Tuesday, October 30, 2012

UEFL Awards: Crew Chief of the Year: Jeff Kellogg

2012 UEFL Awards: Crew Chief of the Year: Jeff Kellogg (8)
Voting Results (min. 10%): Kellogg 15%, Gerry Davis 11%, Jim Joyce 10%, Tom Hallion 10%, Joe West 10%.

Jeff Kellogg is the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League's 2012 crew chief of the year. In his 20th MLB season, Kellogg finished 2012 with one ejection following zero ejections in 2011. Though some criticized Kellogg for his ejection of Dodgers manager Don Mattingly on July 25 (Ejection 099), others praised Kellogg for his charity work with crewmates Eric Cooper, D.J. Reyburn (AAA, for Tim Timmons) and Marty Foster (2012 UEFL "Worst Umpire of the Year") on behalf of Umps Care Charities. Kellogg was also lauded for tackling a fan who intruded upon the playing field at Baltimore's Camden Yards on April 27 and for an interference call during the 2012 NL Wild Card Game. Kellogg's NLWC crew also worked the ALCS round of the postseason.

Jeff Kellogg now has 11 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (10 Previous + 1 Award = 11).
The next postseason award, Honorable Umpires of the Year, will be released later today.


UmpsRule said...

What, you mean it wasn't Dale Scott?

Anonymous said...

With all the accolades Gerry Davis receives from this site and his peers... Would have thought he would have won it in a landslide .... Especially the parts about how he makes his crews better....

Post a Comment