Thursday, May 30, 2013

MLB Ejection 049: Manny Gonzalez (1; Jhonny Peralta)

HP Umpire Manny Gonzalez ejected Tigers SS Jhonny Peralta for arguing a strike three call in the top of the 4th inning of the Tigers-Pirates game. With two out and one on, Peralta took a 2-2 fastball from Pirates pitcher Jeff Locke for a called third strike. Replays indicate the decisive pitch, and the 2-1 fastball that
Gonzalez's long-distance ejection of Peralta.
preceded it, was located belt high and off the inner edge of home plate (px -.982 and -.994, respectively), the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the contest was tied, 0-0. The Pirates ultimately won the contest, 1-0, in 11 innings.

This is Manny Gonzalez (79)'s first ejection of 2013.
Manny Gonzalez now has -2 points in the UEFL (0 + 2 MLB + -4 Incorrect Call = -2).
Crew Chief Wally Bell now has 3 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (3 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 3).

This is the 49th ejection of 2013.
This is the 23rd player ejection of 2013. Prior to his ejection, Peralta was 0-2 in the contest.
This the Tigers' 1st ejection of 2013, T-3rd in the AL Central (CLE, KC 2; DET, MIN 1; CWS 0).
This is Jhonny Peralta's first career MLB ejection.
This is Manny Gonzalez's first ejection since June 26, 2012 (Ike Davis; QOC = N).

Wrap: Detroit Tigers vs. Pittsburgh Pirates, 5/30/13
Video: After taking two called inside strikes, Peralta voices displeasure and is sent packing (DET)

Pitch f/x plot courtesy Brooks Baseball

13 comments :

Gil Imber said...

I'm going to challenge this. I think there's something wrong with PitchFX if this a five pitch at bat and four pitches are thrown basically in the exact same location.

Gil Imber said...

No, there's just something wrong with you. Move along now. Waste of everyone's time.

Gil Imber said...

Of all the guys I would have never guessed it would have been Jhonny Peralta. Like the broadcasters said he is very mild mannered. He still though 100% deserved to get ejected

Gil Imber said...

In re 049 Gonzalez 1

This appeal has been summarily denied by the UEFL Appellate Interpreter.

Pitches #1 and #2 were balls in the dirt and accordingly do not appear on the associated Pitch f/x plot. Pitch #3 is on the lower inside corner while pitches #4 and #5 are off the inner edge of home plate.

As such, Pitch f/x information is proper and the appeal is denied pursuant to Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule). Certiorari denied.

Gil Imber said...

Food for though...wonder if we need a new category for when the reason for ejection is no longer related to the call. I think it's pretty clear that the ump was willing to hear from Peralta about his strike zone; but enough has to be enough when you start giving hand gestures from 60 feet away--that's unsportsmanlike conduct, and it could have happened at any point with or without relation to the call.

Gil Imber said...

Question for UEFL Appellate Interpreter. It appears that he was tossed after barking with Gonzalez when he returned to the field for the next half inning in addition to any protest after the at bat. Therefore wouldn't this be deemed an Irrecusable repeat ejection (I believe that is the DiMuro Rule). If so can I challenge on that ground?

Gil Imber said...

Since it was the third out and Peralta never actually left the field I don't think that would apply. Even so, the Post-Inning Exemption would apply.

Gil Imber said...

The reason this play doesn't quality under the DiMuro rule is because this ejection occurred between innings—there really is no end to the visit.

Rule 6-2-b-5-b: "Repeat visit ejections: If a manager, coach or player leaves the dugout or his position to argue a call with an umpire, this is considered one team visit and argument. If a person is ejected during a repeat visit (second or subsequent) to argue the same play that he or a teammate, manager or coach argued during the first visit, this ejection shall be considered Unsportsmanlike-NEC under Rule 6-2-b-5. This may be referred to as the DiMuro Rule."



By virtue of striking out to end the inning, Peralta's rightful position is transitioning from batter to shortstop; he's argued the call once, but can't really "leave" his position to argue a second time because his position is not clearly defined. The interp we use in regards to the DiMuro rule is akin to MLB's statute of limitations regarding appeal plays and the like. We're generally going to credit the ejectee with one visit during the dead ball period up until an ensuing pitch is thrown at which point, if there is another argument, that would constitute visit #2.

Gil Imber said...

I was tracking the game with MLB At Bat. Nearly all of his strike calls were way inside or outside and if u pitch toward the knees, it's going to be always a ball.

Gil Imber said...

Carapazza just tossed Girardi arguing a force play at second. It appeared that the SS Drew might have kept his foot on the bag. Just overall frustration.

Gil Imber said...

Brian Gorman is working 2nd base at Atlanta for his first appearance in MLB this year.

Gil Imber said...

Any video of the cup shot right before this ejection happened?

Gil Imber said...

No video, but here's a GIF: http://assets.sbnation.com/assets/2699087/umpnuts.gif

Post a Comment