Monday, August 26, 2019

Trevor Dannegger Named Cal Lg Umpire of Yr

The Class-A California League named Trevor Dannegger its Doug Harvey Award recipient for Umpire of the Year. The Cal League is one of two MiLB entities (the other being the rookie-class Appalachian League) to recognize its top umpire.

The award named for late Hall of Fame umpire Doug "God" Harvey, a Hall of Fame umpire who officiated in the California League before his National League career, has now been bestowed upon promising Cal League umpires for 10 seasons.

Trevor Dannegger accepts the Doug Harvey Award.
Doug Harvey Award Recipients, 2010-19
Year Umpire Name
2019 Trevor Dannegger
2018 Darius Ghani
2017 Mike Rains
2016 Patrick Sharshel
2015 Reid Gibbs
2014 Sean Allen
2013 Ronnie Teague
2012 Chris Gonzalez
2011 Ryan Goodman
2010 Blake Davis

Cal League President Charlie Blaney's statement:
Congratulations to Trevor Dannegger for being the tenth recipient of the Doug Harvey Award. Trevor is a tremendous worker and is very approachable which managers and players love. We've been very honored to have him in our League this year. The Cal League sincerely thanks the family of Doug Harvey for lending his name once again to this prestigious award.
The California League inducted Doug Harvey into its local Hall of Fame in 2017, following Harvey's induction into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY. Harvey was born in South Gate, California and was the last big league umpire not to have attended umpire school.
Related PostDoug Harvey Set for CAL League Hall of Fame Induction (6/16/17).


Post a Comment