Friday, May 4, 2012

Ejection 019: Marty Foster (1)

HP Umpire Marty Foster ejected Cubs Manager Dale Sveum for arguing balls and strikes in the top of the 9th inning of the Dodgers-Cubs game. With two out and none on, Dodgers batter A.J. Ellis took a 1-2 fastball from Cubs pitcher Rafael Dolis for a called second ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the heart of home plate and at the knees (pz value of 1.812, sz_bot value of 1.54), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Cubs were leading, 5-4. The Cubs ultimately won the contest, 5-4.

This is Marty Foster (60)'s first ejection of 2012.
Marty Foster now has -2 points in the UEFL (0 Previous + 2 MLB + -4 Incorrect Call = -2).
Crew Chief Jeff Kellogg now has 0 points in the Crew Division (0 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 0).
*The call is incorrect pursuant to UEFL Rule 6-2-b, also known as the Miller Rule.
*After review, the Appeals Board has affirmed the Original QOC, 5-0 ("Incorrect" ==> "Incorrect").

UEFL Standings Update

This is the 19th ejection of 2012.
This is the 12th Manager ejection of 2012.
This is Dale Sveum's 1st ejection in 2012, 1st career ejection as a Manager and 4th MLB ejection (1 as a player [1987], 2 as a coach [2009, '11]).

Wrap: Dodgers at Cubs 5/04/12
Video: Ellis hit by pitch on 2-2 count, Sveum immediately ejected for arguing ball two call
Pitch f/x courtesy Brooks Baseball
*Note: Brooks Baseball is promoting a Sabermetrics seminar hosted by those at the Jimmy Fund with all the money collected going to cancer research, the link to the seminar can be found here.

28 comments :

Anonymous said...

Marty was wrong on two calls that inning, as he also incorrectly ruled that A.J. Ellis was hit by a pitch when it should have been a foul tip strike three to end the game. Very inconsistent (and large) strike zone throughout the whole game. Was giving some pitches that were 3 balls off the plate as strikes.

Anonymous said...

OK, now I get it. pz of 1.812 being greater than sz_bot of 1.54 means the pitch was located 0.298 feet (as 1.812 minus 1.540 is 2.98) above the bottom of the strike zone.

Unless I'm mistaken, Marty Foster got that call wrong by three and a half inches.

UmpsRule said...

By the way, Foster ejected the Cubs previous manager, Mike Quade, last season.

Anonymous said...

Could we get a break down of Foster's plate job Today. I didn't actually think he was that bad Today, but clearly missed that pitch. Thanks!

tmac said...

not a solid performance by Foster... here is his chart for righties

http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/cache/fastmap.php-pitchSel=all&game=gid_2012_05_04_lanmlb_chnmlb_1&sp_type=3&s_type=7.gif

Now look at his chart for lefties which looks more like he umpired with his eyes closed just for fun

http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/cache/fastmap.php-pitchSel=all&game=gid_2012_05_04_lanmlb_chnmlb_1&sp_type=2&s_type=7.gif

Somebody burn the video to this one!!

Anonymous said...

Looking at those charts, it honestly doesn't look like that horrible of a performance by Foster. Not great, but I have seen worse from a lot of the Triple A call-ups.

Gil Imber said...

[im]http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/cache/fastmap.php-pitchSel=all&game=gid_2012_05_04_lanmlb_chnmlb_1&sp_type=3&s_type=7.gif[/im]
[im]http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/cache/fastmap.php-pitchSel=all&game=gid_2012_05_04_lanmlb_chnmlb_1&sp_type=2&s_type=7.gif[/im]

Anonymous said...

Question, are pitches in the dotted line between 0.8 and 1.3 considered balls or strikes? If those are considered strikes it seems Foster had a good day, but if not then he definetely struggled with left handed hitters.

Gil Imber said...

Brooks' Fastmaps are drawn to the specifications of Mike Fast, writer for Baseball Prospectus, who has determined that umpires typically call to varied zones for left- and right-handed batters. By strict interpretation of the Rules Book (17" plate + 3" diameter of the ball on either side), the zone runs from -.8513 to +.8513 (UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1, the Kulpa Rule). Per Fast's zone that accounts for realistic variability from the Rules Book strike zone, the zone expands outside for left-handed batters and to a lesser extent on both sides of the plate for right-handed batters. This only applies to the horizontal (as opposed to vertical) boundaries of the strike zone.

Rules Book strike zone = solid black lines
Fast's strike zone = slash lines

RadioPearl said...

I'd have to guess Sveum got the quick hook not for arguing the HBP, but the missed pitch prior. No other explanation, is there?

UmpsRule said...

Here's the MLB video: http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=21141107&c_id=mlb

Certainly seemed like a quick hook to me.

UmpsRule said...

Charlie Manuel has been heaved by Rob Drake in the first inning in Washington.

Anonymous said...

I appeal.

I do not think Sveum was conclusively ejected as a result of the pitch prior to the play in question shown in the video.

UmpsRule said...

It would certainly help if Dale Sveum would tell the media what he was arguing.

Gil Imber said...

This ruling has been challenged and is under review by the Appeals Board.

Anonymous said...

Sveum told the media "I was asking a question and asked the wrong one." That leads me to believe balls and strikes was the argument.

tmac said...

Foster doesn't eject that quick unless Sveum says something to the effect of if you had just got the last pitch right we could be out of here now" He does NOT eject him that quick for discussion of a HBP... pretty cut and dried.... I think there's a bit of a misunderstanding with the fast maps Foster's day was NOT his best.. and if you are comparing him to "some AAA call ups" that's damning with faint praise

Anonymous said...

At best, I can see this call being deferred. Certainly not getting overturned.

oki96 said...

I think he made a great call on the HBP. The replay show that the ball changed directions before going into the glove, suggesting that the ball did hit him.

The ball call, however, he just missed.

Great ejection though if Sveum was arguing balls and strikes.

Anonymous said...

Watching the Dodgers feed I was able to lip read pretty well.

Sveum (before ejection: the only word I could see him say was "pitch"
Sveum (after ejection): I was just f$%:^!g around. Are you f-----g kidding me. I was just f----g messing with you.
Foster: You can't say those words

Anonymous said...

I read one more line from Foster

"Even if you are f-----g with me, you can't talk about pitches."

Anonymous said...

oki96,

Even though the pitch changes direction, the ball does not strike him, it hits off the end of the bat. This would have been a foul tip for strike 3, end of game.

Anonymous said...

"Even though the pitch changes direction, the ball does not strike him, it hits off the end of the bat. This would have been a foul tip for strike 3, end of game."

Wrong. The pitch hit him on the left arm just at the elbow. This can be clearly seen on the MLB video.

UmpsRule said...

This may be the first time I've seen a challenge over the particular ruling that prompted the ejection. It will be interesting to hear the opinions of the appeals board on this.

Anonymous said...

"Wrong. The pitch hit him on the left arm just at the elbow. This can be clearly seen on the MLB video."

Slow down the close up replay and play it frame-by-frame, the ball deflects off the knob of the bat and does not hit Ellis' hand OR elbow. Both rulings were incorrect.

Anonymous said...

MLB: "Dale Sveum gets ejected over arguing whether A.J. Ellis was hit by a pitch in the top of the ninth"

UmpsRule said...

Those video descriptions have been wrong before. For example: "Joe Girardi is ejected from the dugout by home plate umpire Joe West in between innings." Well, you watch the video that is describing and tell me if it was between innings: http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=20966763&c_id=mlb

Gil Imber said...

After review, the original Quality of Correctness of "Incorrect" has been confirmed in a 5-0 decision by the UEFL Appeals Board. Four Appeals Board members elected to Confirm the original QOC, one elected to Uphold the original QOC and zero voted to Overturn the original QOC.

During review, the Appeals Board considered whether the 1-2 pitch, ruled ball two, was eligible for review.

In adjudicating this matter, the Board referenced UEFL Rule 6-5-c, which states that adjudication of Quality of Correctness is limited to "call[s] made directly prior to ejection, or ... any pitch called during that at-bat, provided the call was against the ejected person (or his team) and this call realistically resulted in a different outcome of the at-bat." The Board determined that a 1-2 pitch, ruled ball two as opposed to strike three, during an at-bat that produced a baserunner, constitutes a "different outcome of the at-bat," as in 6-5-c.

Given ball two's eligibility for review, the Board consulted Rule 6-2-b-2, also known as the Miller Rule. The Miller Rule provides a precise formula for normalizing vertical pitch location given actual height.

pz value of 1.812, sz_bot value of 1.540. This means the pitch traversed the front edge of home plate 0.272 feet higher than the bottom of the batter's individual strike zone (1.812-1.540=0.272).

Per the Miller Rule: the correct call must be a strike.

In writing for the majority, tmac opined: "Having watched it live in context, there is no way he is ejected for disputing the HBP in that manner ... I'm invoking a little experience here of being on a professional baseball field and confirming said call of a missed strike three that would have ended the game."

Confirmed: Jeremy, tmac, BillMueller, RichMSN
Upheld: AlbertaUmpire
Overturned: None
Deferred: None
Abstained: Gil (Posted original QOC of "Incorrect"), yawetag (Vacation)

Quality of Correctness has been confirmed, 5-0.

Post a Comment