Update

This is the 97th ejection of 2012.
This is the 39th player ejection of 2012.
This the Rangers' 4th ejection of 2012, T-1st in the AL West (OAK, TEX 4, LAA 3, SEA 0).
This is Ian Kinsler's first ejection since June 14 (Eric Cooper; QOC = Incorrect).
Kinsler has never been ejected more than two times in one season (2010; 6/25 [Cooper], 9/10 [Scott]).
Prior to his ejection, Kinsler did not have an official at-bat being hit by a pitch his first time up.
This is Tim Tschida's first ejection since June 19 (Joel Peralta; QOC = Irrecusable).
This is the fifth consecutive ejection by a field umpire and third consecutive by a 1B umpire.

Wrap: Red Sox at Rangers, 7/24/12
Video: Kinsler picked off at first, has words for Tschida, is very promptly ejected
UEFL Image

54 comments :

Anonymous said...

WTF Tschida? That was one of the quickest hooks I've ever seen. He must own himself in this league and knew he got the call right. That's a horribly short leash. I highly doubt Kinsler said the offensive words in that short, short time from out call to ejection.

TX Wrangler said...

Yeah that was a short leash, but all it takes in the "magic words" and that's it. Tim usually has a pretty long leash so I'm guessing Ian said something. Being a Rangers fan, Ian can be a hothead.

Anonymous said...

first off that was a blown call. u don't tag I guy on the shoulder he is safe!!! second thats ridiculous that umpire is an idiot and that was an embarrassment to him. I agree Ian can be a bit passionate but seriously that umpire was way to quick (my dad played professional baseball I understand the magc words) that umpire needs to realized that people didn't come to watch him!! and they certainly didn't come to watch him blow calls. he screwed the rangers and I would be surprised if Ian doesnt have a few more words for him tomorrow night when he is behind the plate

TX Wrangler said...

@ Anon 6:00

The call was correct. Although it was close, he did get him by a hair when you watch it in slow motion. The Rangers announcers even agreed with Tim's call after watching the tape. Tim is NOT the type of umpire who is like "the crowd came to see me."

SPballsandstrikes said...

I can't make out everything but once Nelson comes in to break it up he exchanges words with Kinsler and I make out Nelson questioning that Ian calls him "a** hole" Maybe i'm completely wrong,but it looks very much like Nelson goes "and i'm the a**hole?"

Uncharacteristic quick hook by Tschida. I am an umpire but far from an MLB level umpire so I won't go into great analysis about the call but it looked correct.Elbow tagged before hand got the bag.

Anonymous said...

I don't see how anyone can look at the UEFL image and honestly say the call was wrong.

Anonymous said...

Kinsler must have said something really really bad to get tossed so fast. I'm not against the quick toss if it's merited, but boy, in this case, it must have been something really horrible. If it was something serious but not inexcusable, Tschida overreacted.

UmpsRule said...

First off Tschida does not have a quick hook. You don't see him throw people out for no reason. Second, that was ridiculous that Kinsler is an ump-baiter that has now been ejected six times in his career! I agree some umps have quick hooks but seriously Kinsler was certainly out of line (I also understand the magic words). That Kinsler needs to realize that people didn't come to see him get picked off and they certainly didn't come to watch him hurt his team.

So why exactly are people going after Tschida here? It's blatantly obvious to me that Kinsler must have said the magic words. Consider the reputation of both involved. Or is that too much like being fair to the umpire?

Anonymous said...

Eric Cooper tossed Kinsler earlier this year arguing balls and strikes- appears to be the right call by one of the better umpires in the majors- looked like the right call on replay

Anonymous said...

And once again, it appears the cameras have failed to capture Tschida's elusive ejection mechanic.

Anonymous said...

Lets just say Kinsler didnt say any magic words which Im sure he probably did. Tschida could of just been having a bad day and did not want to be f*cked with.

Anonymous said...

Kinsler is too damn hot headed. He is an awesome second baseman and a good hitter, but he isn't half the ball player he thinks he is. Biggest reason he get paid what he does and gets the attention he does is because he brings a new fan base to the rangers, only because the young girls think he's cute.

Double Down for Donuts said...

Good call, but man, get some thicker skin Timmy!

Lee Ballanfant said...

In the Cardinal game it looks like they brought some kid in from the LL to umpire in the middle of the game. Is that same kind of a new promotion like the guest announcer one?

Anonymous said...

apparently cooper got sick right before the game, and john tumpane filled in but arrived a bit late...haven't seen john much this year, especially since his brutal call last year where price and maddon (i think) got tossed.

__root said...

I completely agree that Kinsler got picked. But let's be realistic here. 1st inning and only enough time to have said 1 or two words, and likely not even directed at Tschida directly. My interpretation was that there might have been an "Aw sh*t, or a son of a 'b' type comment (meant as disgust for his slow dive back to first) that perhaps Mr. Schida mis-heard as the magic words "bullsh**" which could have been construed as argumentative. I've seen Kinsler get hot headed, and this didn't look like that situation to me. No dirt kicking, smiling when he walked off. I don't think this was drama queen, I really think it was a misunderstanding.

It was a REALLY fast hook though! Fasted I've ever seen!

Anonymous said...

Kinsler said four or five words about being safe--pathetic umpiring.

Anonymous said...

John Tumpane worked his first game of the year at St. Louis. Last year he worked 68 games. Probably not a good sign that his work load has been almost entirely eliminated at the major league level.

Anonymous said...

I'll defend umps up and down the eastern seaboard, but this ejection is not defendable on visual evidence alone. There must be some audio information here to explain it.

__root said...

Kinsler is a clutch player, and I would say it's entirely arguable that this was a game changing event. I agree that the defence is lost with the audio. Unfortunately most of us fans will likely never know.

I do know that most ejections escalate past a little "sour grapes" muttered by the player.

But let's be realistic here. 1 loss to the Dead Sox is not really hurting the Rangers all that much. My money is on Kinsler knocking one out tomorrow and thanking the home plate up for the rest on his way to the dugout! AFTER touching home of course!

Anonymous said...

Commenter above surmised that it must have been a "misunderstanding". All you umpires need to chime in and make him understand no PROFESSIONAL umpire would ever eject someone on a misunderstanding.

Jasper said...

Upon watching the video and reading lips, Kinsler says something like "He got me here" pointing to his shoulder, Ian gets a response from off screen, probably from Tim. Ian responds with "Why you going to ???? me like that." I can't read lips well enough to know what the ???? was but Ian makes the insinuation that Tim made the call just to "get" him. Tim takes that (correctly I will add) as Ian accusing him of cheating/being crooked and a direct questioning of an umpire's integrity will get you run every time.
I would be more inclined to have a player stay after saying "You're horrible/horses^*t" then allowing them to stay after saying "You're a cheat", of course both would probably still be an ejection.

Anonymous said...

Tim gets his feelings hurt and sticks it to hundreds of fans who came to see Kinsler. Walks off thinking he's a BA. Legit.

BAPACop said...

@Anon 9:40: I'm getting tired of people trying to use that non-argument. We get it already. You think the players should be allowed to do whatever they want. It's not going to happen, so just stop already. Okay?

Bob Loblaw said...

@Anons

Please help me to make sure I have your veiwpoints straight. The ejection happens after Kinsler utters ONE sentence, so everyone ASSUMES that 26 year veteran Tim Tschida is out there making s*** up and ran Kinsler for no reason.... The quickness of the ejection completely rules out the posibility that that ONE sentence was probably something even guys in rookie ball know they're not allowed to say....THAT's the obvous conclusion...........
Wow.
You lowbrows never cease to amaze me.

tmac said...

It's funny ya ever wonder if the anons are one troll or perhaps two just trying to get you riled up.. doln't let it bother you!!

Great call great EJ.... CLown of a player who earlier this season got himself ejected with his team blowing out their opponent... definition of selfish.... Very talented player though....

Congrats to my boy John Tumpane for working his 1st MLB game this season... I hope they give him a few more John is a great guy but sadly he may not be one of the choosen ones!

Anonymous said...

"first off that was a blown call. u don't tag I guy on the shoulder he is safe!!! second thats ridiculous that umpire is an idiot and that was an embarrassment to him. I agree Ian can be a bit passionate but seriously that umpire was way to quick (my dad played professional baseball I understand the magc words) that umpire needs to realized that people didn't come to watch him!! and they certainly didn't come to watch him blow calls. he screwed the rangers and I would be surprised if Ian doesnt have a few more words for him tomorrow night when he is behind the plate"



This is pure gold. Whoever the Troll is that put this together should be given an award!! If somehow, someway this guy is real life....well, I guess Dec. 21st is looming!!

Anonymous said...

Yup, good for you bud. You're dad got a few A ball years under his belt, maybe a cup of coffee in AA or AAA and all of the sudden thay qualifies YOU (who has already blown his wad saying it was a blown call with the picture right in front of you, proving yourself wrong) to somehow feel you have the knowledge to comment on this EJ. You can't even get the call right sitting in your armchair looking at the freeze frame! There are a million more sites out there that you can go bitch about umpires on... go find one.

BAPACop said...

I hate to defend Anons that bad, but I can't not mention this...

The first time I saw this page the freeze-frame was not up. I don't know what time it was posted, but the next time I refreshed the page both the screen and the comment were now there.

It is therefore entirely possible the comment was made before the freeze-frame was added. Considering the post made four minutes later mentions the video replay and not the freeze-frame, I have to assume this is the case. Unless someone knows differently? I suppose TX Wrangler could have just not noticed the freeze-frame was added.

SJR said...

"I said something I was not supposed to say," Kinsler said. "I thought I was safe, he thought I was out. I said something I wasn't supposed to and he threw me out."

http://espn.go.com/blog/dallas/texas-rangers/post/_/id/4888381/ian-kinsler-i-said-something-i-wasnt-supposed-to-say
============================
There you go. Kinsler went fishing for an ejection by casting his bait and he got one.

Anonymous said...

Tschida has a career total of 85 ejections in a 27 year career and 12 of those ejections came from one game marred by a bean-ball war in 1998. Bottom line his career ejection rate is extremely low and Tschida is not known for having a quick hook or calling attention to himself. Kinsler stated after the game that he said something that he should not have said.

Mike said...

You're right BAPACOP, only the umpires are allowed to do whatever they want! Sounds like Kinsler admitted to screwing this one up though...

Dan said...

I just wanted to compliment two young umpires that I've seen in the Mets/Nationals series over the past two days, Alan Porter and David Rackley.

Porter is a regular fill-in guy, and Rackley was apparently filling in for Ron Kulpa on the Derryl Cousins crew. Porter had the plate on Monday night, Rackley had the plate last night, with knuckleballer R.A. Dickey on the mound, and I was very impressed with both guys. They both called solid games from what I could tell, and handled themselves well on the few occasions when they were questioned by players.

Good to see some good, young umpires making the most of their opportunities.

Russ said...

Here's Rackley's strike zone. Looks pretty solid to me. Keep in mind this is only his second plate job in the MLB this season.

http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/cache/zoneplot.php-pitchSel=all&game=gid_2012_07_24_wasmlb_nynmlb_1&sp_type=1&s_type=7.gif

wwjd said...

The only way u can say this is a blown call is if ur blinder than a blind person and evan the blind person would call kinsler out and the only person that should be embarrassed is u for being such a donkey

wwjd said...

The only way u can say this is a blown call is if ur blinder than a blind person and evan the blind person would call kinsler out and the only person that should be embarrassed is u for being such a donkey

wwjd said...

The only way u can say this is a blown call is if ur blinder than a blind person and evan the blind person would call kinsler out and the only person that should be embarrassed is u for being such a donkey

wwjd said...

The only way u can say this is a blown call is if ur blinder than a blind person and evan the blind person would call kinsler out and the only person that should be embarrassed is u for being such a donkey

wwjd said...

The only way u can say this is a blown call is if ur blinder than a blind person and evan the blind person would call kinsler out and the only person that should be embarrassed is u for being such a donkey

Anonymous said...

Challenge, buchholz balked. Moved towards first before he stepped off

Anonymous said...

You people crack me up. Tim clearly got the call right and you still have people come on here and bash him? Some of the comments I read on this site are just plain stupid

Anonymous said...

When disputing his ejection Kinsler was talking to Tshida an it looked like Tim said: "that was it" as if Kinsler was unsure about what words got him tossed

Zac said...

These trolls like "Mike" at 5:33 a.m. keep getting funnier! Keep it up guys, you're lack of knowledge about how the game works keeps shining through.

Gil Imber said...

This ruling has been challenged and is under review by the UEFL Appeals Board.

BAPACop said...

Whoa whoa whoa, wait a second. You can actually challenge based on that? The reason for ejection wasn't a balk/no-balk call, it was a safe/out call. Whether he balked or not is irrelevant, as that wasn't being argued.

You may have just set a horrible precedent by allowing that challenge.

Gil Imber said...

For better or for worse, UEFL Rule 6-5-e authorizes the "multi-QOC" determination challenge.

The Board will adjudicate two components for Appeal 32, Ejection 097: Tim Tschida (4): First, Appeal 32.1 is the standard Safe/Out QOC. Second, Appeal 32.2 is the Balk/No Balk QOC.

Rule 6-5-e allows the review in the absence of "overwhelmingly clear and convincing evidence to suggest one call was exclusively argued." In such an instance, review defers to call order, or, in this case, Balk/No Balk precedes Out/Safe.

BAPACop said...

Hmm... Kinsler motions to his arm as if to say "he tagged me up here" and doesn't look at, motion to, or say anything about the pitcher before he's ejected.

But I'm not in the league and it's your call whether or not you allow it.

Anonymous said...

We don't know what the ejection was for. Maybe kinsler said "that was a balk"... It would explain the quick hook

BAPACop said...

@Anon 8:25: We can read Kinsler's lips the entire time between the call and the ejection. At what point do you see him say "that was a balk"?

Anonymous said...

Hilarious quote from the Texas color commentator: "Ian doesn't argue excessively. I can't remember the last time he got kicked out of a game, that doesn't happen very often."

I guess he wasn't broadcasting the game on June 14, when Kinsler was ejected for arguing balls and strikes. Or the time in 2011 when he got ejected for arguing balls and strikes, or the time in 2010 when he was ejected for arguing balls and strikes. I can't find a list of all of his ejections, but I'm sure there have been others too.

Anonymous said...

You know nothing about the game then. Period.

UmpsRule said...

@ Anon 9:56

Who is that directed at?

Gil Imber said...

After review, the Original Ruling has been affirmed in a unanimous 6-0 decision by the UEFL Appeals Board. Six Appeals Board members elected to Confirm the Original Ruling.

Per Curiam Opinion:
The Board considers two components for Appeal 32, Ejection 097: Tim Tschida (4): First, Appeal 32.1 is the standard Safe/Out QOC. Second, Appeal 32.2 is the Balk/No Balk QOC.

Rule 6-5-e allows the review in the absence of "overwhelmingly clear and convincing evidence to suggest one call was exclusively argued." In such an instance, review defers to call order, or, in this case, Balk/No Balk precedes Out/Safe.

The Board finds no evidence of a balk; therefore this non-call is confirmed as having been correctly ruled. Second, the Board finds the Original Ruling of "Correct" in regards to the out call was proper. The runner was decidedly out.

Concurring Opinion, tmac:
I am confirming both the non-balk call and the out call.... The tag was applied before runner touched the bag.... The right handed pick off move to 1st on the professional level is complex.... MLB umpires do not nit pick balks and this is not one. The umpire who calls this will call 287 balks a year. It may be in all honesty the simulation of the start of a pitch for a rulebook lawyer BUT the supervisors and interpretation book which supercedes the rulebook in some/most/all?? instances will tell you this is not a balk.

The right handed pick off move has evolved from the no step to the leg break to the foot lift (spike show).

Therefore, the Board affirms the Original Ruling.

Confirmed: Jeremy, tmac, Albrtaumpire, BillMueller, RichMSN, yawetag
Upheld: None
Overturned: None
Deferred: None
Abstained: Gil (Posted Original Ruling)

The Original Ruling has been affirmed unanimously, 6-0.

Gil Imber said...

Exactly... I love watching his ejection mechanics... There actually kinda funny...

Post a Comment