Thursday, July 31, 2025

Balk or Ball? When An Umpire Should Ignore a Balk

When is a balk not a balk? Umpires correctly called A's pitcher Jeffrey Springs for a no-stop balk during a 3-2 pitch to Mariners batter Julio Rodríguez, but awarding baserunner R1 Ben Williamson second base was only half of the equation. Instead of Rodríguez awarded first base on ball four (the pitch was low), the crew returned the batter to the plate, where he proceeded to strike out swinging on the next pitch.

We first note Official Baseball Rule 6.02(a)(13) pertaining to balks, which states, "If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when the pitcher delivers the pitch from Set Position without coming to a stop."

Because pitcher Springs failed to come to a complete stop while in Set Position, as in OBR 5.07(a)(2), 1B Umpire John Tumpane was correct to call out "balk" when the infraction occurred.

OBR 6.02(a) continues, specifying the penalty for a balk violation: "The ball is dead, and each runner shall advance one base without liability to be put out, unless the batter reaches first on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, in which case the play proceeds without reference to the balk."

Although the ball ultimately becomes dead on a balk, if the pitcher pitches, that pitch may still count, as long as it results in the batter-runner reaching first base and all other runners advancing at least one base.

In this situation, the pitch missed low for ball four, which meant that runner R1 Williamson would have been forced to advance to second base, by virtue of batter Rodríguez becoming a runner on the base-on-balls.

But instead of applying the "play proceeds without reference to the balk" portion of the penalty due to both batter and runner advancing at least one base, the umpires enforced the base award for the runner and returned the batter to home plate, where he proceeded to strike out instead of taking his base.

Video as follows:

Wednesday, July 30, 2025

MLB Ejection 112 - Ryan Additon (1; Miguel Cairo)

HP Umpire Ryan Additon ejected Nationals interim manager Miguel Cairo (ball three call; QOCY) in the top of the 6th inning of the #Nationals-#Astros game. With one out and one on, Astros batter Cooper Hummel took a 2-2 curveball from Nationals pitcher MacKenzie Gore for a called third ball before hitting the next pitch for a two-run home run. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer edge of home plate and above the midpoint (px 0.75, pz 3.30 [sz_top 3.15 / RAD 3.27]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Astros were leading, 6-1. The Astros ultimately won the contest, 9-1.

This is Ryan Additon (67)'s 1st ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.32 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 112th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 60th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 60 Managers, 19 Coaches, 33 Players.
This is Washington's 4th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL East (WAS 4; MIA, NYM 3; ATL, PHI 1).
This is Miguel Cairo's 1st ejection since July 11, 2024 (Chad Fairchild; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Ryan Additon's 1st ejection since April 29, 2024 (Pat Murphy; QOC = Y [Backswing INT]).

Tuesday, July 29, 2025

MLB Ejection 111 - Nick Mahrley (1; David Popkins)

HP Umpire Nick Mahrley ejected Blue Jays hitting coach David Popkins (strike one call to Tyler Heineman; QOCY) in the top of the 7th inning of the #BlueJays-#Orioles game. With none out and none on, Blue Jays batter Heineman took a 2-0 fastball from Orioles pitcher Keegan Akin for a called first strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the heart of home plate and at the hollow beneath the knee (px -0.15, pz 1.36 [sz_bot 1.46 / RAD 1.34]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 2-2. The Orioles ultimately won the contest, 3-2.

This is Nick Mahrley (48)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.20 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 111th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 19th coach ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 59 Managers, 19 Coaches, 33 Players.
This is Toronto's 5th ejection of 2025, 3rd in the AL East (NYY 10; BOS 6; BAL, TOR 5; TB 3).
This is David Popkins' 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since April 30 (Derek Thomas; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Nick Mahrley's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since May 18 (Joe Espada; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Monday, July 28, 2025

MLB Ejection 110 - Emil Jimenez (1; Carlos Mendoza)

HP Umpire Emil Jimenez ejected Mets manager Carlos Mendoza (strike two call to Juan Soto; QOCN) in the top of the 3rd inning of the #Mets-#Padres game. With one out and one on, Mets batter Soto took a 2-1 knuckle curve from Padres pitcher Dylan Cease for a called second strike before striking out looking on a 3-2 pitch. Replays indicate the pitch ruled strike two was located off the outer edge of home plate and thigh-high (px -1.02, pz 2.63), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Mets were leading, 1-0. The Padres ultimately won the contest, 7-6.

This is Emil Jimenez (82)'s 1st ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.27 horizontal inches from being deemed correct.

This is the 110th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 59th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 59 Managers, 18 Coaches, 33 Players.
This is New York's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL East (MIA, NYM, WAS 3; ATL, PHI 1).
This is Carlos Mendoza's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since July 6 (John Bacon; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Emil Jimenez's 1st ejection since August 18, 2024 (Mark Kotsay; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Saturday, July 26, 2025

MLB Ejection 109 - Lance Barrett (3; Jon Jay)

HP Umpire Lance Barrett ejected Cardinals coach Jon Jay (fighting/instigation) in the top of the 9th inning of the #Padres-#Cardinals game. With two out and one on, Padres batter Manny Machado took a 0-2 fastball from Cardinals pitcher Andre Granillo for a hit-by-pitch, resulting in a benches-clearing incident. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the inner edge of home plate and struck Machado above the shoulders, warnings had previously been issued, the call was irrecusable. At the time of the ejection, the Padres were leading, 3-1. The Padres ultimately won the contest, 3-1.

This is Lance Barrett (94)'s 3rd ejection of 2025.

This is the 109th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 18th coach ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 58 Managers, 18 Coaches, 33 Players.
This is San Diego's 7th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL West (SD 7; ARI, SF 4; LAD 3; COL 1).
This is Jon Jay's first career MLB ejection.
This is Lance Barrett's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since May 1 (Dustin Kelly; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

MLB Ejection 108 - Willie Traynor (1; Terry Francona)

HP Umpire Willie Traynor ejected Reds manager Terry Francona (ball three call to Josh Lowe; QOCN) in the top of the 7th inning of the #Rays-#Reds game. With one out and two on, Rays batter Josh Lowe took a 2-2 cutter from Reds pitcher Graham Ashcroft for a called third ball, before hitting an RBI single. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and below the midpoint (px -0.62, pz 3.56 [sz_top 3.67 / RAD 3.79 / MOE 3.71]), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 2-2. The Reds ultimately won the contest, 6-2.

This is Willie Traynor (45)'s 1st ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 3.53 horizontal or 1.80 vertical inches from being deemed correct.

This is the 108th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 58th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 58 Managers, 17 Coaches, 33 Players.
This is Cincinnati's 4th ejection of 2025, 2nd in the NL Central (CHC 6; CIN, PIT, STL 4; MIL 2).
This is Terry Francona's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since May 28 (Carlos Torres; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Willie Traynor's first career MLB ejection.

Wednesday, July 23, 2025

MLB Ejections 106-7 - Manny Gonzalez (1-2; NYY x2)

HP Umpire Manny Gonzalez ejected Yankees manager Aaron Boone and pitching coach Matt Blake (strike three call to Anthony Volpe; QOCN) in the top of the 7th inning of the #Yankees-#BlueJays game. With one out and none on, Yankees batter Volpe took a 1-2 sinker from Blue Jays pitcher Chris Bassitt for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the heart of home plate and above the midpoint (px 0.05, pz 3.73 [sz_top 3.41 / RAD 3.53 / MOE 3.61]), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejections, the Blue Jays were leading, 6-4. The Blue Jays ultimately won the contest, 8-4.

These are Manny Gonzalez (79)'s 1st and 2nd ejections of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.44 vertical inches from being deemed correct.

These are the 106th and 107th ejection reports of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 17th coach ejection of 2025.
This is the 57th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 57 Managers, 17 Coaches, 33 Players.
This is New York's 9/10th ejection of 2025, 3rd in the AL East (NYY 10; BOS 6; BAL 5; TOR 4; TB 3).
This is Matt Blake's 1st ejection since July 11, 2024 (Edwin Moscoso; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Aaron Boone's 4th ejection of 2025, 1st since June 13 (John Tumpane; QOC = Y [Replay Review]).
This is Manny Gonzalez's 1st ejection since August 13, 2024 (George Springer; QOC = N [Replay]).

MLB Ejections 104-5 - Erich Bacchus (1-2; LAA x2)

HP Erich Bacchus ejected Angels interim manager Ray Montgomery (strike three call to Luis Rengifo; QOCN) in the top and coordinator of run production Tim Laker (ball one call to Luis Torrens; QOCY) in the bottom of the 8th inning of the #Angels-#Mets game. In the top of the 8th, with two out and two on, Angels batter Rengifo took called first, second, and third strikes from Mets pitcher Edwin Diaz. Replays indicate none of the called strikes to Rengifo were located within the strike zone (px values 1.11, -1.00, and -1.04), the call was incorrect.* In the bottom, Mets batter Luis Torrens took a 0-1 slider from Angels pitcher Jake Eder for a called first ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the plate, the call was correct. At the time of the ejections, the Mets were leading, 6-3. The Mets ultimately won the contest, 6-3.

These are Erich Bacchus (12)'s 1st and 2nd ejections of 2025.
*These pitches were located outside, the closest 1.03 inches from QOCY & the farthest 2.35" away.

These are the 104th and 105th ejection reports of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 16th coach ejection of 2025.
This is the 56th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 56 Managers, 16 Coaches, 33 Players.
This is LA's 4/5th ejection of 2025, 1st in the AL West (LAA 5; OAK, TEX 3; SEA, 2; HOU 1).
This is Ray Montgomery's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since July 7 (Brock Ballou; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Tim Laker's 1st ejection since August 21, 2024 (Mike Estabrook; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Erich Bacchus' 1st ejection since August 21, 2024 (Mark Kotsay; QOC = Y [Replay Review]).

Tuesday, July 22, 2025

Narváez Called for CI for 2nd Day in a Row - Balk Too!

Called for catcher's interference one day earlier, Red Sox catcher Carlos Narváez again committed CI, this time with a side of balk as HP Umpire Edwin Jimenez ruling he stepped in front of the back edge of home plate prior during a pitch and prior to receiving the ball as Phillies runner Bryce Harper looked to steal home plate.

Catcher's interference is defined more broadly as defensive interference in the Official Baseball Rules: "an act by a fielder that hinders or prevents a batter from hitting a pitch." In high school (NFHS), catcher's interference is called catcher's obstruction, as NFHS defensive interference is specifically an act that occurs prior to the pitch.

Official Baseball Rule 6.01(g) directly addresses this case of the so-called catcher's balk: "If, with a runner on third base and trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a steal, the catcher or any other fielder steps on, or in front of home base without possession of the ball, or touches the batter or their bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk, the batter shall be awarded first base on the interference and the ball is dead."

Video as follows:

Phillies Win on Walk-Off Catcher's Interference

A walk-off win due to catcher's interference in Philadelphia left some Boston fans perplexed as Phillies batter Edmundo Sosa's bat made contact with Red Sox catcher Carlos Narváez during a 2-2 pitch, HP Umpire Quinn Wolcott announcing Replay Review's verdict over the stadium PA much to the delight of the home crowd. Because the bases were loaded at the time of the interference, all runners advanced and the tied game ended in the 10th inning.

Catcher's interference is defined more broadly as defensive interference in the Official Baseball Rules: "an act by a fielder that hinders or prevents a batter from hitting a pitch." In high school (NFHS), catcher's interference is called catcher's obstruction, as NFHS defensive interference is specifically an act that occurs prior to the pitch.

OBR 6.01(c) specifies the penalty for catcher's interference: "The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided they advance to and touches first base) when the catcher or any fielder interferes with them."

It is a rules myth that the batter must actually legitimately swing for catcher's interference to be called. For instance, catcher's interference also occurs when a catcher steps on or across home plate prior to the pitch's arrival, whether or not the batter actually swings at the pitch. Instead, catcher's interference occurs when the catcher's physical positioning (of body and/or glove/mitt) deprives the batter of the opportunity to choose whether to swing or not.

Because batter Sosa is said to have been deprived of this freedom of choice by virtue of the bat-mitt contact, the Replay Official overturned the on-field no-call and awarded the interference penalty, resulting in a walk-off win.

Video as follows:

Monday, July 21, 2025

MLB Ejection 103 - Phil Cuzzi (2; Ryan O'Hearn)

3B Umpire Phil Cuzzi ejected Orioles 1B Ryan O'Hearn (check swing strike three call) in the top of the 9th inning of the #Orioles-#Guardians game. With none out and none on, Orioles batter O'Hearn attempted to check his swing on a 1-2 slider from Guardians pitcher Hunter Gaddis, ruled a ball by HP Umpire Dan Bellino and called a swinging strike on appeal by 3B Umpire Cuzzi. At the time of the ejection, the Guardians were leading, 10-5. The Guardians ultimately won the contest, 10-5.

This is Phil Cuzzi (10)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.

This is the 103rd ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 33rd player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 55 Managers, 15 Coaches, 33 Players.
This is Baltimore's 5th ejection of 2025, 3rd in the AL East (NYY 8; BOS 6; BAL 5; TOR 4; TB 3).
This is Ryan O'Hearn's 1st ejection since August 21, 2024 (Marvin Hudson; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Phil Cuzzi's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since May 26 (Javier Báez; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Sunday, July 20, 2025

MLB Ejection 102 - Chad Whitson (2; Justin Verlander)

HP Umpire Chad Whitson ejected Giants bench player/pitcher Justin Verlander (strike calls to Brett Wisely; QOCN) in the top of the 6th inning of the #Giants-#BlueJays game. With two out and one on, Giants batter Wisely took a 2-0 fastball and 3-1 curveball from Blue Jays pitcher Braydon Fisher, ruled strikes one and two. Replays indicate the 2-0 pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and belt high (px -0.92, pz 3.23 [sz_top 3.38]) and the 3-1 pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and thigh high (px -0.97, pz 2.49), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Blue Jays were leading, 7-4. The Blue Jays ultimately won the contest, 7-6.

This is Chad Whitson (61)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
*The 2-0 pitch was located 0.02 & the 3-1 was 0.67 horizontal inches from being deemed correct.

This is the 102nd ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 32nd player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 55 Managers, 15 Coaches, 32 Players.
This is San Francisco's 4th ejection of 2025, 2nd in the NL West (SD 6; ARI, SF 4; LAD 3; COL 1).
This is Justin Verlander's 1st ejection since August 27, 2019 (Pat Hoberg; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Chad Whitson's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 2 (Barry Enright; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

MLB Ejections 100-1 - James Hoye (3-4; BAL x2)

HP Umpire James Hoye ejected Orioles RF Rámon Laureano and interim manager Tony Mansolino (check swing strike three call by 1B Umpire John Libka) in the top of the 3rd inning of the #Orioles-#Rays game. With one out and one on, Orioles batter Laureano attempted to check his swing on a 1-2 cutter from Rays pitcher Ryan Pepiot, ruled a ball by HP Umpire Hoye and called a swinging third strike on appeal by 1B Umpire Libka. At the time of the ejection, the Orioles were leading, 4-0. The Orioles ultimately won the contest, 5-3.
  
These are James Hoye (92)'s 3rd and 4th ejections of 20255.
*This pitch was located 1.02 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.

These are the 100th and 101st ejection reports of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 31st player ejection of 2025.
This is the 55th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 55 Managers, 15 Coaches, 31 Players.
This is Baltimore's 4th ejection of 2025, 3rd in the AL East (NYY 8; BOS 6; BAL, TOR 4; TB 3).
This is Rámon Laureano's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since May 14 (Jame Hoye; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Tony Mansolino's first career MLB ejection.
This is James Hoye's 3/4th ejection of 2025, 1st since May 14 (Ramon Laureano; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes])

Friday, July 18, 2025

Little Turf Means It's a Trap & Tag Attempt Base Path Plays

Consecutive plays confused Tigers manager AJ Hinch as Replay upheld a no catch/trap call on Rangers batter Kyle Higashioka's line drive to Riley Greene before 2B Umpire Alfonso Márquez ruled an out of the base path infraction did not occur when runner Higashioka avoided Detroit fielder Javier Báez's tag attemp on Jonah Heim's ground ball, resulting in an error. Let's review.

We begin with one out and none on in the bottom of the 3rd inning with Higashioka's line drive to left fielder Greene, ruled no catch by 3B Umpire Carlos Torres and challenged by Detroit. Replay Review returned a "call stands" verdict, deeming that video evidence was not clear or convincing to suggest the call's quality of correctness. 

The TV broadcast pondered what would happen if half of the ball was cleanly caught by the glove while the other half bounced off the turf. The Official Baseball Rules' definition of catch states, "A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in their hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing they do not use their cap, protector, pocket or any other part of their uniform in getting possession."

Because "IN FLIGHT describes a batted, thrown, or pitched ball which has not yet touched the ground or some object other than a fielder," a half-glove, half-ground situation would not qualify as a catch.

On the very next play, Rangers batter Heim hit a ground ball to Báez, who attempted to tag baserunner R1 Higashioka before ultimately throwing to first base (an overthrow for an error). 2B Umpire Márquez ruled R1 Higashioka did not run out of his base path, explaining to a befuddled manager Hinch there was no tag attempt.

Although replays indicate there actually was a tag attempt later in the sequence, OBR 5.09(b)(1) states, "Any runner is out when they run more than three feet away from their base path to avoid being tagged unless their action is to avoid interference with a fielder fielding a batted ball. A runner’s base path is established when the tag attempt occurs and is a straight line from the runner to the base they are attempting to reach safely."

Because the runner already ran to the right field side of the baseline between first and second base prior to the fielder's tag attempt, R1's base path was established from this point and, therefore, he did not run more than three feet away from his base path to avoid the tag (even if he ran more than three feet away from the baseline...just not his personal base path).

Video as follows:

Sunday, July 13, 2025

MLB Ejection 099 - Brennan Miller (2; Oliver Marmol)

HP Umpire Brennan Miller ejected Cardinals manager Oliver Marmol (ball three call to Jurickson Profar; QOCY) in the top of the 9th inning of the #Braves-#Cardinals game. With none out and one on, Braves batter Profar took a 2-2 slider from Cardinals pitcher Ryan Helsley for a called third ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and above the midpoint (px -0.41, pz 3.47 [sz_top 3.34 / RAD 3.46]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Cardinals were leading, 5-4. The Cardinals ultimately won the contest, 5-4.
  
This is Brennan Miller (55)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.02 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 99th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 54th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 54 Managers, 15 Coaches, 30 Players.
This is St Louis' 4th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL Central (CHC 6; PIT, STL 4; CIN 3; MIL 2).
This is Oliver Marmol's 4th ejection of 2025, 1st since May 23 (Ron Kulpa; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Brennan Miller's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since March 31 (Rickie Weeks; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

MLB Ejection 098 - Tripp Gibson (2; John Schneider)

HP Umpire Tripp Gibson ejected Blue Jays manager John Schneider (Replay Review decision that upheld 3B Umpire Brian Walsh's foul ball [no home run] call) in the top of the 5th inning of the #BlueJays-#Athletics game. With two outs and none on, Blue Jays batter Davis Schneider hit a 0-0 cutter from A's pitcher Jeffrey Springs for a fly ball beyond the left field corner, out of the playing field in air, originally ruled a foul ball by 3B Umpire Walsh and upheld as foul/no HR ("call stands") as a result of a challenge by Blue Jays manager Schneider. Replays do not conclusively present clear and convincing evidence to suggest whether this ball was foul or fair, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the A's were leading, 4-0. The A's ultimately won the contest, 6-3.
  
This is Tripp Gibson (73)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
*The Replay Official's decision of call stands was correct.

This is the 98th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 53rd manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 53 Managers, 15 Coaches, 30 Players.
This is Toronto's 4th ejection of 2025, 3rd in the AL East (NYY 8; BOS 6; TOR 4; BAL, TB 3).
This is John Schneider's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since April 27 (Chris Conroy; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Tripp Gibson's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 17 (Dave Roberts; QOC = U [Warnings]).

Red Sox Score Tie-Breaking Run on Obstruction vs Rays

3B Umpire Scott Barry's obstruction call on Rays third baseman Junior Caminero for base blocking broke a 0-0 tie, giving Boston a lead when Red Sox runner Marcelo Mayer found himself seemingly picked off by Tampa Bay catcher Matt Thaiss, only for umpire Barry to quickly reverse course and rule that Caminero impeded baserunner Mayer's return to third base due to improper footing.

The Official Baseball Rules define obstruction as "the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner."

Although Rays fielder Caminero was indeed in the act of fielding at the time of obstruction (by virtue of preparing to receive the throw), umpires ruled that he did not need to block the base in order to do so. Because Caminero blocked the base voluntarily and outside the scope of simply fielding the ball/throw, obstruction was the proper call.

Official Baseball Rule 6.01(h)(1) prescribes the penalty for Type 1 (Type B) obstruction: "If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstructed before they touch first base...the obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond the base they had last legally touched before the obstruction." This is why baserunner R3 Mayer scored, rather than remained at third base.

Umpire Barry initially stated "stay here" in regard to Mayer's slide back into third base, as HP Umpire Adam Beck walked up the line, the umpires ultimately applying the proper ruling in OBR 6.01(h)(1) to award the runner his next base.

Video as follows:

Wednesday, July 9, 2025

A Balk of Lightning - Umpire's Thunder Jump Scare Call

A surprise lightning strike during Norfolk Tides pitcher Roansy Contreras' delivery resulted in a thunder-scoring balk for Jacksonville as HP Umpire Derek Thomas called Contreras for illegally stopping his pitching motion. Was this the correct call or did Tides manager Tim Federowicz have an argument due to the extreme nature of the inclement weather.

With none out and a runner on third in the bottom of the 1st inning of the Tides vs Jumbo Shrimp game in Triple-A, lightning struck somewhere near Jacksonville's stadium, and the thunder just happened to clap as Contreras was beginning his delivery. Replays indicate that in the wake of the thunder, both the pitcher and batter left their respective positions (pitcher stepping off the rubber and batter exiting the box). HP Umpire Thomas ruled that Contreras balked first and waved home Jacksonville baserunner R3 Jakob Marsee to put Jacksonville on the board.

Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(1) governs the start-stop balk and states, "If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when the pitcher, while touching their plate, makes any motion naturally associated with their pitch and fails to make such delivery." To that end, the balk call was technically correct.

However, OBR 5.12(b)(1) addresses the case of calling "Time" during inclement weather: "The umpire in chief shall call 'Time' when in their judgment weather, darkness, or similar conditions make immediate further play impossible." This rule would have empowered the umpire to call "Time" during play itself, if the loud thunder clap were to have been deemed a condition making immediate further play impossible.

Finally, OBR 5.04(b)(2) discusses what happens when both a pitcher and batter violate a rule, such as both leaving positions during delivery: "Both the pitcher and batter have violated a rule and the umpire shall call time and both the batter and pitcher start over from 'scratch.'" Under this rule, the play could have been nullified and ruled no-pitch, effectively baseball's version of a do-over.

It should also be noted that in college, NCAA Rule 4-2-b, the lightning rule, addresses what to do in a lightning situation: "In the case of lightning, the game administrator and umpire-in-chief shall follow lightning guidelines..." Under these guidelines, games must come to an immediate halt upon lightning striking within a certain distance of the stadium and the suspended games may not be resumed until at least 30 minutes have elapsed since the last lightning strike within the prescribed radius. High school is similar.

But professional baseball has no such rule, meaning that the entirety of lightning or thunder-related pauses falls into the umpire's hands of judgment.

Video as follows:

Tuesday, July 8, 2025

MLB Ejection 097 - Brian Walsh (1; Mike Shildt)

HP Umpire Brian Walsh ejected Padres manager Mike Shildt (ball three call to Ketel Marte; QOCY) in the top of the 6th inning of the #Diamondbacks-#Padres game. With none out and none on, Diamondbacks batter Marte took a 2-2 sweeper from Padres pitcher Nick Pivetta for a called third ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and belt-high (px -0.83, pz 2.67), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 0-0. The Padres ultimately won the contest, 1-0.
  
This is Brian Walsh (60)'s 1st ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.00 horizontal inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 97th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 52nd manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 52 Managers, 15 Coaches, 30 Players.
This is San Diego's 6th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL West (SD 6; ARI 4; LAD, SF 3; COL 1).
This is Mike Shildt's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 19 (Marvin Hudson; QOC = U [Fighting]).
This is Brian Walsh's 1st ejection since August 30, 2024 (Derek Shelton; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Monday, July 7, 2025

MLB Ejection 096 - Brock Ballou (1; Ray Montgomery)

HP Umpire Brock Ballou ejected Angels interim manager Ray Montgomery (strike three call to Mike Trout; QOCY) in the bottom of the 8th inning of the #Rangers-#Angels game. With two out and none on, Angels batter Trout took a 3-2 fastball from Rangers pitcher Jacob Webb for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the inner half of home plate and above the hollow beneath the knee (px -0.25, pz 1.63 [sz_bot 1.81 / RAD 1.69 / MOE 1.61]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Angels were leading, 5-4. The Angels ultimately won the contest, 6-5.
  
This is Brock Ballou (41)'s 1st ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 0.24 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 96th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 51st manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 51 Managers, 15 Coaches, 30 Players.
This is LA's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st in the AL West (LAA, OAK, TEX 3; SEA, 2; HOU 1).
This is Ray Montgomery's first career MLB ejection.
This is Brock Ballou's 1st ejection since August 21, 2024 (Kevin Cash; QOC = Y [HBP/Ball]).

Sunday, July 6, 2025

MLB Ejection 095 - Adam Hamari (1; John Mallee)

1B Umpire Adam Hamari ejected Cubs assistant hitting coach John Mallee (out of the base path call on Ian Happ; QOCN) in the bottom of the 3rd inning of the #Cardinals-#Cubs game. With none out and the bases loaded, Cubs batter Happ hit a 0-1 sweeper from Cardinals pitcher Matt Svanson on the ground to first baseman Willson Contreras, who attempted to tag batter-runner Happ in front of first base, ruled out of the base path by 1B Umpire Hamari. Replays indicate that Happ did not run more than three feet away from his base path in order to avoid Contreras' tag, the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Cubs were leading, 6-0. The Cubs ultimately won the contest, 11-0.
  
This is Adam Hamari (78)'s 1st ejection of 2025.
*Official Baseball Rule 5.09(b)(1): "Any runner is out when they run more than three feet away from their base path to avoid being tagged unless their action is to avoid interference with a fielder fielding a batted ball. A runner’s base path is established when the tag attempt occurs and is a straight line from the runner to the base they are attempting to reach safely."

This is the 95th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 15th coach ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 50 Managers, 15 Coaches, 30 Players.
This is Chicago's 6th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL Central (CHC 6; PIT 4; CIN, STL 3; MIL 2).
This is John Mallee's first career MLB ejection.
This is Adam Hamari's 1st ejection since June 25, 2024 (Mike Shildt; QOC = U [USC-NEC]).

MLB Ejection 094 - John Bacon (3; Carlos Mendoza)

HP Umpire John Bacon ejected Mets manager Carlos Mendoza (strike three call to Luis Torrens; QOCN) in the bottom of the 9th inning of the #Yankees-#Mets game. With none out and none on, Mets batter Torrens took a 0-2 changeup from Yankees pitcher Devin Williams for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and below the hollow beneath the knee (px 0.61, pz 1.34 [sz_bot 1.57 / RAD 1.45 / MOE 1.38]), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Yankees were leading, 6-4. The Yankees ultimately won the contest, 6-4.
  
This is John Bacon (70)'s 3rd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 0.48 vertical inches from being deemed correct.

This is the 94th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 50th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 50 Managers, 14 Coaches, 30 Players.
This is New York's 2nd ejection of 2025, 3rd in the NL East (MIA, WAS 3; NYM 2; ATL, PHI 1).
This is Carlos Mendoza's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 28 (Roberto Ortiz; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is John Bacon's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since April 17 (Jazz Chisholm; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Saturday, July 5, 2025

Runner Prevents Double Play by Fielding Ground Ball - Is That Legal?

Have you ever seen a baserunner field a ground ball? During July 1's La Crosse Loggers vs Duluth Huskies game in the Northwoods League, runner R2 Ethan Surowiec sought to prevent a double play on a bases loaded ground ball, opting to field the batted ball in front of La Crosse's waiting shortstop, resulting in a dead ball, with umpires ruling R2 Surowiec out and awarding batter-runner Reagan Reeder first base (the official scoring put this as a fielder's choice, but by rule this application would be credited as a single for the batter).

But was this the correct call?

This precise scenario is covered by Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(6): "If, in the judgment of the umpire, a base runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead. The umpire shall call the runner out for interference and also call out the batter-runner because of the action of their teammate. In no event may bases be run or runs scored because of such action by a runner."

College's rule is even stricter, not requiring "obvious intent" but simply intentional interference: "If a double play is likely, and the runner intentionally interferes with the fielder who is attempting to field or throw the ball, both the runner and batter-runner shall be declared out" (NCAA 8-5-d).

High school returns to OBR's "obvious" standard: "The batter-runner is out when any runner or retired runner interferes (2-21-1, 2-30-3) in a way which obviously hinders an obvious double play" (NFHS 8-4-1h).

In sum, this very likely should have been ruled a double play. | Video as follows:

Thursday, July 3, 2025

Marlins Lose Run on Umpire Interference as Ball Hits U2

Miami lost its tying run, then the game, vs Minnesota when Kyle Stowers' single hit 2B Umpire Emil Jimenez, positioned inside with Marlins baserunner R2 Jesús Sánchez at second. Although appearing to score on the outfield base hit, an umpire interference call returned runner Sánchez to second base, prompting a brief discussion between Marlins manager Clayton McCullough and Crew Chief James Hoye at home plate.

Official Baseball Rule 6.01(f) defines umpire interference: "Umpire’s interference occurs (1) when a plate umpire hinders, impedes or prevents a catcher’s throw attempting to prevent a stolen base or retire a runner on a pick-off play; or (2) when a fair ball touches an umpire on fair territory before passing a fielder."

It's important to note that the final word of this citation—"fielder"—does not include the pitcher for the purposes of this provision. However, if the pitcher (or any fielder) first touches the fair ball, then it is not umpire's interference even if the ball subsequently strikes an umpire working inside, as U2 Jimenez did here.

OBR 5.06(c)(6) proscribes the penalty for umpire interference: "The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out when a fair ball touches a runner or an umpire on fair territory before it touches an infielder including the pitcher, or touches an umpire before it has passed an infielder other than the pitcher; runners advance, if forced."

This means that all returns return to their base as a result of umpire interference, unless forced to advance by virtue of the batter becoming a runner and assuming occupation of first base (e.g., if there's only a runner on second, that runner returns, but if there were runners at first and second at the start of the play, both runners would advance to accommodate the batter-runner's placement at first base).

Video as follows: