Saturday, July 2, 2011

Ejections: Alfonso Marquez (3, 4)

HP Umpire Alfonso Marquez ejected Blue Jays pitcher Jon Rauch for arguing a safe call and Manager John Farrell for Unsportsmanlike-NEC in the top of the 9th inning of the Phillies-Blue Jays game. With two out and two on, Phillies batter Shane Victorino hit a 0-0 fastball from Rauch to Blue Jays left fielder Corey Patterson, who threw to catcher J.P. Arencibia as Phillies baserunner Chase Utley arrived at home plate. Replays indicate Utley touched home plate prior to the tag, the call was correct.* Farrell was ejected for Unsportsmanlike-NEC as a result of a post-ejection balls/strikes argument by Rauch.** At the time of the ejection, the Phillies were leading, 5-3. The Phillies ultimately won the contest, 5-3.

These are Alfonso Marquez (72)'s third and fourth ejections of 2011.
Alfonso Marquez now has 16 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (8 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 16)
Alfonso Marquez was not drafted in 2011.
*This ejection is not eligible for a balls/strikes exemption under UEFL Rule 6.e.iv. (see Rule 6.e.iii. for why).
**Reason for Ejections are Safe/Out and Unsportsmanlike-NEC under UEFL Rules 6.b.ii.e., 6.b.vii. & 6.b.ii.e.

These are the 99th and 100th ejections of 2011.
This is the 44th player ejection of 2011.
This is the 52nd manager ejection of 2011.
This is John Farrell's second ejection of 2011.
Prior to his ejection, Rauch's line was 0.2 IP, R.

Wrap: Phillies at Blue Jays 7/2/11
Video (1): Rauch and Farrell are ejected by Marquez
Video (2): The Howard At-Bat & Play at the Plate (Phillies Broadcast Feed)

28 comments :

Anonymous said...

I guess this doesn't apply, but they were arguing about a few pitches during the Howard AB, which were called incorrectly.
http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/cache/numlocation.php-pitchSel=400010&game=gid_2011_07_02_phimlb_tormlb_1&batterX=71&innings=yyyyyyyyy&sp_type=1&s_type=3.gif

Anonymous said...

A - Farrel's first ejection of his career as a manager
B - Rauch is on record saying he was arguing the balls called in the previous AB, not the safe call

Anonymous said...

Farrell was kicked out by Fairchild in the Rays-Jays game that saw Maddon tossed by West and Upton tossed by Fairchild. This is his 2nd ejection of the year.

Anonymous said...

I watched this whole game, and Fonzie had incredible patience with the Jays all day. It's a miracle Farrell was still around in the 9th. That being said, this argument was "big league". Awesome.

Anonymous said...

Arguing the safe call at home plate?? Were you watching this game at all?!? If not, do a little more research.

Anonymous said...

I'm shocked to see Fonzie actually get in Farrell's face after Farrell threw the dirt over the plate. He must have really said something to Marquez because of the way Alfonso reacted.

Bill said...

Good job by the crew and Jays coaching staff on Rauch...that had the potential to get very, very bad.

I have been a Fonzie fan for a long time, and I have never seem him go at it like he did with Farrell...something was said that provided a trigger for Fonzie, because he almost too aggressive with Farrell.

Gil "R.O." said...

Be advised, as always, you may challenge this play. However, this play is not eligible for a balls/strikes exemption under UEFL Rule 6.e.iv (see Rule 6.e.iii. for why). In addition to considering Quality of Correctness during challenges, we consider all other eligible variables under Rule 6.b., including League Classification, QoC, Name of Ejector & Ejector Classification, Umpire Classification, Umpire Crew, and Date. In-Altering variables under Rule 6.c (such as Seasonal Ejection #, Player Ejection #, etc.) do not have to be challenged and may be modified at any time. In other words, if this play is challenged, Reason for Ejection (Rules 6.b.vii. and 6.c.x.) will likely be the primary variable considered, with great regard for Rules 6.e.iii. and 6.b.ii.e.

In regards to the Howard at bat, Pitch #6 is clearly within the bounds of the strike zone. Pitch #2 is borderline, and by rule, is not considered incorrectly judged due to several factors which have been discussed in the previous post Discussions: Ending the Game with Science. Per UEFL Rule 6.e.iii.d. Comment, the Howard at bat is not eligible for consideration as no exemption applies in the situation of an ejection which occurs during or immediately following live ball action.

Anonymous said...

He was arguing Marquez's piece of crap strike zone. That terrible strike zone was the ONLY reason the piece of nothing Phillies came back. Marquez's performance was SO TERRIBLE. He needs to be fired. Immediately. Not even joking. Bad strike zone. Bad bad bad strike zone.

Anonymous said...

Both Rauch and Farrell stated that they were arguing the 2-2 and 3-2 pitches to Howard. Neither was arguing the play at the plate.

Marquez had a very inconsistent strike zone all game, but seemed to squeeze the Jays pitchers while giving Halladay a much larger strike zone.

Anonymous said...

Look losers, it comes down to a grown man - a pampered cry baby in a big leaguer - arguing balls and strikes after the fact. I for one am glad to see SOMEONE is holding him accountable for acting like a fool rather than rewarding him for calling the wahmbulance.

Anonymous said...

He got LUCKY with that safe call. He got LUCKY it was right. Because as EVERYONE has already said, he was piss poor the whole game. I can't believe you can say he was "correct" when he was wrong on every play every single inning!

Umps are jerks.

Anonymous said...

I still don't understand why you have exemptions at all. If a player/coach argues a play after a following at bat has ended, the call needs to be incorrect. No exemptions or questions. It's wrong. That's all. If he wants to throw a tantrum about how balls/strikes from two batters ago was wrong, THEN DO IT TWO BATTERS AGO WHEN IT HAPPENED. Not that difficult...

Jon Terry said...

Hey 2:59pm, betting you're a big Jays fan. Also betting you would feel differently if you were a Phils fan. And only a couple of people said he was bad. Several people said really good things about Marquez.

Anonymous said...

I would just like to point out how even-keep Martinez/TOR announcer crew is.

Anonymous said...

Marquez made the right call but was in the wrong position. The late Ron Luciano once said draw an 'L' from the thrower to the receiver to be properly positioned for an umpire. He should have been in the left-hand hitters batters box.

Anonymous said...

And if he had been in the left hand batter's box, he would not have been in position to see the attempted sweep tag that occurred....he was where he need to be to watch for that tag, based on where the catcher was receiving the ball.

Thanks for playing, we'll have some fine parting gifts for you.

Anonymous said...

During his postgame interview, Jon said he "wasn't even arguing balls and strikes" at the time of his ejection. To me, that indicates we cannot be 100% sure he was arguing the Howard AB or not... Just saying.

Anonymous said...

Phillies broadcast:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xzeRV24oSI

Anonymous said...

"Per UEFL Rule 6.e.iii.d. Comment, the Howard at bat is not eligible for consideration as no exemption applies in the situation of an ejection which occurs during or immediately following live ball action."

And therein lies the problem.

Anonymous said...

"The late Ron Luciano"???? Did you really type that? Ron was a great guy, and loved baseball but he probably is the biggest joke of an umpire next to Emmit Ashford. Emmit was well on in years by the time he made it to the bigs, and by all accounts (first hand) he was legally blind. But MLB needed a black umpire, and Emmit was in the right place at the right time. Luciano was voted the best one year, and the worst the next, and ended up killing himself. Fonzie was in perfect position.

Anonymous said...

"Joke of an umpire"

Where have I heard that before... Oh, yeah? HAWK HARRELSON, is that YOU?

Bill said...

Dear 5:51 Anonymous:

Luciano was, at times, fun to watch, as an umpire watching another umpire. His books were laugh out loud funny, and his brief career as a color guy on NBC was entertaining.

But, puh-leeze, let's not use Ron Luciano as an authority on umpire mechanics. If Ron is the standard you are using, that tells me you are a casual basbeall fan who read his book and now you think you are a qualified MLB Umpire observer/evaluator.

Ron's suicide, in retrospect, was almost predictable. Baseball career over, NBC didn't renew his contract, and a failed sporting good store venture in his hometown. The limelight was gone, and he was shown the door.

Anonymous said...

Found this link to a well written piece about Ron's depression and ultimate bad call to end his life...

http://miscbaseball.wordpress.com/2009/05/14/ron-lucianos-suicide/

Anonymous said...

"Marquez made the right call but was in the wrong position. The late Ron Luciano once said draw an 'L' from the thrower to the receiver to be properly positioned for an umpire. He should have been in the left-hand hitters batters box"

Completely ignorant comment made by an amateur plumber. 90% of plays at the plate are taken third base line extended...if he's at an "L" (lol) he misses this call because you can't see the tag. The 10% that are taken at a 90 degree angle are taken to see a ball come out on a collision or if you are working college or below, malicious contact. Marquez hooked the giant thumbsucker and Farrell just like he should have.

Anonymous said...

who cares about challenging the call being correct. Marquez wasnt drafted by anyone anyway. by reading lips I could tell that Marquez says to farrell you can see that call from there? farrell says yes and then marquez says well then you should be out here and I sould be in there. That is all I can make out.

Anonymous said...

Regarding the Howard at bat. The 2-2 pitch was slightly off the outside of the plate and correctly called a ball. Pitcher overreacts and shows up old-school umpire. Next pitch is also a border line pitch that Roachie screws himself out of. Bottom line...it's good to see some throwback umpiring once in awhile.

Jared said...

Pitcher plain old lost it. Of course he's going to lose it only after the run scores, that's just emotions coming into play, but I agree that if he's going to argue balls & strikes from a previous AB, he needs to either (a) do it when it happens or (b) talk about it during the half inning break. That way, you're just having a conversation rather than ravaging about like a dinosaur lunatic.

Post a Comment