Friday, April 18, 2014

MLB Ejection 011: Joe West (1; Cesar Cabral)

HP Umpire Joe West ejected Yankees pitcher Cesar Cabral for throwing at Rays batter Logan Forsythe in the bottom of the 8th inning of the Yankees-Rays game. With two out and two on, Forsythe took a 0-0 fastball from Cabral for a hit by pitch. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the inner edge of home plate and shoulder high, coming into contact with Forsythe's upper left arm as he attempted to avoid being hit by the pitched ball, the call was irrecusable. It was Cabral's third hit batsman in four batters. At the time of the ejection, the Rays were leading, 11-3. The Rays ultimately won the contest, 11-3.

This is Joe West (22)'s first ejection of the 2014 MLB Season.
Joe West now has 2 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Previous + 2 MLB + 0 Irrecusable = 2).
Crew Chief Joe West now has 2 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (1 Prev + 1 Irrecusable = 2).
Prop Prediction 1-5: Date of First Ejection for Throwing At/Fighting; Winner: toss 'em (4/19/14).

This is the 11th ejection of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is the 6th player ejection of 2014. Prior to ejection, Cabral's line was 0.0 IP, 3 R, H, 3 HBP.
This is the Yankees' 1st ejection of 2014, T-1st in the AL East (BOS, NYY 1; BAL, TB, TOR 0).
This is Cesar Cabral's first career MLB ejection.
This is Joe West's first ejection since September 13, 2013 (Matt Garza; QOC = U).

Wrap: New York Yankees vs. Tampa Bay Rays, 4/18/14
Video: Cabral drills three batters without an out to his name, drawing Cowboy Joe's ejection (NYY)

13 comments :

Gil Imber said...

The pitcher had no control whatsoever, but there was nothing to indicate he intentionally threw at the hitters. Under the basis of what rule did West eject him? Even the Rays announcers agreed that there was no intent, just wildness.

Gil Imber said...

Cabral got DFA'd after the game too, talk about a rough day.

Gil Imber said...

You guys need to add a category; "still can't get it $#@'ing right, but we stand by our brothers regardless"

Gil Imber said...

arpee the announcers are 99.9% of the time clueless about the rules of baseball!

Gil Imber said...

This s&@) is getting ridiculous. That's an out all day. They need to clean this interpretation up somehow. It makes them look stupid.

Gil Imber said...

Agreed... however, THREE HBPs IN FOUR BATTERS! WOW!

How long do you think it would have taken Girardi to get him out if West didnt do anything. Cowboy Joe just helped him along.

Gil Imber said...

I do not think that West ejected Cabral for intentionally throwing at the hitters. I believe that Joe was put in a situation where he had to make a decision. Cabral had no control and had hit 3 guys in the inning. Joe West had the choice of letting him continue to pitch or removing him and protecting the batters from potential injury. I believe that given the situation he made the right decision and removed Cabral rather than risk the next guy possibly getting hit in the head and being seriously injured.

Gil Imber said...

Not a baseball mind, here, so this is an honest question. Is Mr. West empowered under the rules to eject a pitcher for poor control, or would he clearly have to state (for example, in his documentation of the ejection) that he believed the pitcher had intent to hit the batter(s) with the pitch? Stated another way, did Mr. West substitute his own judgment (however sound) for the permissible actions under the rule, or was he TECHNICALLY within his jurisdiction as prescribed?

Thanks!

Gil Imber said...

If all else fails, 9.01(c)

Gil Imber said...

I agree and think it was more of a game management EJ then anything else. As I said earlier, who knows how long Girardi wouod take to get this kid out. It could have gotten ugly and the Cowboy decided that running this kid was the lesser of the evils.

Gil Imber said...

Read my reply to Eric below.

I feel that West decided that with the 3 HBPs in 4 batters, that the game could quickly get out of hand betwen two teams that will surely be competing with each other for the AL East title at the end of the season. By ejecting this poor young man, he may have saved the next crew, or the crew after that, from having to deal with retaliation later in the season.

Gil Imber said...

Link appears to not be working

Gil Imber said...

The video link isn't working. Also, replay overturned Barrett's *out* call, not his *safe* call as stated right now.

Post a Comment