Wednesday, June 5, 2013

MLB Ejection 065: Tim Timmons (4; Bud Black)

1B Umpire Tim Timmons ejected Padres Manager Bud Black for arguing an out call in the top of the 8th inning of the Padres-Dodgers game. With one out and one on, Padres batter Chris Denorfia hit a 1-0 cutter
Timmons and Black share a difference of opinion.
from Dodgers pitcher Kenley Jansen on the ground to shortstop Hanley Ramirez, who threw to second baseman Mark Ellis to retire baserunner R1 Alexi Amarista at second base and onto first baseman Adrian Gonzalez as Denorfia arrived at first base. Replays indicate Gonzalez fielded the throw after to Denorfia's right foot first contacted the base, the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the Dodgers were leading, 9-7. The Dodgers ultimately won the contest, 9-7.

This is Tim Timmons (95)'s fourth ejection of 2013.
Tim Timmons now has 4 points in the UEFL (6 Previous + 2 MLB + -4 Incorrect Call = 4).
Crew Chief Mike Winters now has 4 points in the Crew Division (4 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 4).

This is the 65th ejection of 2013.
This is the 31st Manager ejection of 2013.
This the Padres' 2nd ejection of 2013, T-3rd in the NL West (LAD 5; ARI 4; SD, SF 2; COL 0).
This is Bud Black's first ejection since July 5, 2012 (Brian Knight; QOC = N).
This is Tim Timmons' first ejection since April 26 (Sanchez/Hurdle/Craig; QOC = U).

Wrap: San Diego Padres vs. Los Angeles Dodgers, 6/4/13
Video: Black argues the back-end of a double play to end the 8th and is ejected in the process (SD)

13 comments :

Gil Imber said...

Bang-bang play that could've gone either way. Can't fault Timmons for the call, or Black for being upset.

Gil Imber said...

My kingdom for a horse....with more apropos instant replay guidelines...

Gil Imber said...

Ouch. These type of plays are a lose-lose scenario for an umpire. Call him out and Black gets tossed, call him safe and Mattingly gets tossed.

Gil Imber said...

I knew we'd have an ejection during this series, I just thought it would be of the intentional bean ball or bench clearing brawl variety. Speaking of Carlos Quentin though, there was another banger at first base to end the game and Quentin threw his helmet in disgust. During the game, that's a clear ejection but postgame, I'm not sure Timmons noticed.

Gil Imber said...

Challenge. I cannot tell whether his foot was in contact with the bag upon receipt of the ball. It's too close. Almost looks like Timmons got this one right.

Gil Imber said...

This ruling has been challenged and is under review by the UEFL Appeals Board

Gil Imber said...

Watching it frame-by-frame, it appears his foot may have been down a millisecond before the ball was in the glove; however, at the angle I watched it Denorfia's head was blocking the glove at that particular point so it's almost impossible to tell for sure.

Gil Imber said...

When in doubt give an out.

Gil Imber said...

In re 065 Timmons 4

After review, the Original Ruling has been affirmed in a 4-0-0 decision by the UEFL Appeals Board. Three Appeals Board members voted to uphold the Original Ruling while one elected to confirm it.

Majority Opinion, BT_Blue:
Definitely a bang-bang play. To my mind, Gonzalez did not have full possession of the ball before DiNorfia hit the bag. I vote to Uphold as the video is not 100% clear. But clear enough for me not to overturn.

Concurring Opinion, Turducken:
I'll confirm. The foot contacted the base prior to the first baseman securing control of the baseball.

Therefore, the Board affirms the Original Ruling.

Confirmed: Turducken
Upheld: tmac, yawetag, BT_Blue
Overturned: -
Deferred: -
Abstained: Gil (posted Original Ruling), Jeremy (deployment), RichMSN (owns Timmons)

Gil Imber said...

You must have Timmons on you team?

Gil Imber said...

Recall that in present-day OBR, the batter-runner is required only to beat the out (7.01: Runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when he touches it before he is out), not the ball/fielder, while he is out when, after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base (6.05[j]). Transitively, our runner is not out until Fx tags it before B1's arrival; B1 has to beat only the out call; in order to get the out call, Fx has to beat B1.


The rule was reworded in 2010 to present the "tie goes to the runner" argument.

See: Rules 6.05(j), 7.01, 7.08(e): Tie Goes to the Runner.

Gil Imber said...

Timmons made a close call. However, this is not a close call http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=27810475&topic_id=vtp_must_c

Gil Imber said...

Hickox has a had a bad year. Some of his strike zones have been sub-standard at best.

Post a Comment