Saturday, April 6, 2013

MLB Ejection 001: CB Bucknor (1)

2B Umpire CB Bucknor ejected Indians pitcher Matt Albers for a repeat visit argument of a safe call in the bottom of the 6th inning of the Indians-Rays game. With none on and none out, Rays batter Yunel Escobar hit a 3-2 curveball from Albers to center fielder Michael Bourn for a hit, Escobar attempting to reach second base as Bourn threw to second baseman Jason Kipnis. Replays indicate Kipnis' glove appeared to tag Escobar's foot prior to reaching second base; however, since Indians Manager Terry Francona argued the call with Bucknor immediately following the play and Albers was ejected arguing the same play three outs later, this constitutes a repeat visit ejection under UEFL Rule 6-2-5-b, also known as the DiMuro Rule, the call was irrecusable. At the time of the ejection, the Rays were leading, 3-0. The Rays ultimately won the contest, 6-0.

This is CB Bucknor (54)'s first ejection of 2012.
CB Bucknor now has 2 points in the UEFL (0 Previous + 2 MLB + 0 Irrecusable = 2).
Crew Chief Dale Scott now has 1 point in the UEFL's Crew Division (0 Previous + 1 Irrecusable = 1).
^Though this ejection is absent from the official box score, Rule 7-2 allows UEFL to correct obvious errors.

UEFL Standings Update

This is the 1st ejection of the 2013 regular season.
This is the 1st player ejection of 2013.
This is the Indians' 1st ejection of 2013, 1st in the AL Central (CLE 1; CWS, DET, KC, MIN 0)
This is Matt Albers' first career ejection.
This is CB Bucknor's first ejection since August 29, 2012 (Bryce Harper; QOC = Correct).

Wrap: Cleveland Indians at Tampa Bay Rays, 4/6/13
Video: Albers ejected arguing Bucknor's safe call at second in the top of the sixth frame

24 comments :

Gil Imber said...

This is about the most nonchalant ejection I've seen in a while, it's like something you'd see in Spring Training, very ho-hum. As for the call itself, CB, you nailed a beauty in Cincinnati with Pujols...but lightning didn't quite strike twice here, try as he might, Escobar didn't quite avoid that tag.

Gil Imber said...

I don't thin there was an actual ejection here. Watching the Rays telecast they said they were surprised there was no ejection and the Indians telecast also said there was no ejection so I think the video might be labeled wrong. Albers was demonstrative enough to deserve an ejection though. I'm also not so sure Biucknor missed this one. He might have but it is impossible to tell and Kipinis did a bad job applying the tag, you need to make it more obvious that you got him. The cameras in Tampa are horrible. This is the second call in 3 days that replays don't show any good angle on a controversial play

Gil Imber said...

The broadcast in the link video says he was ejected.

Gil Imber said...

I should have clarified. I do realize they say he was ejected but watching this feed on MLB.TV they retracted their statement shortly after and said Albers was not ejected and the Rays announcers echoed those sentiments. I will certainly coninue to look at the Box Score to see if it changes because Albers actions were enough to get him tossed but I am pretty sure he was not tossed.

Gil Imber said...

He was out. Got tagged right in the foot but bucknor has his view blocked when that happened so he assumed he missed the tag. As far as the ejection he probably went in the dugout and saw the reply and then started to bitch. Im glad I never have to deal with that as an umpire. Its easy to bitch after a replay.

Gil Imber said...

I don't see anywhere on the box scores where it is showing an ejection. Can we get an official ruling on that?

Gil Imber said...

You should read this article.... I think this makes it official



http://mlb.mlb.com/news/article.jsp?ymd=20130406&content_id=44062584&notebook_id=44103816&vkey=notebook_cle&c_id=cle

Arik said...

This is aweful all the way around. And none of it has to do with CB.

We have no clue if Kipnis ACTUALLY put a tag on thanks to no decent video replay and no video if CB actually did in fact run Albers. By the way... I agree completely with one of the above comments. Kipnis does an aweful job of selling his tag!

inconclusiveall the way around.

Gil Imber said...

Love it when players do this. Albers gave up the clean single in the first place. Call was definitely missed, but it happens. Not like Albers put the guy out anyways.

Gil Imber said...

Arik, this is not inconclusive. Spike hits the glove before the spike makes contact with the base. The call is incorrect. Deeming that I find this incorrect, I challenge the QOC on the notion on 6-2-5.

Gil Imber said...

I think C.B. got caught off guard that the B/R extended the play. Looked like he was a tad late getting over, and just a bit out of position. At least C.B. did a solid job in selling the call.

Gil Imber said...

Box score still doesn't list the ejection, and I didn't see any ejection mechanic in the videos. What's the official source for whether this is really an ejection? Maybe bucknor knew he missed it badly and let albers off without an EJ.

Gil Imber said...

interting call in the mets-marlins game. what do you think?

http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=26053525&c_id=mlb&topic_id=vtp_opening_week

Gil Imber said...

These announcers are clueless. Buck was making an attempt on a play at second base, which was hindered by the runner who just scored. Therefore, 7.09(c) comes into play, and the right call is made.

Gil Imber said...

or 7.09(e), sorry. Bad eyes!

Gil Imber said...

Looks like the correct call to me. Also an easy call I think

Gil Imber said...

After review, this ejection has been confirmed. Specifically, Albers was quoted as acknowledging his ejection: "First time I've ever been ejected. I usually don't say anything to an umpire. I just leave them alone. I'll probably go back to that strategy."

http://www.cleveland.com/tribe/index.ssf/2013/04/trevor_bauer_says_seven_walks.html

Gil Imber said...

After review, this ejection has been confirmed. Specifically, Albers was quoted as acknowledging his ejection: "First time I've ever been ejected. I usually don't say anything to an umpire. I just leave them alone. I'll probably go back to that strategy."

Gil Imber said...

This challenge has been summarily denied. Because Manager Terry Francona previously argued this call, Albers' post-inning ejection is deemed a repeat visit ejection pursuant to UEFL Rule 6-2-5-b. As 2011's Mike DiMuro (1, 2) demonstrated, a repeat visit reason-for-ejection shall be deemed Unsportsmanlike, and accordingly irrecusable, even if the original call is deemed wrong.

Gil Imber said...

Tough call, but he did get it (clearly) wrong. I wish this sort of thing did not happen to Bucknor as often as it does (argued call, ejection, etc.).

Gil Imber said...

The ejection is now listed in the box score, so that should end the argument

Gil Imber said...

Looks like they finally put the ejection in the box score.

Gil Imber said...

Nice find!

Gil Imber said...

This is a poor rule, unfortunately.

Post a Comment