Friday, August 17, 2012

Ejection 128: Lance Barrett (3)

HP Umpire Lance Barrett ejected Cardinals third base coach Jose Oquendo for arguing a strike call in the top of the 6th inning of the Pirates-Cardinals game. With one out and none on, Cardinals batter Jon Jay took a 2-1 fastball from Pirates pitcher James McDonald for a called strike two. Replays indicate the pitch was thigh high, but well off the outside corner of the plate (px value of -1.278), the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the Pirates were leading, 2-0. The Pirates ultimately won the contest, 2-1.

This is Lance Barrett (94)'s third ejection of 2012.
Lance Barrett now has 1 point in the UEFL (3 Previous + 3 AAA + -1 Penalty + -4 Inorrect Call = 1).
Crew Chief Jim Joyce now has 3 points in the Crew Division (3 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 3).
*Pitch four of the at bat had a px value of -1.278, within the ball range.

UEFL Standings Update

This is the 128th ejection of 2012.
This is the St. Louis Caridnals' fourth ejection of 2012.
This is Jose Oquendo's first ejection since June 13, 2008 (Larry Vanover; Irrecusable).
This is Lance Barrett's first ejection since April 24th (Bud Black; QOC = Correct).
This is the 11th ejection since the beginning of Monday.

Wrap: Pirates at Cardinals, 8/17/12
Video: Oquendo ejected from 3rd base coach's box for arguing balls and strikes.
Pitch f/x courtesy Brooks Baseball

24 comments :

BAPACop said...

The funny thing is, from where he's standing there's no way Oquendo could have known that pitch was outside.

UmpsRule said...

Does MLB.com get a bronx cheer for getting it right in the box score this time? Or did they goof up again?

BAPACop said...

The box score has it right this time.

Anonymous said...

@UmpsRule they got it right it says in the box score "third base coach Jose Oquendo ejected by HP umpire Lance Barrett

UmpsRule said...

It's about time, too!

Anonymous said...

Was the pitch outside? Yes. Does the third base coach have any business arguing pitch location in or out with the plate umpire? Hell no. The catcher must've really butchered it or Jose just wanted to go home early.

Anonymous said...

You're an asshat Bapafuzz

Anonymous said...

That was the worst called game I have ever witnessed. Obviously Oquendo saw the pitch and was correct. What a dumb comment.

BAPACop said...

@Anon 8:33: That seems uncalled for.

@Anon 8:36: From the third base line, where Oquendo was, you can't see inside/outside. Only high/low. There is no way Oquendo knew where that pitch was.

Cricket said...

http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=23978109&c_id=mlb

Video is up.

BAPACop said...

If you're going to kick dirt over the plate, you should at least put a little more effort into it.

Mundane said...



>UmpsRule said...
Does MLB.com get a bronx cheer for getting it right in the box score this time? Or did they goof up again?<

This is an official scorers call, not MLB.com

Anonymous said...

Wow...once again, some real geniuses on the commentary. When the pitch is called, he claims it's low, but it's nowhere even close to low. Then, when he sees the plot on the replay he comments on it being outside (correct) and says something about the pitch before looking like it was above the shoulders, but it was right in the middle of the strike zone, height-wise.

I REALLY wish announcers would at least try to learn the rules (in general, not specifically this case), and not disparage the umpires so much. It only throws gas on the fire of the general public's misguided rage.

Anonymous said...

More coaches should cover the entire plate with dirt instead of screaming at the umpire, MLB has never suspended anyone for covering the plate with dirt.

Turducken said...

@BapaCop, I don't know if you have ever coached third base, but you can most certainly tell if something this is egregiously inside or outside. That pitch wasn't even close. Doesn't even come close to the plate. That pitch breaks at the corner of the plate and finishes well off the plate.

Anonymous said...

Oquendo's anger wasn't because of that one pitch.It was out of frustration of several missed pitches especially in the fifth inning when Barret missed consecutive pitches punching out Furcal. Barrett's strike zone was all over the place, from ankles to shoulders and at least six inches off of the plate. I only watched 3 innings and thought it was one of the worst umpiring jobs behind the plate ever. Only watched 3 innings because I couldn't take it anymore. With that strike zone, neither team should have scored a run with really good itchers.

Anonymous said...

OK, so BAPACop says the third-base coach couldn't see the location of the pitch from where he was.

HOW ABOUT THE UMPIRE?

Horrible call. Get it right or go home. Brooks Baseball should call all balls/strikes.

tmac said...

well here is the plot:

http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/cache/zoneplot.php-pitchSel=all&game=gid_2012_08_17_pitmlb_slnmlb_1&sp_type=1&s_type=7.gif


Lance B. has a couple holes in his strike zone but overall it's solid

JeremyJ said...

I don't understand what the 1 point penalty is for? Can someone please explain that?

Bryan Zegers said...

CCS Jeff Nelson has just ejected yunel esocbar Jays v rangers during comerical break arguing balls and strikes.

Gil Imber said...

AAA Umpires receive three base points for each non-incorrect ejection; if the ejection results from an incorrect call, the AAA receives just two base points; in effect their base three minus a one point penalty (UEFL Rule 4-2-a-1).

UmpsRule said...

@ Mundane

If that's the case, then the official scorer in Detroit is truly as bad as I have long suspected.

Zac said...

Anon @ 5:36 says:
"Oquendo's anger wasn't because of that one pitch.It was out of frustration of several missed pitches especially in the fifth inning when Barret missed consecutive pitches punching out Furcal. Barrett's strike zone was all over the place, from ankles to shoulders and at least six inches off of the plate. I only watched 3 innings and thought it was one of the worst umpiring jobs behind the plate ever. Only watched 3 innings because I couldn't take it anymore. With that strike zone, neither team should have scored a run with really good itchers.

Like many others on this site, the plot proves you don't have a clue what you're talking about. There were no strikes called at the shoulders or ankles. Leave and don't come back.

Anonymous said...

Lance, if you're reading this, I know you're better than this performance. Like a starting pitcher, you need to just shake this off and try again in four days. You know how to do this. You've been doing it for years now. Rrrright field!

Post a Comment