Sunday, April 29, 2012

Ejection 014: Marvin Hudson (1)

2B Umpire Marvin Hudson ejected Astros center fielder Jordan Schafer for arguing an out call in the top of the 2nd inning of the Astros-Reds game. With two out and two on, Schafer attempted to steal second base on a 0-0 slider from Reds pitcher Mat Latos to Astros batter Jose Altuve, Schafer caught stealing on the throw from Reds catcher Ryan Hanigan to second baseman Brandon Phillips. Replays indicate Phillips tagged Schafer on the left side of his helmet prior to Schafer's left hand contacting second base, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Astros were leading, 2-0. The Reds ultimately won the contest, 6-5.

This is Marvin Hudson (51)'s first ejection of 2012.
Marvin Hudson now has 4 points in the UEFL (0 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Crew Chief Tim McClelland now has 1 point in the Crew Division (0 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 1).

UEFL Standings Update
1) 12 points: cyclone14
2) 7 points: TheGunsofHochuli, millerump18
4) 6 points: JRD, Longballs
6) 5 points: MSNUMP, BC_UMP
*Visit the UEFL Portal for Full Standings*

This is the 14th ejection of 2012.
This is the 4th player ejection of 2012.
Prior to his ejection, Schafer was 1-2 in the contest.

Wrap: Astros at Reds 4/29/12 Wrap
Video: Jordan Schafer receives equipment violation, ejection after close call at second base

21 comments :

tmac said...

I'm just glad I don't have to stare at Kellog humping that kid from behind everytime i click on the site....Thank you Marvin Hudson!!

UmpsRule said...

Schafer should have been grateful he wasn't immediately tossed out of the game for throwing equipment.

kickersrule said...

I don't understand sometimes how players can seriously think the umpire is wrong. He can feel when the tag hits him before he touches the bag. Why would you get that mad and get ejected when you know the umpire is right? The play was close but not that close.

Ruben said...

Schafer was tagged on his lower back before touched second base, not his helmet.

Pete said...

Dan Bellino showed Ron Washington the gate in the Texas v. Tampa Bay game.

Anonymous said...

Figures I turn the game on right after the ejection was over. I hope its up soon.

Anonymous said...

Bellino has the quickest hook in the game, really? Quicker than Bob Davidson, or Angel Hernandez, or Joe West? I call bs. Here's an example from a couple weeks ago of three Tigers (a player, a coach, and Leyland) going off on him after he apparently blows a call at first, but he shows good patience and professionalism and does not throw them out. http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=20940861&c_id=mlb

Anonymous said...

@anon 8:11-That's Mike Dimuro, not Dan Bellino

Anonymous said...

Yes, his hook is way quicker than Hernandez, maybe not Davidson though.

kickersrule said...

@anon 8:11 and 8:14

That is pretty funny but I can see how you got confused they do look a lot alike. Also I have a suggestion for the site. You should show all arguements with umpires even if there is no ejection. They are always entertaining!

Anonymous said...

Look up Bellino, Quade Ejection from this time last year, and keep telling me he has a quick hook.

Jeremy Dircks said...

You are free to criticize the call and the umpire. However, name calling, personal attacks, and the like will not be kept posted. Please refrain from using names when discussing a given call or umpire. Thank you!

Jeremy

Anonymous said...

I have watched the replay over and over and the glove doesn't get near his head!??

tmac said...

Jeremy,

Good work deleting that comment.... There is no reason to personally attack... you're being just as bad as the players, coaches and managers!! Be nice!!

Anonymous said...

Looks like it hits the kid's helmet on the way by, but in any case, the call was right from me to you. Good call, poor decision to try and steal a base in that situation.

Anonymous said...

I don't know what video y'all are watching but he never touched his helmet. Also, it was not a bad situation to steal. With a stolen base you have 2 runners in scoring position with a high average hitter in Altuve at the plate. It also takes the force at second out of the equation. Smart move Shafer, but bad calls are part of the game.

Anonymous said...

Watch the video and freeze frame at 0:05. He clearly tags the helmet.

Anonymous said...

No he doesn't. From the front view I can see where you might mistaken him touching his helmet but if you watch it from the back view you see his helmet is knocked loose by Philips' knee and not his glove. His head and shoulders are past the glove while the ball is being caught.

Anonymous said...

Dude his glove hits his helmet. C'mon man!

Anonymous said...

Watch the video at 0:27. His glove is no where near Schafer's helmet.

Anonymous said...

Obviously the glove never gets near the helmet. Not sure what problem people have seeing that. Perhaps apologists or fans of the Reds. Helmet definitely hits knee and fielder catches ball waist high when head well past.

Post a Comment