Saturday, June 2, 2012

Ejection 056: Paul Schrieber (1)

HP Umpire Paul Schrieber ejected Kansas City Royals catcher Humberto Quintero for arguing a ball call in the top of the 7th inning of the A's-Royals game. With none out and none on, A's batter Jemile Weeks took a 1-1 fastball for from Royals pitcher Louis Coleman for a called second ball. Replays indicate the 1-1 pitch to Weeks was located at the bottom of the knees and over home plate (Lower Bound, Upper Bound of [-1.0912, -0.9019]) and the 0-0 pitch was located at the midpoint between the top of the shoulders and the top of the jersey pants (Lower Bound, Upper Bound of [0.9746, 1.1639]), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the A's led, 6-2. The A's ultimately won the contest, 9-3.

This is Paul Schrieber (43)'s first ejection of 2012.
Paul Schrieber now has -2 points in the UEFL (0 Previous + 2 MLB + -4 Incorrect Call = -2).
Crew Chief Tim Welke now has 0 points in the UEFL's Crew division (0 Previous + 0 Correct Call = 0).
*Under the Miller Rule (UEFL Rule 6-2-b-2 and Comment), when at any point the Lower Bound, Upper Bound is less than |1.000|, the pitch may be a strike. 

This is the 56th ejection of 2012.
This is the 21st player ejection of 2012.
This is Humberto Quintero's first ejection of 2012.
This is the Kansas City Royals' first ejection of 2012.
This is Paul Schrieber's first ejection since September 26, 2011.
Video: Quintero has words with Schrieber in the top of the 7th, gets ejected

Pitch f/x courtesy Brooks Baseball

17 comments :

SJR said...

Interesting. He called the second pitch a strike, but called the third pitch which was a little higher a ball. My guess without seeing the video is that he got flak from the A's dugout on the first strike and so he didn't call the third pitch. Was the second pitch for the first strike also a fastball?

UmpsRule said...

The video: http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=21959223&c_id=mlb

Anonymous said...

What a horible at-bat for Schrieber. He has three callable pitches that at-bat and calls the worst one a strike and the other 2 that clearly should be strikes balls. Another thing that should be mentioned is Schreiber had just blown an out call at home plat to end the bottom of the 6th and that probably had the Royals riled up and this inconsistency got Quintero over the edge. Could we also perhaps see a breakdown of Schreiber's accuracy, I know you just did it for Cederstrom yesterday but I want to see if this was a one at-bat thing or if Schreiber was consistently inconsistent.

Anonymous said...

Once again Schreiber feels he needs to show up players and then toss them. He is an a$$ and needs to be shown how to manage a game. He should stay behind the plate and worry about calling a correct strike zone.

Anonymous said...

Here is the video if the blown call I mentioned in my previous post. Notice how it happened right before the Quintero ejection.

http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=21961831&c_id=mlb

Anonymous said...

I understand there is a chart, but the pitch looked down.

UmpsRule said...

Isn't it rather bizarre that in the past four days, there have been two ejections involving players who's last name began with Quint- (I know, I need a hobby)!

red said...

Yep, looks like the royals were riled up at the badly missed out call on francouer in the bottom of the 6th. On that play, schrieber looked to be in good position for a regular slide to home, but the leap over the tag must have been a bit of surprise. He had a bad angle on it and blew it.

It's a shame the royals had to wear the EJ as well. But it looks like schrieber gave quintero plenty of time to stop with the chatter, and gestured to get on with it, then gave him a bit more rope before stepping around and getting into it.

Anonymous said...

Stop acting stupid Schrieber, moving your arms up and down, acting like your a baby bird trying to leave its mother, u missed the call, he the typical umpire to throw out a catcher, he is defitalty a hitters umpire. The vid is up on mlb.com

Will said...

Looks like he'll have lots of stuff to work on.
1st is timing on the play at the plate - you slow it down and you'll see the catcher scrambling to try and get a tag on him after he missed it the 1st time round. The catcher just told you he missed the tag.
2nd - to let a mistake exist in the past and to move on.
3rd - when you mess up - don't take out your frustration on the players.
Not to say those are easy lessons, I work on them every time a big play happens...

BAPACop said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
red said...

@Will -- nice point. I missed the catcher coming back for the tag after the fact. That should have been clear, but unfortunately schrieber isn't looking. He's already pointing and making the out call. As soon as the catcher sees the call, you can see him pull up.

Anonymous said...

At least his comment was about baseball you arrogant jerk.

Anonymous said...

Bob Davidson just ejected Kevin Long and Joe Girardi

Anonymous said...

Wow, first time k long ejected as yankee hitting coach, he dosnt really get on the umps, this must be bad

Anonymous said...

What was with Schrieber waving his arms in the air? Did Quintero do that to him earlier?

Penwhale said...

The correct call "may be" a strike - but does it HAVE to be a strike? I think it's time we actually revisit the "borderline" cases for vertical ball/strike arguments.

Post a Comment