Tuesday, July 8, 2014

Roster: 2014 MLB All-Star Game Umpires

MLB announced umpires for the 2014 All-Star Game on July 15 at Minnesota's Target Field, selecting a younger umpiring crew to join the young stadium for its inaugural Mid-Summer Classic. The umpires are:

HP Umpire Gary Cederstrom (crew chief): This is Cederstrom's second All-Star Game and first as its senior arbiter (2003, Chicago, Third Base). 2014 Ejections: 1 (6/11: 084, Terry Collins).

1B Umpire Jeff Nelson: Rookie regular season crew chief Jeff Nelson will officiate his second career All-Star Game (2006). 2014 Ejections: 2 (4/8: 001, Rick Renteria; 4/15: Phil Plantier).

2B Umpire Bob Davidson: Acting as a crew chief for the bereaved John Hirschbeck, Davidson enters the 2014 Mid-Summer Classic with the most All-Star Game experience, having officiated two previously, though none in the past 20 years (1987, 1993). 2014 Ejections: 3 (4/13: 005, John Farrell; 4/14: 006, Matt Carpenter; 6/9: 082, Mike Scioscia).

3B Umpire Scott Barry: This is Barry's first All-Star Game. 2014 Ejections: 0.

LF Umpire Todd Tichenor: This is Todd Tichenor's first All-Star Game. 2014 Ejections: 1 (6/4: 072, Rick Renteria).

RF Umpire Vic Carapazza: This is Vic Carapazza's first All-Star Game. 2014 Ejections: 4 (5/10: 038, Mike Maddux; 6/21: 099-100, Alex Rios & Michael Choice; 7/4: 112, Kevin Seitzer).

Replay Official Jerry Layne: (Obviously) his first All-Star Replay assignment.

Pursuant to UEFL Rule 2-2-a, all All-Star Game umpires will receive one League point for appearing in the contest while Cederstrom will receive two points for his role as crew chief. No points are awarded to the Replay Official (must "appear[] in that game").

MiLB All-Star Futures Game Umpires:
HP Umpire Travis Eggert (AAA, PCL), 1B Umpire Jansen Visconti (AA, Eastern League), 2B Umpire Nate White (AA, Texas League), 3B Umpire Matt McCoy (AA, Southern League). All will work the Home Run Derby while McCoy and White will officiate the Legends and Celebrity Softball Game.


Post a Comment