Saturday, June 1, 2013

MLB Ejection 050: Vic Carapazza (1; Joe Girardi)

2B Umpire Vic Carapazza ejected Yankees Manager Joe Girardi for arguing an out call at second base in the bottom of the 5th inning of the Red Sox-Yankees game. With none out and one on, Yankees batter Ichiro Suzuki hit a 2-2 fastball from Red Sox pitcher Jon Lester on the ground to Lester, who threw to shortstop Stephen Drew covering second base, baserunner R1 David Adams out at second. Replays indicate Drew successfully caught Lester's wide throw while keeping his left foot in contact with second base, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Yankees were leading, 2-0. New York ultimately won the contest, 4-1.
Carapazza correctly rules "out" on the force.

This is Vic Carapazza (85)'s first ejection of 2013.
Vic Carapazza now has 4 points in the UEFL (0 + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Crew Chief Gary Cederstrom now has 1 point in the UEFL's Crew Division (0 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 1).

This is the 50th ejection of 2013.
This is the 24th Manager ejection of 2013.
This the Yankees' 1st ejection of 2013, 3rd in the AL East (TOR 5; TB 4; NYY 1; BAL 0, BOS 0).
This is Joe Girardi's first ejection since October 14, 2012 (Jeff Nelson; QOC = N).
This is Vic Carapazza's first ejection since August 17, 2012 (Mark Reynolds; QOC = N).
*Clawdad wins Prop #2013-04: Date of Carapazza's first ejection, with a response of June 1 (1 day off)*

Wrap: Boston Red Sox vs. New York Yankees, 5/31/13
Video: Carapazza rules Adams out at second, resulting in a sprint, discussion and ejection for Girardi (NYY)

24 comments :

Gil Imber said...

Girardi said post game that all he wanted was for Carapazza to ask for help on the play, but Carapazza said he had a good look at it.

Girardi also didn't know why he was ejected.

Gil Imber said...

Girardi: “From my viewpoint I thought (Drew) was off the bag. He was not, I was wrong. But all I wanted was to ask (Carapazza) to get help (from the other umpires).”

Gil Imber said...

God, what is this, Little League, where they want you to "get help" on every other call?
And he doesn't know why he was ejected? How about telling a first year umpire he's got to "get help" when the call is clearly right? And I bet ya Joe didn't just ask only once.

Gil Imber said...

Guaranteed that Vic told him to stop wagging his finger. When the hand gestures started again is when he got dumped. If joe can't figure that out, maybe he should have spent a little time in the minors where he would have learned that.

Gil Imber said...

I think Farrell left the game and into the clubhouse after yelling at Barksdale, who quite frankly was all over the map on both sides all night long.

Gil Imber said...

Can we see a plot for Barkdsdale. Watching the game he seemed very inconsistent .

Gil Imber said...

What a coincidence - the UEFL AL East standings are almost directly the inverse of the 'regular' standings...


At least Girardi got to spend the rest of the game in the air conditioned clubhouse...

Gil Imber said...

http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/cache/fastmap.php-pitchSel=all&game=gid_2013_05_31_bosmlb_nyamlb_1&sp_type=2&s_type=7.gif

http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/cache/fastmap.php-pitchSel=all&game=gid_2013_05_31_bosmlb_nyamlb_1&sp_type=3&s_type=7.gif

Gil Imber said...

On those strike zone plots what does the square and triangle mean, and what's red and green mean? I feel stupid for not knowing but I wanna know. Im assuming green is ball and red is strike but still not sure what what the square and triangle mean. Either way looked pretty inconsistent for lefty hitters especially. Also Girardi is a moron. That is all.

Gil Imber said...

Jason Hammel got ejected by Hunter Wendelstedt after hitting a batter with an 82 mph slider following back to back to back home runs.

Gil Imber said...

Also Lance Berkman got tossed by Todd Tichenor

http://gyazo.com/cb0ed77398063757e15017c48b28dc38

Gil Imber said...

Joe went out there to get run. That's why he got thrown out. Carapazza figured it out after he began to turn away and Joe followed him. This entire interaction was calculated and expertly handled on both sides.

Gil Imber said...

Based on AAA numbers this season, I think this could be the end of Estabrook's career: http://hardballtalk.nbcsports.com/2013/06/01/brewers-win-on-horrendous-call-by-umpire-mike-estabrook/

Gil Imber said...

I was gonna post this. You beat me to it.

Gil Imber said...

We also have ejections today from: Todd Tichenor tossed out Lance Berkman for arguing balls and strikes [Incorrect -- http://bit.ly/17KMGFW]. Hunter Wendelstedt tossed out Jason Hammel for 'intentional' HBP after giving up three consecutive homers [irrecusable].

Gil Imber said...

Oh, and Don Mattingly was ejected by Brian Knight on a catch/no catch call: http://bit.ly/119TrrH

Gil Imber said...

That's tough, real tough. Any umpire who thinks they're 100% sure they don't see this the same way is fooling himself. He's completely blocked.

Gil Imber said...

Rich, blocked for sure. But with Estabrook being a prominent call-up for the last couple of years and receiving very few assignments to date, you have to wonder what this does to his potential job status.

Gil Imber said...

I'm not sure it makes it any more bleak than it already appears to be.


There are a lot of guys who would benefit from crews expanding to 5 and having a replay official be one of the positions, Estabrook being one of them.

Gil Imber said...

And Fredi Gonzalez will become the fourth person to be ejected today, as he was just tossed out by Larry Vanover for arguing balls and strikes. Gonzalez thought Zimmerman should have been punched out on a 2-2 pitch.

Gil Imber said...

here the ab (he was arguing pitch number 6)

Gil Imber said...

Second time now where Knight has ejected someone on a call that Gerry Davis made. His ejection of Chip Hale, a call which was ruled by Davis, assumed that Hale was tossed for yelling from the dugout. And now today in which was a very confusing ejection to me. The commentators talked about all the umpires except Knight, yet he threw out Mattingly.

Gil Imber said...

Blocked, yes. But the "tag" was clearly made with the glove which is lifted into Estabrook's view. He then shows him the ball in his bare hand.


Absolutely impossible for a tag to be made and then have the ball presented the way it was.

Gil Imber said...

I agree he's blocked, but it doesn't matter here: The tag was made with the glove but the ball was in the bare hand. Since there weren't two baseballs, and there's not enough time to transfer the ball intentionally, obviously the fielder lost control of the ball.

Post a Comment