Saturday, May 25, 2013

MLB Ejection 042: Joe West (1; Ron Gardenhire)

2B Umpire Joe West ejected Twins Manager Ron Gardenhire for arguing an interference (out) call in the top of the 3rd inning of the Twins-Tigers game. With none out and two on, Twins batter Justin Morneau grounded
To Gardy, from Cowboy Joe: "You've gotta go."
a 1-0 curveball from Tigers pitcher Doug Fister to first baseman Prince Fielder, who threw to shortstop Jhonny Peralta at second base to Fister, covering first, for a double play. Interference was called on baserunner R1 Josh Willingham, who was ruled to have interfered with Peralta pursuant to Rule 7.09(e) as he slid into second base, requiring R2 Joe Mauer to return to second base, Gardenhire was ejected arguing this interference call. Replays indicate Willingham did not make a legitimate attempt to reach second base and in doing so, interfered with Peralta, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Twins were leading, 3-0. The Twins ultimately won the contest, 3-2.

This is Joe West (22)'s first ejection of 2013.
Joe West now has 4 points in the UEFL (0 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Crew Chief Joe West now has 1 point in the Crew Division (0 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 1).

This is the 42nd ejection of 2013.
This is the 20th Manager ejection of 2013.
This the Twins' 2nd ejection of 2013, T-1st in the AL Central (CLE, MIN 2; KC; CWS, DET 0).
This is Ron Gardenhire's first ejection since April 28 (Alfonso Marquez; QOC = Y).
This is Joe West's first ejection since August 5, 2012 (Jim Leyland; QOC = U).

15 comments :

Gil Imber said...

Challenge. Willingham could have touched second base from where he slid, so it couldn't have been deliberate.

Gil Imber said...

Challenge. Challenge everything. Challenge the challenge.


It's getting ridiculous this season.

Gil Imber said...

Could have and tried to are two diffent things. Your request for a challenge is stupid. West nailed this!

Gil Imber said...

since when has a player been required to try and reach for the base? Maybe by the letter of the law, but it is never called that way.

Gil Imber said...

I guess the QOC is determined strictly by rule, rather than the commonly accepted practice -- because there are much more egregious violations of this rule that regularly don't get called interference.

Gil Imber said...

If the call is correct according to the rules of baseball then the call is correct.

Gil Imber said...

I wish this would get called more often.

Gil Imber said...

How badly did you have to torture your logic to end up with that reasoning?

Gil Imber said...

Just because it isn't called doesn't mean it isn't illegal. It just means it isn't called.

Gil Imber said...

he turns his back to protect himself so he doesn't get a spike in the eye

Gil Imber said...

It has to be obvious. My argument is simple: he doesn't veer out of his way to disrupt the double play attempt because he's within the vicinity of the bag.

Gil Imber said...

Amen. I have never understood why this doesn't get more strictly enforced.

Gil Imber said...

This ruling has been challenged and is under further review by the UEFL Appeals Board.

Gil Imber said...

Willingham's slide was not towards bag, it was towards the fielder. That is why it is interference. Good call by Joe!

Gil Imber said...

Not a bad call, but other umpires need to start calling it as well. Takes guts to make that call, and we know Joe has plenty of that!



Of course Joe (with AH) is the only person I have seen call a balk against Mark Buerhle so what the hell do I know!

Post a Comment