Wednesday, April 9, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Review 056: Quinn Wolcott (02)

Instant Replay Review upheld 3B Umpire Quinn Wolcott's out call in the bottom of the 2nd inning of the Rays-Royals game. With one out and two on, Royals batter Mike Moustakas swung at and missed a 3-2 changeup from Rays pitcher Jake Odorizzi as Royals baserunner R2 Alex Gordon attempted to steal third base, Rays catcher Ryan Hanigan to third baseman Evan Longoria as Gordon arrived at third base. Upon Instant Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Royals Manager Ned Yost, Wolcott's ruling that Longoria tagged Gordon while he was off his base was affirmed, the call was correct. At the time of the review, the contest, was tied, 0-0. The Royals ultimately won the contest, 7-3.

This is Quinn Wolcott (81)'s second Instant Replay Review of 2014.
Quinn Wolcott is now 2/2 (1.000 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews during 2014.
Crew Chief Gerry Davis' crew is now 4/4 (1.000 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews during 2014.

This is the 56th Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Royals Manager Ned Yost is now 1/3 (.333 Success) in Instant Replay Reviews during 2014.
Umpires are now 38/56 (.679 Affirmation Rate) in Instant Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: Tampa Bay Rays vs. Kansas City Royals, 4/9/14
Video: Play stands; Wolcott's call is upheld by Replay Officials following a two-minute review (KC)


Lindsay said...

Hey Gil,

I believe Greg Gibson made the first call. Miller had gone out on the play.

Lindsay said...

Crazy Mechanical play in 4 man. Gibson does the best he can having to split the difference between possible calls at 2nd and 3rd.... really hard spot despite video evidence the call was a miss. Really wish Vic would just stand by his call there.... Someone has to show some moxie and stand up for themselves, especially on a clear call like that. I wonder how much the umpires want to go to replay on calls they know are correct. It helps the replay stats in the umpires favor and that may help them at the negotiating table this offseason.

Lindsay said...

Greg Gibson's call needed to be overturned. That is a very difficult call and he honestly did not look sure of himself when he made the call but I thought it was fairly obvious the throw got there before the runner. The Twins announcers were actually a lot more surprised than the A's over the call standing.

Post a Comment