Sunday, August 27, 2017

MLB Ejection 153 - Mike Everitt (3; Joe Girardi)

2B Umpire Mike Everitt ejected Yankees Manager Joe Girardi (retired runner's interference no-call; upheld Replay Review bona fide slide call; QOCN) in the top of the 3rd inning of the Mariners-Yankees game. With one out and one on (R1), Mariners batter Robinson Cano hit a ground ball to Yankees first baseman Chase Headley, who threw to shortstop Didi Gregorius as Mariners baserunner R1 Jean Segura slid toward second base. Upon Replay Review as the result of a Manager's Challenge by Yankees Manager Girardi, Everitt's slide rule interference no-call was affirmed as replays indicate Segura did not meet the eligibility criteria for Rule 6.01(j), as he never made it to second base nor to F6 Gregorius; however, replays indicate Segura willfully hindered Gregorius' following play on the batter-runner (for instance, due to Segura's raised arm) in contravention of another provision of interference Rule 6.01, the call was incorrect.*^ Segura's slide, though not a violation of the bona fide slide rule, did hinder and/or impede Gregorius' ensuing throw to first base. Play reviewed and affirmed by the UEFL Appeals Board (6-3), the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the Yankees were leading, 6-1. The Yankees ultimately won the contest, 10-1.

This is Mike Everitt (57)'s third ejection of the 2017 MLB regular season.
Mike Everitt now has 3 points in the UEFL Standings (5 Prev + 2 MLB - 4 Incorrect Call = 3).
Crew Chief Mike Everitt now has 9 points in Crew Division (9 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 9).
*Rule 6.01(j)'s criteria for a force play bona fide slide applies only if the runner "initiates (or attempts to make) contact with the fielder for the purpose of breaking up a double play, he should be called for interference under this Rule 6.01." Because R1 Segura, due to his early slide, did not initiate nor attempt to make contact with F6 Gregorius, Rule 6.01(j) cannot apply.
*However, although Segura was not guilty of violating the slide interference rule, as a runner just put out, he improperly hindered or impeded Gregorius' following play, as in Rule 6.01(a)(5): "Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate."
^QOC is Incorrect pursuant to UEFL Rule 6-2-b-6-a, which states, "Quality of Correctness is governed by the (in)correctness of the call made, not by the quality of reasoning given for such a call."

This is the 153rd ejection report of 2017.
This is the 75th Manager ejection of 2017.
This is New York-AL's 11th ejection of 2017, 1st in the AL East (NYY 11; TOR 9; TB 6; BOS 4; BAL 3).
This is Joe Girardi's 5th ejection of 2017, 1st since August 24 (Carlos Torres; QOC = U [USC-NEC]).
This is Mike Everitt's 3rd ejection of 2017, 1st since July 7 (Brian Snitker; QOC = N [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Seattle Mariners vs. New York Yankees, 8/27/17 | Video as follows:

Alternate Link: Coach's challenge can't change call; Everitt ejects energized excitant (NYY)
Second Video: Gregorius' throw fails to retire batter, bringing about a lengthy slide rule review (NYY)


Post a Comment