Case Play Question: Notwithstanding the physics anomaly (let's assume the ball's legal rosin and pine tar levels allowed for the glue-like effect), what is the proper ruling for such a play? With runner(s) on (let's assume a runner on first base, running on the pitch, made it to third base before Molina found the ball), what is the proper ruling?
Answer: The stuck ball remains live. This is not a "lodge," pursuant to Rule 5.06(c)(7): the ball is readily accessible to Molina, who does not attempt to retrieve it. Thus, the ball is live and in play.
Official Baseball Rules Library
OBR 5.06(b)(4)(I): "If the batter becomes a runner on a wild pitch which entitles the runners to advance one base, the batter-runner shall be entitled to first base only."
OBR 5.06(c)(7): "The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to
their bases, without liability to be put out, when—A pitched ball lodges in the umpire’s or catcher’s mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, runners advance one base."
Video available via "Read more"