Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Ejections: Chris Guccione (3)

3B Umpire Chris Guccione ejected Orioles Manager Buck Showalter for arguing a check swing call in the top of the 5th inning of the Orioles-Red Sox game. With none out and one on, Orioles batter Matt Wieters struck out swinging on a 3-2 slider from Red Sox pitcher Scott Atchison; Orioles R1 Vladimir Guerrero was caught stealing 2nd, catcher Jarrod Saltalamacchia to shortstop Marco Scutaro for a 'strike him out, throw him out double play'. Replays indicate Wieters was unable to check his swing and made an attempt to strike the ball, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Red Sox were leading 5-4. The Orioles ultimately won the contest, 7-5.

This is Chris Guccione (68)'s third ejection of 2011.
Chris Guccione now has 12 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (8 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call) = 12.
Chris Guccione is owned as a Secondary Umpire by tt49, who is now tied for 2nd place in the UEFL with 31 points.

This is the 193rd ejection of 2011.
This is the 95th Manager ejection of 2011.
This is Buck Showalter's third ejection of 2011.

Wrap: Orioles at Red Sox 9/20/11 Wrap
Video: Showalter ejected after arguing a check swing call.

Pitch f/x courtesy Brooks Baseball


Big Marc said...

Boy do I like Jim Palmer, always have. He changes his mind at the end and says he didn't go. Is there no integrity anymore? Is he that worried about offending Oriole fans? God I could go on for 15 paragraphs. Absolutely makes me sick to hear Jim say that. I understand who signs his check, but my gosh Jim your a 1st ballot (92.6%) hall of famer, Ted Williams didn't even get in on the 1st ballot. Their ALL rats, never forget it.

Anonymous said...

Can we see the pitch f/x for the entire at bat? I would like to see Brooks' location on the questionable pitch mentioned.

Jeremy "jeruhmed" said...

Big Marc,

Definitely an interesting exchange, wasn't it? If you listen to the whole inning, they do talk about how the Orioles did benefit from a call where Papi Ortiz was rung up on a ball they called "very low". But, they did mention sub-par umpiring. That brings me to:

Anonymous' question.

Pitch F/x is here.

There were no incorrect callable pitches in the at bat. The pitch in question was both well within the horizontal and vertical bounds of the strike zone, according to pitch f/x.

Big Marc said...

Nice job Jeremy, having a level head, and looking at the Pitch F/x. I was so upset with Jim's comments I never even looked. It seems like I get way more upset when I see other umpires take unfair criticism VS myself. To let the cat out of the bag (a little). It's probably because I know somebody on the field, who is my exact age, and came from the league I currently work (college/mens wood bat) and it's not Chris. I should relax a little bit and not take it so personal. I'd expect this from the Hawk, but when it came out of Jim's mouth the Irish in me took over. Now, there's my 15 paragraphs I wasn't going to post.

Anonymous said...

Could we see a breakdown of Wegner's entire game? Jim Hunter (Orioles PBP) was going on and on about what a bad day he was having and I was to see if there was any merit to that claim.

Gil "R.O." said...

Wegner's game: Orioles at Red Sox, 9/20/11

Correctly Ruled Balls: 118 / 125 (94.4%)
Correctly Ruled Strikes: 60 / 67 (89.6%)
Total: 178 / 192 (92.7%)

Matt said...

Of all the stupid things said by the announcers over the course of this short video perhaps the dumbest is when, at 48 seconds, they want to sarcastically criticize Mike Winters for his delayed out call on Vlad. It would seem as though some amount of basic baseball aptitude would be nice from these annoucers, especially on something as simple as delaying an out call to ensure it was not ball four. The really sad thing is that the average fan at home hears these criticisms and assumes that they must be correct, and the umpires must be screwing up. No wonder that the average baseball fans think that the umpiring in MLB is subpar, simply because they have been incorrectly told so by these clueless announcers.

Scott said...

Took a couple views, but I've got Guerrero safe at second, the first tag missed him and the second was just a second too late. Impossible to see from Winters' angle though. No doubt he went around on the check swing...

Post a Comment