Saturday, June 4, 2011

Case Plays: Cop on Field

This Case Play has been completed. Congratulations to UEFL League Members TonyTheRed, RichMSN, kickersrule, ump_24, and cyclone14 for correctly answering the posted scenario. The correct response is:

(a) B1/BR1 is out at second base on the tag. Unintentional interference by authorized personnel, such as uniformed security or law enforcement officers, as shown in the video, results in a live ball with no penalty under Rule 3.15. Play resumes with one out and B2 at bat. B1 is credited with a single and the out is recorded as 9-6.

1 Point Added to:
cyclone14 is now in 2nd place in the UEFL with 14 points.
ump_24 is now tied for 3rd place in the UEFL with 12 points.
TonyTheRed is now tied for 8th place in the UEFL with 10 points.
kickersrule is now tied for 16th place in the UEFL with 8 points.
RichMSN is now in 17th place in the UEFL with 7 points.

Thank you for participating in this Case Play and congratulations to all participants, who responded with at least partial correctness. Stay tuned for further Case Plays. The original Case Play post has been reproduced below.

Pursuant to UEFL Rule 4.f., this Case Play is open for 48 hours from the time of this post (6/1/11 at 1:15AM). During this time, all Case Play responses will remain in moderation (screened or invisible) until the 48 hour submission period is closed. To receive full point(s) credit, you must answer the following scenario correctly, including any relevant MLB Rule(s) and all relevant results of the play after applying said rule(s).

Video: Cop's funny blunder

Using the Official Baseball Rules (OBR), please answer the following scenario:

Prior to the top of the 1st inning, the home team positions a police officer on the right field warning track, in fair territory. As the first pitch of the game is thrown, the officer, unaware of the game situation, remains on the track, facing the outfield stands and with his back towards home plate. B1 hits the 0-0 pitch to right field in the area of the officer, who is only now aware of the situation. The ball bounces once in front of the officer, strikes him in the back of the leg as he is attempting to avoid touching the ball, whereupon which the ball deflects to F9, who throws to F6 and easily retires B1 at second base. (a) What is the call and how will play resume (who is at bat, what is the out and baserunner situation)? Does it matter that the officer tried to avoid getting hit by the ball? It is quite clear that the officer did not intentionally make contact with the batted ball for the purposes of this scenario. (1pt for [a])

Consult the UEFL Rulebook for further information regarding Rule 4.f and Case Plays.


Anonymous said...


3.15 -- For unintentional interference, the ball is alive and in play.

The BR is out, the bases are empty, 1 out, B2 comes to the plate.

The comment in the rules mentions that the basis of the player's actions shall govern -- because he did not intentionally make contact with the batted ball, it's not intentional interference by 3.15 (which would require the umpire to kill play and make whatever award/penalties he deemed appropriate).

ump_24 said...

Officers of the law are considered authorized occupants of the playing surface; as such, if they unintentionally interfere with the play, you "play the bounce"

In the case play, the out on B1 stands. 1 out, B2 is up to hit with a 0-0 count.

If the officer intentionally interfered (such as picking up a fair ball, thinking it was foul), then you have a different set of circumstances.

Anonymous said...

I am having trouble signing in so this is kickersrule...R1 is out at 2nd the next batter comes to bat with no one on and one out. The cop is part of play and since he did not intentionally interfear the ball is live.

cyclone14 said...

This is considered unintentional interference by a person authorized to be on the playing field, under Rule 3.15. As per the rule, the ball remains alive and in play, and therefore, B1 is out at second. Had the interference been intentional, the ball would be dead immediately and the umpires would place the baserunners in a way to nullify the act of the interference.

Tony Hendrix said...

per 3.15, the ball is alive and in play. The runner is out. (Typically, there will also be an ejection or two to report in the UEFL :-)

Post a Comment