Saturday, November 3, 2012

Zero: Offensive, Defensive Pass Interference on Same Play

Pass interference (PI) is illegal contact beyond the neutral zone that occurs after a legal forward pass is thrown (DPI), but before it has been touched by any player or an official (e.g., the umpire). During most plays, PI is committed by either the offense or the defense. During the following play, it was effected by both.

With 6:12 remaining in the third quarter and a 1st-and-10 at the TCU 26-yard line, TCU Horned Frogs quarterback Trevone Boykin attempted a pass intended for receiver Josh Boyce. While the ball was in the air, Boyce and West Virginia Mountaineers CB Pat Miller jockeyed for position, both players interfering with the other's attempt to field the football. Replays indicate both players appeared to grab the other's jersey and in doing so, Boyce was ruled to have failed to avoid his opponent and came into contact that interfered with the eligible defender (offensive PI) while Miller impeded an eligible receiver, preventing an opportunity of receiving a catchable forward pass (defensive PI), superceding the "bona fide attempt to reach, catch or bat the pass" exemption to pass interference as defined by Rules 7-3-8-b-2 (OPI) and 7-3-8-c-2 (DPI).

Because live-ball fouls by both teams were reported to Referee Scott Novak, the fouls offset and the down was repeated (Rule 10-1-4). At the time of the "no play," WVU was leading, 24-21. TCU ultimately won the contest, 39-38, on a two-point conversion in the second overtime period.

U: Kevin Matthews, H: Doug Moore, L: Frank LeBlanc, B: Lyndon Nixon, F: Nick Lave, S: Shane Standley.

Wrap: Texas Christian University (TCU) Horned Frogs vs. West Virginia Mountaineers, 11/3/12
Video: OPI & DPI, dual actions by opponents result in offsetting penalties, repeat from scrimmage (Soon)


Bob said...

That is not the definition of pass interference. Restrictions on the offense begin with the snap, not when the pass is thrown.

Anonymous said...

^ Isn't that what it says above referencing 7-3-8?

Jay said...

Good call, you rarely see something like that. Yes, it's true that OPI begins when the ball is put in play from scrimmage, though you clearly don't have OPI here until the players get tangled downfield. Rarely, though, do you actually get the OPI call at scrimmage simply because it's really tough to rule interference contact that early in a play.

Anonymous said...

Never seen this before, probably never again too. Rare is an understatement. Usually, when you see something like this happen, no flag is thrown at all, they sorta street-justice the thing and let the penalties cancel eachother out on the field itself by not calling either one. Then again, I hear two officials threw flags and had opposite calls. So I guess 10-1-4 requires offsetting enforcement because both judges (side/back I thought, maybe field, don't remember) "reported" to the white hat?

Post a Comment