Sunday, September 4, 2011

Ejections: Brian Knight (6)

HP Umpire Brian Knight ejected Diamondbacks right fielder Justin Upton for arguing a strike three call in the top of the 4th inning of the Diamondbacks-Giants game. With one out and none on, Diamonbacks batter Upton took a 2-2 fastball from Giants pitcher Ryan Vogelsong for a called third strike. Replays indicate the strike three pitch was correctly ruled, but the strike two pitch was not. Because the at bat contained more than three true strikes as specified by UEFL Rule 6.e.iii.Comment(3) [it contained five true strikes], the call is correct.*^ At the time of the ejection, the Giants were leading, 1-0. The Diamondbacks ultimately won the contest, 4-1.

This is Brian Knight (91)'s sixth ejection of 2011.
Brian Knight now has 6 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (2 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 6).
Brian Knight was not drafted in 2011.
*This call is correct per UEFL Rule 6.e.iii. Comment (3).
^Quality of Correctness was challenged and confirmed ("Correct" ==> "Correct").

This is the 181st ejection of 2011.
This is the 80th player ejection of 2011.
Prior to his ejection, Upton was 0-1 in the contest.
Upton's brother, Rays CF B.J. Upton, was ejected by Chad Fairchild exactly 4 months ago, on May 4, 2011.
This is the 26th ejection by Jerry Lane's crew (Layne (4), Knight (6), Bob Davidson (8), and Hunter Wendelstedt (7); Vic Carapazza [1 ejection while with Layne's crew]). Joe West's crew has 24.

Wrap: Diamondbacks at Giants, 9/4/11
Video: Upton strikes out, jumps, argues, gets thrown out of the game, and charges the catcher's box

Pitch f/x courtesy Brooks Baseball

14 comments :

Anonymous said...

Absolutely correct call and absolute moron announcers. "you can't toss a key guy out of a game for being upset...the pitch was low". Do announcers even understand baseball? Sometimes I doubt it.

Jared said...

The pitch looks good from the center field camera, it's definitely knee high. And LOL at Upton trying to charge the catcher's box.

But hey, it's another ejection by Jerry Layne's crew. They're definitely locking that lead up.

OSheaman said...

Ah yes, the infamous "key guy in a key series" exception to 9.01(d) . . .

BAPACop said...

The description currently reads "in the top of the 4th inning of the Reds-Pirates game".

I don't believe those teams are correct.

Anonymous said...

Crew from "hell" strikes again! But they are always right!

Anonymous said...

Typical jock sniffing homer announcers. Tell the players in a big series to play ball and quit whining. If you are a good player you got to know to stay in the big games. Get run in some chicken scrap game. Or better yet, just get run in the big game and man up about it, and say you don't care about staying in the big game, you wanted to make sure the umpire knew how you felt and you called him names and showed him up and got tossed. You don't care about the team. Letting the umpire know he missed the pitch is the most important thing, not staying in the big game. Now you move on to the next game. Keep getting tossed in the big games and see what happens.

Anonymous said...

Once again. Player acts like a big baby, and announcers are idiots. Same old story.

Anonymous said...

That's a great pitch, great call, these announcers are horrific. The strike two pitch though...why was there not more mention of that? I would expect that that got Upton initially upset.

Zac said...

Anon @ 9:29....exactly right. These guys do this stuff then act surprised when they get ran, and the slapdick homer announcers like this color guy are as clueless as ever. Knight got the pitch right and this idiot is too much of a homer to figure it out. He's too busy sticking up for the guy who can't figure out when to shut up.

Anonymous said...

I've been watching the dbacks all season long and trust me when I say the Dbacks play-by-play announcer Darren Sutton and the color commenter (usually Mark Grace, in this video Tom Candiotti) are far from homers. They praise the umpires every chance they get, and love doing so. They've confirmed hundreds of calls against the dbacks all year, and continue to do so.
I think this specific example was just a heat of the moment for them, causing them to react as homers. Plus, Darren Sutton is known to be over-dramatic...

Dbacks are still complaining about the ejection today, but the third strike was knee-high and correctly called. Their main complaint is that Upton was walking away from home plate after the called third strike and that Knight baited him into the ejection by barking back. But that never would of happened if Upton would just keep his mouth shut while walking back to the dugout.

Adam said...

I challenge. Pitch 3 (an incorrectly called strike 2) had an adverse affect on the at-bat. With the 2 strikes (1 not called correctly), the batter then fouled off 2 pitches. I feel this nullifies 2 of the 5 strikes as they occurred after the incorrectly called pitch. Had the incorrectly called pitch been pitch 2 on the 1-0 count instead of pitch 3 the 1-1 then I would agree the incorrectly called pitch did not realistically affect the at bat.

Jeremy "jeruhmed" said...

This ruling has been challenged.

After review, the Quality of Correctness has been confirmed. The call is now correct.

After review, including examination of the real-time play, replays, and alternate angles, as well as analysis of the UEFL rules, the decision of confirming the original Quality of Correctness was made. Replays indicate the strike three pitch was called correctly, however the strike two pitch was called incorrectly. Even though the strike two pitch (the third pitch of the at bat) was ruled incorrectly, this pitch did not realistically result in a different outcome of the at bat. The 0-0 pitch was correctly ruled a ball (true ball one), 1-0 pitch was correctly ruled a strike (true strike one), the 1-1 pitch was incorrectly ruled a strike (true strike two), the 1-2 pitch was correctly ruled a ball (true ball two), the first 2-2 pitch was fouled (false strike two/true strike three), the second 2-2 pitch was fouled (false strike two/true strike four), and the third 2-2 pitch was correctly ruled a strike (true strike five). Since there were more than three true strikes during the at bat, and only one incorrectly ruled strike early in the at bat, UEFL Rule 6.e.iii was applied and correctly done so. Application and analysis of this rule confirm the ruling that the called strike two pitch did not realistically result in a different outcome of the at bat.

Denied.

Adam said...

I STRONGLY DISAGREE. Under that "rule", an umpire can call TWO incorrect strikes (1 and 2), then the batter be forced to foul off 5 pitches that he quite possibly would have just looked at a ball on a pitch or two, then be called out on a correctly called strike. And the first two called strikes DON'T realistically affect the at bat. Are you kidding me. If the umpire wouldn't have called the first 2 strikes in the first place, then the at-bat realistically was affected. Maybe the outcome would have the same, and statistically probably an out, but any incorrectly called strike 2 is automatically going to put a batter at a huge disadvantage.

Anonymous said...

It seems that Knight gave Upton plenty of time to vent his opinion. Who cares if he is walking away when he continues to yell and gesture as to how many pitches he thought were missed. Upton knows better than to do that. If he is such an important player to the team, he should show his intelligence as well and just play the game.

Post a Comment